We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a one night stay”
Review of Harry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harry's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OK for a one night stay”
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Started a 'road trip' round the North Wales coast at Aberystwyth - Harry's came up as cheap and available - previous reviews OK (ish!) so gave it a whirl. Downstairs bar/restaurant modern but rooms very dated - couldn't get TV to work; room overlooking flat roof - but were told it was quieter at the back - which it might have been if it wasn't for the extractor fan on the other side of the wall running all night! Staff polite & bar nice to sit in - and enjoyed the breakfast - it's a shame they haven't spent more money upgrading the bedrooms as they have on the bar area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestcountryWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    115
    56
    23
    25
See reviews for
39
140
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This was our second visit to Harry's and it did not disappoint. Room was very good and breakfast excellent, if you like a good English, and self service.
Check in was a bit clumsy as they had no record of our booking. We also asked if there was live entertainment on the Saturday evening of our arrival and was told yes, only to find we were practically the only 2 people having a drink in the bar on the evening. No entertainment? That was a disappointment because when we visited in March this year, that is one of the main attractions and we had such a good night listening to the band.
We will be going back again at the end of August for another mini break. Very good value for money and I would highly recommend Harry's to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorriss51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed at this hotel on the 13th July 09 to celebrate the graduation of my daughter.We booked a double for us and a single for my daughter; rooms 9 and 8 respectively. These rooms were at the top of several narrow winding flights of stairs. We were exhausted when we finally dragged the luggage to our rooms. We were appalled by the tiny cramped rooms. The showers had mould in them. The wallpaper was stained and the rooms were grubby and overheated. My daughter had a wardrobe that was smaller than a child's wardrobe. When we asked to be moved we were informed that there were no other rooms available and that we were in a standard double rather than a "superior" double. The website has no mention of this and there are no different pricing bands, however it was clear they had inflated their room rates to take advantage of graduation week; c£180 for one double and a one single for one night. Breakfast was the one and only redeeming feature

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yellReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Stayed at Harry's on a 2-night single room deal for 80 UKP, so very good value in Aber. Room was right at the top of the hotel - fairly small, but clean, modern and no complaints at the price. Despite being a very warm weekend, the heating was on and the room was stifling hot and remained so even when the radiator was turned off.

The fairly recent conversion of the ground floor into an Irish pub has its pros and cons. In the daytime (and for breakfast), it's quite a stylish cafe/bar atmosphere with a good range of drinks at good prices. Come the evening though and it's another matter altogether, seemingly a favourite of the student crowd and having a very loud live band many nights a week. The noise travels throughout the hotel, so don't expect a good night's sleep on band nights with Saturday night being the worst with a 2am close.

Breakfast was pretty good fare, cooked to order in the pub restaurant area. Coffee/tea is instant, help yourself style, but no worries at this class of hotel really.

So, overall, Harry's offers good value in a top location so close to everything in Aber (don't rely on being able to park in the rear carpark as it's often full or blocked in), but the Irish pub part of the deal will not be for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorks
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We have stayed at Harrys on many previous visits to Aberystwyth but not since the refurbishment of the bar area and addition of live music until 1am.Myself and and an 11 year old child were in Room 18 directly above the bar and live band and we got NO sleep until well after 2am, The noise was indescribable. Upon checkout we complained and without hesitation our roomrate was reduced to £14 (the cost of 2 breakfasts!). I told the male receptionist that Room 18 should not be used at it's clearly impossible to market it as a BEDroom - more like an extension of the bar. He just shrugged - I would guess he hears this all the time. What a shame the new bar has ruined this once lovely hotel. We will not stay again

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-sands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We arrived to find there was no easy parking close to the hotel. The room was Ok but had a broken double glazing pane and dirty marks(which we easliy cleaned) on the walls. The bathroom light didn't work on the second night. The breakfast next day was a disaster due to sever lack of staff. We didn't have time to wait for the breakfast in the end. There were no menus on the tables or in the rooms and generally things were not as they should be- we had to find our own plates etc. (though the only member of staff working was doing her best!) On reception a 'member of staff' was childminding rather than working adn could have helped ease the pressure on the dining room. Our bed was not made during the intervening day either. It was relatively cheap but obviously didn't deliver what was promised!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanadianTravelloso
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Ok hotel is Aberystwyth. The rooms were old with wobbly floors, but were very clean and the bathrooms were modern. One room had a table overlooking the street which was cute, but the bed was lopsided. The pub downstairs was decent with a great staff. Breakfast was included with the price of the hotel and was tasty. However, there was no lift and the stairs were a problem.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTravelloso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Hotel

Property: Harry's Hotel
Address: 40-46 North Parade, Aberystwyth SY23 2NF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Harry's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harry’s Hotel Aberystwyth offers excellent accommodation and is located in the heart of town. As well as Hotel rooms, Harry's offers undoubtedly Aberystwyth's most luxurious and stylish bar, making it the perfect place for socialising with friends. Harry’s offers a comfortable and personal experience in a warm and friendly environment. A seductive Beer Garden, where you can enjoy the summer sun, which will give you a feel of absolute bliss not matter what the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrys Hotel Aberystwyth
Harry's Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing