We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent venue for a wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“excellent venue for a wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

My wife and I visited for a family wedding in the hotel in June 2010. The hotel is easily found on the main coast road to Aberystwyth. Is is situated on the side of a beautiful valley and is very picturesque. There is a large gravel carpark next to the hotel. The hotel consists of a large manor house with bar, restaurant, and function room down stairs in the main manor style house. Rooms are upstairs and in single story buildings at the rear.
The wedding ceremony was held in the function room and the reception in a large marquee on the grass terrace. The food was excellent and the staff very efficient and polite.
We stayed in room 10, one of the outer newer rooms. It was very large and modern and all we could need. The views from the large window were excellent.
After a heavy night breakfast was very welcome. A excellent traditional fry-up with healthy options. the staff were speedy and despite a full hotel there was little waiting time.
Overall this is somewhere we would return to for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    161
    63
    16
    9
See reviews for
84
233
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

Although the decor and fittings are a little dated in parts, the service was aboslutely impeccable and the food of Michelin star standard. All staff were attentive, pleasant and an excellent example of how to make guests feel welcome. A superb stay in a beautiful country setting, thanks.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hywla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, Hants
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at the Conrah for 1 night. The room was spacious and had an amazing view over the grounds and valley. The neighbouring sheep, complete the picture postcard. The bed was comfortable, with great pillows as were the bath towels and robes. The robes were a great added touch and we did not expect to have these in our room. We also both had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food was delicious, i can highly recommend the bannoffie pie. Breakfast was al acarte and very relaxed. The hotel was full, but we had ample time to have fresh pastries and juices, followed by a full Welsh breakfast. The staff in the hotel are attentive and friendly, everyone we met were accommodating and willing to help.
The location was excellent, we were able to take a day trip to beautiful neighbouring towns/villages including NewQuay - which is not to be missed. Picturesque on the coastline.
If you are visiting Aberystwyth then I would take a trip to the Conrah, I believe that they have a new bar menu, as well as coffee and cake mornings all to come, part of the new management. We will be back to try these out.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenshe12
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

Lovely Hotel in a spectacular location. Under new management and attention to detail could not have been better. Room and facilities were excellent with menu and food to match. Would highly recommend the Conrah both for it's peace and tranquility and for the home comforts. Also very well situated for access to all the local attractions. Congratulations to the new owners and the excellent staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenshe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

We arrived in a pouring rainstorm after a 5-hour drive up the coast of Wales, onlhy to be told there was no record of our reservation. After showing a printed confirmation, the girl working the desk found a reservation hand writen on a date after we were to be back in New York. The solution was to tell us there was no room at the inn and they'd make a call to find a room. Fortunately, the last place they called (Feathers Royal, Aberaeron, 18 miles south) had a room for one night. We took it. As we left we noted the "under new ownership" banner. We would advise anyone making a reservation here to have a back-up plan. Their pencilled in ledger is the rule, not their computerized records.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed for the saturday night of the easter week end. Staff pleasant and helpful, advising us on a lovely walk behind the hotel to the beach.....a very stoney beach. They have had many problems with the tv's over the last few weeks and we experienced the same. The room was large but not any of the advertised. The bathroom was old fashioned, tired and had a very soiled carpet. The views from the room were lovely. The windows are old and rattled all night due to the wind, so a sleepless night was had. We had our evening meal at the hotels restaurant, the menu is limited, pricey for the portion sizes and the room itself had no atmosphere. Leaving you whispering in conversation, perhaps some light background music would have helped. Over all a very average hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manc07Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

We were treated to a night away from the kids by friends, arranged a babysitter and off we went! Arrived early evening and were shown to a lovely room (11)outside the hotel. Went over for dinner, no exterior lighting working so watch the kerb! Starters were lovely but OH's lamb and veg very salty. At 12am next door came home and thru the walls we could hear their entire conversation and what they were watching on tv, not their fault, no soundproofing at all! No-one on reception between 11pm and 7am just a mobile number. We just packed up and left as we couldn't sleep. Asked hotel for refund but hotel have refused even though we didn't stay all night and had no breakfast. Don't really seem to care. Took them nearly a week to acknowledge our email. Advertised free WIFI but we were told we couldn't get it in room 11.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yummymummy6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
3.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
12.4 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
3.3 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Property: Conrah Hotel
Address: Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing