We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good, could be very good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Y Dderwen Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plas Y Dderwen Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good, could be very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed in the self-catering Studio, which is new-ish, perfectly comfortable, but still needs some details sorting out. Equipment needs augmenting (one pan, no hairdryer..), wardrobe doors fall off their runners (looks like wrong size) and some other little but important issues. Would have felt a bit happier if this were not at the very top end of the price range, so this is current reality vs expectation. All can be sorted, so just reporting what was there at the time we stayed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Having read the reviews, and with the associated high price, I had understandably high expectations for my visit.
The house must have looked all very grand when first done out in, I would presume, the 1980’s. However, our room had clearly seen a great deal of use and was extremely tired and dated. The windows badly needed a lick of paint and the shower needed to be completely gutted as it is was old with a badly operating tap that had its plastic top broken off so as to expose a metal screw underneath. All this was made worse by marked mould discoloration around and in the small shower cubicle. The rest of the en suite furniture was of the same era, with a well-used basin having poorly working taps. This was all very far from what I had been expecting, particularly as in this price range you can get a room at a good hotel anywhere in the country outside of London.
On the positive side, the host was very pleasant and the breakfast was nice.
There is a definite feeling that this operation has been resting on its laurels for a while now and there is an urgent need for investment in the bedrooms.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank BOWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is the first time we have ever stayed at a B&B and we could not have chosen better. Caryl, the owner and hostess, was charming, friendly welcoming. The house is about 150 years old and has been kept in it's old world style with ornate furniture and fittings and is immaculately presented. We had a very large first floor room with big bay windows overlooking a farm field. Bathroom was huge with a separate wardrobe and dressing area. The whole ambiance of the place is luxury and tranquility. My wife enjoyed just sitting in the bay window looking out across the meadow. The house is about 150 yards off the main road so traffic noise is not a problem and sleep quality was good in a large comfortable bed.

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms were like but our upstairs room at the front was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap d'Ail, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here in the family suite, we were traveling with our adult daughter so Caryl put an extra bed in the room. Beautifully comfortable. Lovely walk in wardrobe area and beautiful spacious bathroom after that with a lovely claw feet bath. We could sit and have tea and cookies in the suite. Totally luxury. Magnificent staircase and chandelier. We had a beautiful view of the fountain in front and the fields beyond. Not far from the town. In the morning they served a copious full breakfast on fine china. We loved it and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed at Plas Y Dderwen for a long weekend break away from London in the self contained cottage. I phoned ahead prior to my arrival, (which I would recommend to get proper directions) and I was greeted very welcomingly by Caryl and her daughter, my hosts, who made me feel instantly at ease and at home. She offered me a nice cold beer on my arrival and on a hot day it felt like she had read my mind. As a previous reviewer pointed out the B&B does put many a 5* hotel to shame, I would describe it best as a boutique small hotel. The level of service and attention to detail was incredible, as no request was too much for Caryl who has to take the praise as the most dedicated hostess I have ever come across.

I found the interior of the house to be luxurious and tastefully decorated. with the elegant staircase and the grand piano and spinning wheel in particular providing a classic timeless charm. Caryl's local knowledge proved invaluable as she recommended places to see, eat at and vist in the town center which were all equally excellent. The cottage itself is well furnished with a quaint rustic feel with all the mod cons, the bed was firm and comfortable and I slept well. The views and scenary are majestic and working in the city for weeks on end it was welcoming to wake up to green grass and fresh air with cows grazing blissfuly in the field. Overall I will definately be returning to this hidden gem very soon.

Room Tip: I would recommend booking the main suite in the house, it appeared to be large and spacious with a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonnyL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Not the cheapest B and B but boy, it's the best. Absolutely faultless in every particular, from the welcome, to the appointments of the room, to the sumptuous breakfast.
This house puts many a hotel to shame. If you want the best, you just found it..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euroboyLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Situated on an acre of land on the outskirts of Aberystwyth, Plas Y Dderwen is set well back from the main road, overlooking a lush meadow and adjacent hillside. Billed as 5 star, it seems no expense has been spared to create a luxurious setting - chandeliers, magnificent staircase, even a grand piano in the foyer. We stayed two nights in the Ystwyth Suite, a generously proportioned room (about three times the size of the room at our previous lodgings). Located upstairs, the suite had a large adjoining dressing room which led through to a huge bathroom. Whilst there was no shower as such, there was a quaint old style bath tub with ball and claw feet. In addition to the king size bed which was extremely comfortable, the bedroom area also had a couple of comfy chairs and a small dropside table which allowed us to relax with a cup of tea in the privacy of our room. Our friendly host Caryl cooked up a delicious breakfast each day and, as you would expect, elegantly served on Royal Albert china!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneandFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
2.6 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
4.2 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maes-Y-Mor
Maes-Y-Mor
#6 of 36 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Glengower
The Glengower
#4 of 36 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Y Dderwen Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Y Dderwen Bed and Breakfast

Property: Plas Y Dderwen Bed and Breakfast
Address: Aberystwyth SY23 3HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Y Dderwen Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Plas Y Dderwen Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Y Dderwen Bed And Breakfast Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing