We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service for price paid.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harry's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Service for price paid.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

If you want the Ritz then go somewhere else. If you want a hotel with a welcoming approach, value for money, clean and great breakfast then book this hotel. Yes there is some noise but this is a busy pub on a main road so what do you expect !
The rooms we had were clean and well equipped although a little difficult to find. The floors do slope slightly but we found this amusing and quite quirky.
The breakfast is big and of a good standard. The service at breakfast was very good with the lady serving us being very chatty and friendly. Nothing was a trouble to her and I hope if she has a boss they read this. Having a son at uni in Aber means we will be back in Sept and i hope to stay there again. thank you very much.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redrobin105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    110
    54
    21
    23
See reviews for
34
133
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

A business trip brought me to Harry's. I booked two single rooms for myself and a colleague. My first surprise was that upon arrival we only had one room. Thankfully this was sorted out and we were given one single and one double. The story could have ended there if the staff had been more competent. However, the next day when returning to my room, I couldn't open the door. To cut a stupid story short, my things had been removed to another room without my prior permission and my door card had been activated. In the process, a young manager rudely informed me that it was all my fault. I wouldn't have minded, but I had remained polite and patient throughout.
Beyond this, the rooms were ok, but nothing special. In. The second room (19, top floor) the window was plastered with seagull and pigeon droppings. One important thing to note is that the so-called car park is a very tight back alley that can just about accomodate 6 or 7 cars. Manouvering is tough and spaces are limited so you need to be lucky. Also, the cars get dive-bombed by seagulls, so after one night you might find your car in a hell of a mess.

Room Tip: Avoid room 19 in order to be spared the view and the noise of birds (or something) pattering on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanMic31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed at Harry's hotel for one night only. First impressions were not good. Check in was simple even though we arrived really late. The bar staff checked us in. However the building is a conversion of several terraced buildings. This meant that the rooms are spread over a rabbit warren of corridors and stair cases. Not suitable for the old or infirm. We actually got lost trying to find our way back to reception. The room was Quite basic and looked a little worn. The double bed was a twin made up as a double. However there was everything you need. TV (only welsh free view) Tea, coffee even biscuits. The bathroom made up for the basic room. It was clean modern and well decorated. The breakfast was very nice. Large choice of cereals, fruit juices and a full English. Breakfast menu was very good with a vegetarian option. Have o mention Becky in the bistro, very helpful and bubbly character first thing in the morning. Slight confusion over our order was sorted in minutes. She even drew us a map of how to get to Borth. Over all a very pleasant stay. I would stay again. Tip though don't try the rear car park if you have a large vehicle or car. It's very tight. Plenty of parking out front but with 1 hour limit 8am-6pm.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front on the first floor looked really nice when we walked passed them being cleane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcourtneyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year whilst visiting friends ... The room was small and had a damp smell to it, it seemed like it had had it's time maybe 10-15 years ago... Very noisy from the Main Street outside and the bar downstairs was like a club 18-30's holiday type experience not what we had in mind at all... I would never stay here again.. Didn't try the food as was concerned it was as bad as the rest of the place... Don't be fooled by the nice pictures on the web sites...find somewhere else next time we certainly will... !!!! Don't stay here !!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonArtlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

A one night stay....not my first. The staff are excellent, friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very well decorated and very clean. Bathroom looked new and was pristine. Breakfast also very nice. There is a but..... this hotel can be noisy. It is popular with students and there is a lot of noise at times from the bar and the street outside. The noise during this visit, my wife tells me, settled down about 5am. We also had a drunken guest driven 3am fire alarm to break the quiet. This isn't the hotels fault but noise generally does seem to be an issue. Having said that I would stay again and would recommend Harry's Hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Poshdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

All looking good - clean airy, spacious room.... but a terrible night thanks to the behaviour of probably two rooms of guests from early hours: coming and going, door-banging and knocking, very loud talking and shouting most in Welsh (the Welsh Tourist Board would surely be delighted but with some colourful Anglo-Saxon easily recognisable) - even sounded like furniture moving. Icing on the cake? That oh so sophisticated trick of setting the fire alarm off - thanks lads! Sadly, if they are staying again tonight - we will probably not be. Another stay booked in August - definitely time to reconsider!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We only stayed one night, we needed to make an early start so could not stay for breakfast so booked "room only". A very nice place to stay, nice room with a well appointed en-suite and all the usual extras such as tea/coffee making facilities, TV, hair dryer, etc. Very clean and comfortable bed, we were a bit worried by the ear plugs placed in the room and there was a live group playing the night we stayed but we were in room 15, 2 floors above the bar and we could only just about hear the music so it wasn't a problem. We were a bit disappointed with the bistro, we came down to eat just before 9 p.m. and it had stopped serving food so we had to eat at Weatherspoons, less than a 5 minute walk away. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: choose a high floor room if there is live music but this will mean climbing 3 or 4 flights of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Hotel

Property: Harry's Hotel
Address: 40-46 North Parade, Aberystwyth SY23 2NF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Harry's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harry’s Hotel Aberystwyth offers excellent accommodation and is located in the heart of town. As well as Hotel rooms, Harry's offers undoubtedly Aberystwyth's most luxurious and stylish bar, making it the perfect place for socialising with friends. Harry’s offers a comfortable and personal experience in a warm and friendly environment. A seductive Beer Garden, where you can enjoy the summer sun, which will give you a feel of absolute bliss not matter what the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Harry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrys Hotel Aberystwyth
Harry's Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing