We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst night sleep on record”
Review of Harry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harry's Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Very dissapointing this place used to be excellent. I have had a better night sleep on a long haul flight and after having a new born baby. I was woken up at least ten times between midnight and 4:00 by a very very noisey air con or refrigerator out the back. The room was too hot to close the window. After 4.00 am I just could not sleep. The matress was very poor quality and very uncomfortable. The Breakfast was very substandard served by a grumpy member of staff. You had to make your own tea or coffee from an urn that had run out of hot water staff. The cooked breakfast was very greesy and they served the horriblist cheapest sausages ever and the fried eggs were unrecognisable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lidar-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

When I booked this hotel the staff were very friendly and helpful but forgot to mention one thing about the hotel. It was undergoing major refurbishment to the roof, had scaffolding to front and back and the car park (that I was guarenteed would have space) was closed! I arrived unaware of this with my eight month old only to have to drive around for nearly an hour looking for somewhere to park. In the end I had to cross the busy road in front of the hotel with baby, bags travel cot etc in tow. The room itself was large but very worn. The window (with scaffolding and ladder right outside) didn't lock at all. The tv was tiny and so far from the bed the remote didn't work unless I got closer to it. The shower had no knob on the inside which made getting out very difficult. DIY to the room included a hair slide holding up a picture and a plug that didn't fit the sink. The noise from the building work was terrible including shouting and a very loud radio. The windows where also useless and ever car going past on the busy road sounded like it was in the room. The houses around the hotel also played loyd music all night long. Needless to say my baby got no sleep. The room also had a very creaky floor and as you walk around this made the wardrobes creak loudly too. The door had a massive gap under it I had to cover with pillows to get some sleep and the firedoors outside the room were very load to close. Wallpaper was peeling from Walls all over the hotel too (looks like damp) which made the whole place look very run down. This place is horrible and I wouldn't stay here again if they paid me. It is terribly overpriced and not at all worth the money!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harveymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

All staff were really helpful and gave us direction to the church. Hotel room was small, but very clean and the shower was excellent. Tea & coffee making facilities were superb and the breakfast was mint.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foots777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Well run hotel / bar / restaurant right in the middle of town. My room was very clean and warm. Friendly staff throughout, we had drinks and a meal which was excellent value for money.
We managed to park outside, but I believe there is a car park too..
The only negatives might be that it is on the 'student-run' and they are a fairly noisy bunch as they 'to-and-fro' between the Uni and the town bars.
Overall I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoppy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Nice, clean hotel in an ideal location. Room was a decent size. Breakfast was buffet style and you could eat as much as you wanted. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Stayed in Aberystwyth last Wednesday night, not at Harrys, but stumbled across this place whilst looking for someting to eat. From the off we had a great reception from the barman, and some excellent coice of beers. The menu had a great selection and the quality of the food was superb. I would highly recommend this for a great meal if you are ever staying in Aberystwyth. All of which was topped off with being served by a gorgeous Irish waitress.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank danpne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Single room was pretty small and right at the top of the building (3rd floor - no lift) so it would be really hot in summer. Ensuite shower room was reasonable size and shower worked well. Well located in town centre but parking can be difficult if small hotel car park is full. No reception so you get your key from the barman. Breakfast was fine and reasonable choice of hot items including option to have eggs cooked to order. Wifi in bar area but not in bedroom.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiredmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
373 reviews
3.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Hotel

Address: 40-46 North Parade, Aberystwyth SY23 2NF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £54 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harry's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harry’s Hotel Aberystwyth offers excellent accommodation and is located in the heart of town. As well as Hotel rooms, Harry's offers undoubtedly Aberystwyth's most luxurious and stylish bar, making it the perfect place for socialising with friends. Harry’s offers a comfortable and personal experience in a warm and friendly environment. A seductive Beer Garden, where you can enjoy the summer sun, which will give you a feel of absolute bliss not matter what the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrys Hotel Aberystwyth
Harry's Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing