We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some imporvements needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Goychay, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
210 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“some imporvements needed”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A review below mentions "old world creak and charm".Well the Old World part is accurate and the hotel definitely creaks. Charm however, is a matter of opinion.

First and foremost, this hotel is an Aberystwyth Icon. Right on the seafront with a lovely view.Decent bar and restaurant.

However, I believe the hotel needs some work done. I'm not saying a complete do-over. I too appreciate old world charm but damp carpets in the bathrooms and a bathroom door handle that literally came of in my hand are just some of the numerous small things that need to be addressed. I'm not saying that all hotels should be hliday inns or park inns. The identity and character of this hotel is amazing, just that some repairs need be done.

One thing I can definitely not fault however are the staff. Polite courtteous and effcient. They are a credit to the hotel. WiFi is free and strong.

If they fixed this place up it would be miles ahead of everywhere in Aberystwyth.

Room Tip: Sea views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daymannightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    115
    99
    27
    29
See reviews for
48
116
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Lovely seafront position.the bar,dining room and the bedroom all overlooked the seafront.the lady owner very sweet,took time out to speak to the guests.Dinner was lovely last night,breakfast this morning was nice too.Will definitely stay there again.
The staff more than make up for any negative comments guests make.The staff are a credit to the hotel.Many thanks,Belle Vue.

Room Tip: Would choose a Seaview room again but on a floor down as I've got angina,my own fault when booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

WE was passing the area after driving a long way we checked to see if a room was available
and was given a large sea view the room was a bit dated wall paper peeling of the bathroom but we was told the hotel was undergoing a refurbish, Bed Comfy clean sheets, towels,could have done with a good hoover a round the carpets edgers, the kettle was a bit old on checking it only had one cup of tea it could have done with a new one.staff very friendly the breakfast was a bit poor when the bacon on my plate came it was very dark brunt i could not even cut it I asked for a new piece to which I could eat. I was informed that is the way people like it ? not me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

There is no doubt about the fact the hotel is old, worn and creaky but that is part of its charm. You walk down dated corridors and our room – though we had a waterfront view – was teeny. What makes this hotel is the staff. We were driving and needed a hotel en route; the hotel was recommended and once I called staff were helpful, courteous and made every effort to soothe our tired selves.

The dinner was small in portion but lovely in taste, staff knew we were ravenous and went the extra mile to ensure we got it in time. The beds soft, clean and duvets warm. The breakfast was filling and you had enough variety. The rooms could use updating and bathrooms a clean but what mattered to us was there; we were VERY well looked after.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Popped in here for a coffee and ended up having the cheesecake which was very interesting. Seemed to be a deconstructed cheesecake and a couple behind were having the roast lamb which looked posh. They seem to be trying to pursue a posh opinion. We stayed until 930ish and were able to watch the sun setting over the sea - my highlight of Wales. Staff very good but don't speak Welsh.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elmo1989_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Belle Vue Royal. We had a lovely large room with a fabulous view over the promenade and sea. The hotel is undergoing sympathetic refurbishment to restore it to its former glory. The staff are so friendly and polite. The breakfasts were superb. We had an evening meal there which was very high class. We absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel / guest house was undergoing some refurbishment downstairs. Hopefully the bedrooms will be next! décor and furniture dated. decent size bed room but had a noisy well worn bed and being at the back of the building also had the drum of the boiler so not a good nights sleep, on the plus side the view from the restaurant and bar is classic sea front, and it was reasonably priced for what is was. Staff were very polite. There own car park was full so had to find a space along the prom so expect that to take a while if its sunny (busy). As my stay required an early start (7.30) I was a little disappointed that breakfast did not start until 8 , but they did accommodate with non-cooked alternative. I would not discount it from a further visit, would not want room 30 though!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VernonPL678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Vue Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Vue Royal Hotel

Property: Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Address: Marine Terrace | The Promenade, Aberystwyth SY23 2BA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Belle Vue Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Aberystwyth's magnificent promenade, the Belle Vue Royal Hotel offers accommodation in elegant, spacious surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Belle Vue Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Vue Royal Aberystwyth
Hotel Belle Vue Royal
Belle Vue Royal Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing