We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy with poor service”
Review of Harry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harry's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Reviewed 23 February 2009

A positive aspect of this hotel was its proximity to the University and the town centre. The down side of this was the noise from traffic and late night revellers. I was at the top of the hotel in a small room with a large radiator. It was a mild weekend but the heating was on all night. The radiator's valve was broken so I couldn't turn it off. I had two uncomfortable nights because of the heat. At breakfast we were given toast but no plates, and a tea bag in a cup - no pot. When asked to provide fresh milk for the room they only sent up more UHT portions. The flat screen TV on the wall was only properly visible from directly in front. There was no information in the room on anything such as breakfast time or who to call for assistance. The worst part was the noise caused by a gang of Irish twentysomethings staying at the hotel. They would come home drunk at about 2 - 3am and were arguing, shouting, singing and knocking on doors until dawn. They were abusive about the country they had come to visit and set off the fire alarm more than once on the 2nd night – but the manageress just made excuses for them at first and in the end only gave them a telling off. The bathroom was clean and I was able to park my car at the back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bh41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Harry's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2008

stayed at harry's for 2 nights. the staff were lovely and the entertainment in the bar was delightful. the rooms were slightly damp and the bathroom not as clean as id hoped for £85.

however on our final evening,when i was in the bar toilet the manageress came in and yelled horrific abuse at a waitress cleaning because she was talking whilst scrubbing the toilet. It was awful to hear and the language used was less than desirable. spent the evening listening to the lovely live music and saw the manageress pocket a pile of money from the till looking extremely suspicious.

a member of staff behind the bar was extremely rude and insulted me when i spoke welsh to him.

hotel was ok and staff were pleasant
but would not return on principles

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tonydixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

found it hard to find anywhere to stay in Aber at a reasonable cost. Harrys cost £85 for a double room so we expected it to be at least clean and comfortable but it was awful. There was mould in the bathroom, a broken window mended with tape, rickety beds, grubby carpet, ancient dark wood furniture that you would expect in a cheap rented bedsit. The room was noisy from the kitchen and dark, staff barely polite. We didn't want to stay to eat and had a lovely fry up in one of the many great cafes across the road. Very disappointed. Please open a Travellodge in Aber! Their rooms are 100 times better than this for a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank missjaniejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Stayed here for 1 night. The staff were absolutely great - really helpful and welcoming giving good info about the town generally. The rooms need sorting despite being refurbished. Mine had a sloping bed and the windows had cracks with gaffer tape covering them. After moving to another room all seemed fine but the finish could be a bit better. Great power showers in some rooms and seemed clean enough.

Good breakfast, again with freindly staff serving.

I remember this hotel from a few years ago and the refurbishments downstairs seem to have taken some of the character out of it which is a shame. Not bad for the price though as I had it cheaper than usual. Not worth the rack rate though.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank collegefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

I have just spent an evening at this establishment and i would have to say that it is one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed in - its like a sub standard travel lodge with added noise and generally poor staff attention to customer care [ there was none]

The breakfast is one of the most unappetisiing i have ever had the misfortune to eat, the waitress just pointed at the coffee in a sullen manner, when asked a simple question, and the whole place smells of stale beer.

To round it off, i couldnt sleep because of the noise from the bar downstairs, the smell of cigarettes that wafted up into my room if i opened the window, form the 'smokig area' below and my room seemed to have a 45degree slant that made standing up quite difficult..

And all this for £85.00 sterling - for which you can get a weekend 4* rate in london - take my advice, if you can get in somewhere else, do so.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank Gareth08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2007

Ihave just returned from this hotel and I am still not sure what to make of it. We booked a "Superior Room" AT 65 £ we were their for 5 nights on Friday we had to pay 95£ vastly overpriced. I have stayed in far better hotels in Europe for less a night in Euros! The room was large but extremely crooked it had a drastic slant when you got out of bed to make your way to bathroom you went on a run it was like a downhill slide.The room was very shabby so was the whole hotel it needs a drastic overhaul.The bed was very comfortable but not pillows the bathroom roomy but no toiletries after the 1st day. Tea coffee milk and biscuits 1st day but not everyday.The hotel was very noisy we were right at the door to bedrooms and when people came in at night at all hours they just let it slam noise was dreadful. Breakfast was your basic english fry to greasy for my tastes stuck to toast. served too early 7.30 -9.30.Didnt see a lot of staff only in morning didnt waste any time with pleasantries not rude just disinterested.Very noisy area a lot of speeding cars had bloody noisy seagulls something I never experienced before was like a Hitchcock film!Wouldnt recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FrancesC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2007

Stayed for one night at Harry's in January 2007. Booked a single room, which at £40 B&B is probably fair for the property. Unfortunately, the bathroom was on the other side of the corridor to the room, but as it had been recently refurbished, this was copeable with. The room was a little tired, but as the hotel was only taken over in June last year, I presume that they'll be working around the rooms to update them.

Overall, fine for an overnight stay, and can't fault the VFM.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank patsysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.0 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
335 reviews
3.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Hotel

Address: 40-46 North Parade, Aberystwyth SY23 2NF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £59 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harry's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harry’s Hotel Aberystwyth offers excellent accommodation and is located in the heart of town. As well as Hotel rooms, Harry's offers undoubtedly Aberystwyth's most luxurious and stylish bar, making it the perfect place for socialising with friends. Harry’s offers a comfortable and personal experience in a warm and friendly environment. A seductive Beer Garden, where you can enjoy the summer sun, which will give you a feel of absolute bliss not matter what the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Harry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrys Hotel Aberystwyth
Harry's Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing