We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room”
Review of Harry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harry's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Reviewed 21 May 2012

On the plus side, we had a lovely room which was surprisingly quiet given the bar below. It was very relaxing and well placed close to the seafront. I couldn't fault the accommodation. The staff were friendly.

On the downside, they need more staff. Breakfast on both days was completely chaotic. One person appeared to be doing everything - taking orders, restocking the buffet, dealing with reception.
We waited about 40 minutes for breakfast. It's also difficult to get back in the hotel at times!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0binsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

This was the worst food experience that I have ever had. The bar food was disgusting.... fish pie that was a 'sloppy' mess. One person in our party had fish and chips and they had been cremated. Also. it appears that a great deal of their food is microwaved. We were eating in the restaurant side but because it is open plan, it was also open to the bar customers who were watching a football match and the noise that was being made was ridiculous. Double problem being unpleasant food and unpleasant setting. This is my bad experience at Harry's and will not be going back there again, even if it was paid for.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jacky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed overnight in connection with business. Great location - easy, convenient and central. Check in efficient and smooth. Eveything you need in one place - clean spacious rooms to stay recently completely overhauled with new bathroom facilities etc, with the bar and restaurant facilities (serving very good food) just downstairs !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We came for Easter Holidays to the Wales and have chosen hotel because of central location and average prices. General impression was good, but we were a bit disappointed by room and breakfast.
Staff was friendly and helpful, but our room was on the 1 floor and 5 turns on the narrow stairs, we had 6 bags for two of us, there is no lift, and staff didn't offer any help with quiet steep stairs.

Room was sloppy and we failed with keeping up the balance, as things kept slip down from surface My husband put remote control and the key on the bed side table and in the morning found them on the floor, we had dizziness in the room, as floor was uneven towards the wall and when we slept on the bed, we found themselves fighting to stay on it as we gradually slipped down,

Towels had their best couple years ago and although we had them changed every morning, they all were worn out and tattered at the edges.

Also, there is no any table in the room, so we could not put any cups or biscuits but only on the bed or soft chair. Probably management didn't want to risk if cups with hot water would slip on the clients

Breakfast was usual for Britain, but I have never seen so much fat in sausages and beans. Brown bread and sausages, probably were cheapest in the market, even birds didn't like to eat them. We could not eat them either.
In general, we would not recommend to our friends to choose this hotel, although it could be emergency stay for couple days, if you can manage to keep a balance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Check in was easy , but did get lost trying to find my room , could do with a staff member showing you to your room. Rooms clean , comfortable , warm , shower good , nice hot water .

The over all apearance of the hotel is good , clean , well maintained , nice touch with the fresh flowers in all the corridoors . Thank good ness no artificial flowers , cant stand them , .

Dinner was good , had a spicy chili burger , nicely presented , food tasted good , but staff lacked that personal touch with service . This could be improved . Athphosphere in the bar was good . i wanted to eat in the Bistro but was shown to a table in the bar area . It seem like the staff on duty that night were distracted . but apart from this dinner was good . Menu slection was also good . Priced accordingly , .

Breakfast was as to be expected , normal selection of English breakfast , cant realy get excited about breakfast options any where in the UK .

Room Tip: Single rooms are as they say , single , did not get to see a double room except when I peeped into o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warwicktn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I used this hotel for one night at some time ago during my trip around Wales the room was very clean, the bed was very confortable, warm room, powerful shower, friendly staff had a lovely continental breakfast overeall it was a pretty cosy stay and I would go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gorgeousgal1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Food was really good, there's reasonably priced bar meals and a fancy bistro menu if you want something special. My room (no 5) was fairly spacious, but a bit dated - all OK really though. Only slight downside was single glazed windows, which meant any noise on the road outside could be clearly heard. I guess rooms at the back may be better, and I gather they are going to get double glazing at some point, which should deal with the problem.

Room Tip: Front rooms get noise from people/cars in the road at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikePepler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
370 reviews
1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
351 reviews
3.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Hotel

Address: 40-46 North Parade, Aberystwyth SY23 2NF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £50 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harry's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harry’s Hotel Aberystwyth offers excellent accommodation and is located in the heart of town. As well as Hotel rooms, Harry's offers undoubtedly Aberystwyth's most luxurious and stylish bar, making it the perfect place for socialising with friends. Harry’s offers a comfortable and personal experience in a warm and friendly environment. A seductive Beer Garden, where you can enjoy the summer sun, which will give you a feel of absolute bliss not matter what the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Harry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrys Hotel Aberystwyth
Harry's Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing