We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bar with rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harry's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bar with rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Harrys is not really a 'hotel' , it was not as we had expected. As with another reviewer, i felt we were staying in a pub with rooms. The first impression from the outside was positive but on attempting to check in we were told abruptly 'cant park your car the builders are there' by the owner. Our room was right on the top floor and although clean was small and had no wardrobe ,just 4 hangers on a small shelf. The toiletries were not refreshed in the morning ,even though we had clearly used them and there was no bath. The room was quiet due to being on the top floor, we also had a lovely view from the window. Coffee and tea facilities were refreshed and the room had a wall mounted TV. We decided to have a meal in the bistro in the evening and had pre booked, again the hotel owners attitude wasnt the best 'we've got builders you wont get a table' ,i stated we had booked and so got our table. The food was very poor, a large plate of frozen chips with a piece of frozen fish for one of our party, and a fatty gammon steak with chips for another.Meanwhile television blasted football around us. The breakfast was much better and the choice good and morning waitresses all lovely. Location of hotel is excellent ,right in centre with 5 minute walk to beachand if you want to go out for a really excellent meal visit 'little italy' across the road, amazing! In summary, I wont be stayiing here again, very impersonal and more negatives than positives.

Room Tip: room at the top nice and quiet but must be fit as stairs can be a killer for people with walking pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgrierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harryshotel, Manager at Harry's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you for your review and the feedback you have given. We at Harry's are very keen to work on the points you have mentioned and are try to make any experience in Harry’s more enjoyable, I do hope to see you again soon, so you can see that your points have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    110
    54
    21
    23
See reviews for
34
133
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We felt that Harry's should be classed as a bar with rooms rather than a hotel. There is a large impersonal sports bar, noisy and very modern. The reception staff were very helpful but breakfast was a different matter. I asked for a small Welsh breakfast and my husband asked for the large one- both appearing without the stated tomatoes and mushrooms, with the toast placed on top of it.When asked about the missing items, the waitress went to the kitchen, returning stating that there were none left and anyway it was 10 o'clock! Breakfast was until 10am and we had ordered by 10 to 10!
Our room was very clean-after the winding trek to get there-not good if you have heavy luggage, and was nicely appointed, albeit quite unnerving as everything was on a slant(amusing!)
Parking at the back of the hotel was quite limited and very little parking around the town.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are winding corridors and it may be quite a walk to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theblossoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed fro two nights in order to partake in a railtour leaving from Aberystwyth. We had booked a twin room (my partner had booked previously for him and a male friend and had to postpone the booking, I was able to attend on this revised date).

When we arrived at the station it was barely a 5 minute walk to Harry's, a modern looking building on quite a busy street. Adam greeted us from reception and we checked in in barely a couple of minutes. Adam offered us room 14, a family room.

Room 14 is on the third floor and requires a Sat Nav or an acute sense of direction to find, but what a find! The suite was clean, bright and large. On entering the front door you are in a carpeted hallway with a lounge room to the left. In this room there are two sofas and a tv and the window overlooks the main road. Next to this is the double bedroom. A comfy double sitting directly under the sash window (staff: swap the bedside table over to make more room to get in and out of bed please). The bedding was white with colourful curtains and haberdashery. There was also a wardrobe, tea and coffee making facilities, a wall mounted hairdryer and tv in this room.

Opposite the front door was the bathroom. It was very modern and very clean. There was only a shower but it was an excellent shower and always plenty of hot water (watch out for the drainage of the shower tray - sometimes water doesn't drain away as quickly as you would like).

The last room was the twin room. A reasonable size twin overlooking the back and loads of houses. Another tv (yes that is 3), a tallboy and another hairdryer.

The hotel has double-glazed sash windows, however, they let quite a lot of noise in, which may disturb you especially as Harry's bar doesn't close until 1am and the road is quite busy all of the time.

Our friends had trouble with parking, in that the car park was full so they had to park on-street. No good when you are going to be out all-day on a train because it is limited to 1 hour stay only.

The breakfast was great, we both had the full English and it was tasty and hot. You have to help yourself to tea/coffee, juice, cereal etc. but that means you can have as much as you like without feeling any guilt.

The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgable.

All in all I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 14 is a family room. Back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkles15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We booked this hotel as a stop off from New quay to our other destination.

Accommodation was disappointing. The room had mismatch furniture, ripped chair seats, no fridge, no bath, broken TV control and there were no blackout blinds which I believe are essential when you have a street light in the direction of your window. It is a shame as there is a lot of potential for the rooms and they are spacious; however they felt unloved and there is a blatant lack of care and attention. On the plus side the bed was very comfortable.

The service in the morning was very welcoming and friendly and it was nice to have different herbal teas and a choice of breakfast . Juice glasses were too small and breakfast itself ( apart from scrambled egg) wasn't great as it was overcooked and cheap meat. Quiet music may be recommended as the area was very large and dark and needed some ambiance.

I would have rated it as average but did not feel it was worth £75 and was not a deluxe room when I paid £50 the night before in a popular destination with a lovely room, sea view and nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Do not pay full price for the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Having read some previous reviews we weren't sure what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised. Our room (14) was 2 bedrooms plus a sitting room and was spacious, clean and recently refurbished. We had to go through the rabbit warren to get to it and yes the sloping floors do cause gaps in the doorways but that was part of the charm. Breakfast was fine and the staff were polite and helpful. We did eat one night in the Bistro and can thoroughly recommend the home made baileys chocolate mousse served in a Guinness glass. We would definitely stay at Harrys again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandJo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

2nd time we have stopped here at Harrys, it's well located in the town centre with a short walk to the beach/promenade. Rooms are perfectly clean and a good size. It's an old building so expect sloping floors but everything inside is modern, clean and well equipped. Ours came with a sofa area, a friend ended up in a family room which seemed to have 2 bedrooms and a reception room! There's quite a lot of stairs and I don't remember a lift which was fine for us but might not be great for those of limited mobility. The hotel is attached to a bar/pub which serves reasonably priced, decent quality food and although some might be put off by being next to / above a bar we haven't had any noise disturbance on either occasion we stopped so haven't seen it as an issue really. There's a modest sized car park (maybe room for 6-8 cars I guess) which is a bonus if you manage to get a space as parking seems to be at a bit of a premium in the town itself. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. No hassle with anything at all. Will definitely stay here again when visiting west Wales

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMysteryCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Lively old building with uneven floors as you would expect and no lift which may upset some people but hey the exercise is good for you. Rooms were not beautiful but they were clean and we could smell fresh sheets when we first opened the door. The shower was mould free and powerful. Two complaints the two front bars had the TV tuned to football all the time I hate football and did not want to stay too long having a drink there (the barman seemed to love football however as he was glued). The Bistro food was too pub grub nothing to entice one to eat there. The menu needs to be reviewed. Breakfast was good and Sophie who looked after us and the chief worked very hard to keep up with the demand. Best thing of all was the Italian restaurant Little Italy across the rood the food was superb.

Room Tip: Middle floor is best far enough away from the bar not to notice street/traffic. Very run down town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Harry's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for your review and the feedback you have given. We will work on the points you have mentioned and try to make your next experience in Harry’s more enjoyable, I do hope to see you again soon.

Kellie
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Hotel

Property: Harry's Hotel
Address: 40-46 North Parade, Aberystwyth SY23 2NF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Harry's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harry’s Hotel Aberystwyth offers excellent accommodation and is located in the heart of town. As well as Hotel rooms, Harry's offers undoubtedly Aberystwyth's most luxurious and stylish bar, making it the perfect place for socialising with friends. Harry’s offers a comfortable and personal experience in a warm and friendly environment. A seductive Beer Garden, where you can enjoy the summer sun, which will give you a feel of absolute bliss not matter what the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Harry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrys Hotel Aberystwyth
Harry's Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing