We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plas Y Dderwen Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We went to Plas Y Dderwen for the Easter weekend and stayed 2 nights in the superior double room. The B&B is situated in surrounding fields just off the main road into Aberystwth which is about 3 miles away.It was a beautifully decorated large room with en-suite shower room. One of the things we noticed straight away was how clean the room was, as is the rest of the house. All the furnishings were of very high quality (especially the very comfy bed!!) and it had a lovely large window with views of the neighbouring fields. The house is gorgeous with high ceilings, chandeliers in almost every room and a grand staircase in the reception hall. For breakfast we had a choice of cereals, fresh fruits, warm toast and a cooked breakfast. We chose them all!! Everything was well cooked/prepared and very tasty. Caryl was a great host and made us feel very welcome, she was always happy to help and even did some of my ironing!

Overall we had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend Plas Y Dderwen to anyone looking stay in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MingmongWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights last week for my sons wedding, it's the most beautiful house we have ever stayed at and Caryl was so welcoming and friendly, it really was like staying with family, she was so attentive. The rooms are superb andthe decor is to die for throughout the house. The bed was so comfortable, enhanced by quality bed linen and sumptuous pillows. The breakfast was absolutely mouthwatering, ample of everything, from the continental buffet to the full english that followed and all served on Royal Albert china. This was luxury at it's best and really does deserve it's 5 star rating. Thank you once again Caryl for making our special weekend even more perfect. We'll see you again for sure!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed in the suite recently.
It was a luxurious large room with a beautiful large roll top bath that we spent ages in !!
Its a peaceful location, a beautiful house and Caryl is a fantastic hostess.
Aberystwyth is 3 miles away, so its very handy.
We visited other hotels whilst in the area, but you wont beat the luxury of this place.
Definitely recommend it for quality and value for money and its so clean.

Room Tip: The street sign for the house is not that big, and could be easily missed. The suite is well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rozUkBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Friendly atmosphere, good food which was well presented, comfort of room, beautiful home to stay in and freedom to come and go at any time of the day. Caryl has a very professionally run B&B.

Quiet location with lovely views of the countryside but easy access to the A44 main road into Aberystwyth.

Would recommend this highly and is on a par with a really good hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abrumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Caryl is a fantastic host and provides a great British breakfast at the wonderfully situated B&B. The situation is great, quiet and private and it's more like a boutique hotel than a standard B&B. The rooms are luxuriously furnished, as is the rest of the house. The 50 inch TV in the residents lounge is a bonus for keen sports fans. The rooms all have their own flat screen TVs too. Our trip was unplanned and a necessity rather than a choice but staying with Caryl made it the best experience it could be in the circumstances. Thanks again Caryl!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussychica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

A group of four of us took two double rooms, one being the suite and the other being the deluxe double. We felt that they were extremely spacious and comfortable for the price. The location was also superb and scenic, as well as being only ten minutes from Aberystwyth centre. The proprietor of the hotel was very helpful and friendly and really made us feel welcome in her home, and the breakfast was delicious! All in all, a lovely experience which really made the trip to Aberystwyth special for us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Julie_kra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

About 5 miles East from Aberystwyth on A44, near A4159 junction. A superb, large, high quality house with luxury interior decor. There were only two rooms being let out at the time of our visit, both very spacious and well equipped. The lady in charge was most helpful and provided a more than saisfactory full breakfast. This is not a country cottage but more like a mansion and it would be very difficult to find fault with. There is a grand piano under the elegant stairway if you are musically inclined and have the ability to play.

Room Tip: Only two rooms, the suite at the front is slightly larger but comes at an added cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSAP4853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
2.6 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
506 reviews
2.6 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
373 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nanteos Mansion
Nanteos Mansion
#7 of 36 in Aberystwyth
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Celtic Bay Guest House
Celtic Bay Guest House
#17 of 36 in Aberystwyth
23 reviews
3.7 mi away
Llety Ceiro Country Guest House
7.6 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Y Dderwen Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Y Dderwen Bed and Breakfast

Address: Lovesgrove, Aberystwyth SY23 3HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £108 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Y Dderwen Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Plas Y Dderwen Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Y Dderwen Bed And Breakfast Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing