We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxed place for a relaxing time!”
Review of Harry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harry's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had three lovely days around there. Enjoyed the room, the meals and the bar! The rooms on the front face onto a busy one-way through road and junction and the traffic starts early in the morning, though this didn't bother us. Light sleepers and lazybones might prefer rooms at the back! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great location only short walking to beach and old castle, Friendly staff, comfortable rooms and good food. We were 16 days in UK and had here the best meal. I would come back again to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaijaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a very good hotel, right in the centre and two minutes walk from the Promenade. Very friendly staff, nice rooms, excellent food (15% discount for residents!) and a good variety of beers in the bar. The room itself was spacious, with good facilities and very clean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

just stayed at harry s bar a big thanks to Steve the manager the hotel was excellent and the staff were very friendly nothing was to much trouble
the rooms were very clean and tidy the location was excellent right in the heart of the town
the breakfast and meals we had in harry s were all first class
when we go to aberystwyth again the first booking to be made will be this hotel

Room Tip: chose a room on the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in a double room for three nights during a conference at the university. It has a good central location in town, close to many shops and restaurants and is most definitely a step up from the truly gauche Victorian hotels on the seafront that I have previously stayed at on two occasions! It is, however, above a thriving bar and the clientèle can get a little noisy and boisterous, so if you are expecting a quiet hotel, Harry's is perhaps not for you. Our small, but tastefully furnished, en suite room was on the second floor and faced the back of the building (the car park) and hence was relatively quiet. Complimentary coffee, tea and nice biscuits are provided. The only fault with the room was, that once opened, the sash window slid down, meaning we had to wedge it open with the waste paper basket as it was too hot in the room to sleep with the window shut at night. The car park is a bit of a squeeze and there isn't a lot of room for guest's cars, meaning that we had to leave ours parked up a nearby street one night. The cost of the room, which was competitive, included breakfast which was substantial offering plenty of choice (cereals, toast, full Welsh, fruit, juices etc.). I'd certainly stay here again, anything than face the woefully down at heel choices on offer on the seafront!!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the building facing the car park for a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KernowPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Harry's during a two night trip to Aberystwyth, would highly reccomend Harry's to anyone who's looking to visit. The location is perfect, in the middle of the town centre just a stones throw from lots of Aberystwyth's bars shops and a mere stroll to the seafront. The value for money is hard to beat, the rooms are elegantly decorated with everything you could need, the bathroom was fantastic. The breakfast was absolutely lovely and the service was efficient and quick. Also the bistro food in Harry's is not to be missed, we enjoyed a meal in the hotel on the second night and were so pleased with the quality, taste and presentation. The bar and bistro feel like a home away from home, with lots of comfortable seating, a pool table and a lovely quieter end for the bistro. The staff were all friendly and professional, we could not have been more pleased by everything. Thanks Harry's for a brilliant stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed in Harry's Hotel for one night a few months ago. I was in a single room. The room itself was a decent size if a little tired. The bathroom was nicely fitted and staff could not have been more accommodating. I was very happy with the price paid also, very competitive in Aber.

I have a couple of criticisms however; On arrival the bulb in my room was blown and I spent five minutes getting it sorted. The bed was a little bit tired. I slept alright (not brilliantly) - they'll be needing a new mattress sooner rather than later. Finally, outside the room there are two firedoors which slam quite loudly when they close. I found it quite disruptive when trying to sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATaylor494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
370 reviews
1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
350 reviews
3.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Hotel

Address: 40-46 North Parade, Aberystwyth SY23 2NF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £50 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harry's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harry’s Hotel Aberystwyth offers excellent accommodation and is located in the heart of town. As well as Hotel rooms, Harry's offers undoubtedly Aberystwyth's most luxurious and stylish bar, making it the perfect place for socialising with friends. Harry’s offers a comfortable and personal experience in a warm and friendly environment. A seductive Beer Garden, where you can enjoy the summer sun, which will give you a feel of absolute bliss not matter what the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrys Hotel Aberystwyth
Harry's Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing