We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”

Bwlch Nant yr Arian Forest Visitor Centre
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day out”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Happened to spot this on the way back to our camp site. Glad we did. Got there just as the kites were being fed - what a site! Lovely surroundings. Didn't have time to do any of the walks so unable to comment on those. Would definitely go back. No entry fee but there is a charge for parking £2.50 for 2 hrs.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smudge74_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    99
    16
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We saw this on our way to the coast and I KNEW that I had to visit it. A beautiful country park (in a state of transition due to having to fell many diseased trees), lovely walks, brilliant adventure playgrounds, really good cafe and HUNDREDS of red kites. I'd never seen a single red kite before coming to this part of Wales. Here, they are circling overhead, but as 3pm approaches, more and more of them appear and by the time the feeding starts, there are hundreds of them. It is AMAZING!

Helpful?
1 Thank Veggiedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Feed the birds...”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Went here yesterday specifically for the 3 o'clock feeding of the local red kites. Wales's national bird flocks here in huge numbers as if they've had a reminder text sent to them. Watching them soaring above you as dots over the surrounding hills can't prepare you for the size of them when they drop down to feed at the centre. Lots of other activities there and a great cafe, but if there's one reason to go it's the sight of so many of these beautiful once-endangered birds on the wing in full voice.

Helpful?
Thank mathewpathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangynidr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kite Feeding at it's best”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The walks around Nant yr Arian are great. We have been here several times for walks and lunch/afternoon tea in the cafe. The best thing of course is when the Kites are fed each afternoon. There is even close-circuit TV so that if the weather is inclement you can still watch the birds feeding from the comfort of the cafe.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic time here”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is the second time we have visited here, the weather was fantastic and the feeding of the red kites were as good as last time. Although a lot of trees had to be cut down through disease the place is still excellent value for money and the staff are excellent giving so much help and information. It is a must to visit when in this area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bwlch Nant yr Arian Forest Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Bwlch Nant yr Arian Forest Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing