We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would stay here again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2008

I decided to stay here after seeing their website and I dont regret it. Just to make it clear, I don't go looking for problems when I check into a hotel or look for ways to get money off the bill. All I want is a tidy, nice hotel with clean sheets, clean bathroom, a
decent breakfast and polite staff. This is what I got! But....

The decor in the reception badly needs updating, the views are a bit rubbish in the back - make sure you try and haggle for a sea view room and I wish I could check availability and book online.

That said, the reception staff were polite and helpful. And the breakfast were fantastic!

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The staff and the breakfast!
  • Disliked — Tired decor in reception
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mellte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    123
    92
    53
    66
See reviews for
102
127
22
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2007

This is the second time I've been booked into this hotel. I arrived before dark this time though and noticed that there is a gym complex next door that guests can use. I hadn't brought any kit, so can't comment on that section of the hotel.

There were no reception staff there when I arrived, as they were coping with a "rush" of customers and were serving meals in the Dining Room. One did arrive eventually and I checked in before heading out for dinner (not wishing to wait in a queue).

The room allocated was on the second floor, faced the rear of the hotel (i.e. not the sea) and was ok. It was clean enough, quiet enough, there was a heater in case the night turned cold, and sufficient refreshments (no biscuits though)

However, the room was small and lacking in lighting - there were two sidelights on tables beside the bed, but neither light had a light bulb in! This meant a trip to the room door to turn out the main light and a return to bed in the dark. The ironing board provided (good), folded onto the bed (not so good) and so the bed had to be nudged to allow the board to open flat.

A notice on the back of the bathroom door did warn that hot water took a few minutes to arrive and this proved to be true. I'm never happy running away gallons of water like this though - I'd suggest the owners fit an instant water heater to solve this problem.

So it was a nice enough stay, and the staff were friendly, but there is nothing exceptional about this hotel and the few minor niggles were enough to make me think about trying somewhere else in Aberystywth next time I go there.

  • Liked — Quiet room
  • Disliked — Slack maintenance.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clancolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2007

We have stayed at the Marine on a number of times.It has been our fortunate experience to always have a most comfortable, clean and well serviced room.Food in the restaurant was both appealing and appetising There was an excellent choice of breakfasts and ample choice on the dinner menu. Reception and service have been both friendly and courteous. On our last recent visit my wife was recuperating after a major operation and both staff and management did their utmost to make our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible

  • Disliked — limited parking spaces
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pedrorblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

Myself and my wife booked this hotel on the basis of the attractive website promising refurbished, comfortable en-suite bedrooms, at £80 per night that was the least we expected. We were housed on the third floor in what are basically attic rooms. The size is approximately eleven feet square with a section taken out for the en-suite. There are two headboards attached to the wall one for a single bed and the other for a double, the intention presumably being to alter the bed configuration. The "double bed" was made up of two single divan bases giving a six foot wide bed with a four foot six headboard to one side. The TV was so old that it wasn't designed to have a remote control. The volume switch (hardly a knob) was touch sensitive moving from inaudible to excessively noisy literally on touching the control. There was a foldaway ironing board in the room with electric iron, the insulated flex of which was drawn back three quarters of an inch exposing the three coloured cables. The shower had discoloured and mouldy grouting and the electric kettle was on the floor next to the bed. The TV and table lamp were connected to a four socket extension with the six foot extension cable trailing down the opposite wall. The promised dial-up internet connection proved to be another disappointment, on enquiring I was told the "line is down" A most uncomfortable room with too little space. Should you choose to have the, “home cooked traditional food” you will find it is of cafeteria quality at restaurant prices, they advertise that you can have it served in your room for a “small fee.” £5 that is, dining in this room would have meant one person sat on the bed and the other in the chair.
On making our comments known on leaving the hotel we were informed, “No one has complained before.”
I suggest you read the other reviews some people seem to have an excellent experience and others the worst, do you really want to take a chance?

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Health and safety issues
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Geoff1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

We booked a double and single room for one night stay. We requested that the rooms be on the same floor - they turned out to be the attic rooms - we were looking forward to the views!
After checking in we went to our rooms and were completely suprised to find the double room had broken furniture, a filthy shower, no remote for the TV, the bed not attached to the headboard - in fact the bed was at least six inches away. We also had a 6 legged visitor (cockroach like) to which the owner could not drag himself away from his drink so sent his barman instead. He then informed us that we should expect that sort of thing by the coast !
The single room was no bigger than a box room, very dark and once again a filthy shower. The next morning it was found that there was no hot water available from the basin, because there was no way the shower was going to be used.
We did have our evening meal in the hotel restaurant, after seeing the rooms we should have put two and two together ....
dirty tablecloth, staff that didn't know what they were doing and then we were served what looked like a TV dinner that had been heated in a microwave (the hotel even has the cheek to have a "Taste of Wales" sticker in their front window)
We made our observations known, especially regarding the price we were charged for the two rooms, when we checked out. Did not get much concern from the receptionist.
This experience is not going to be repeated, this hotel should not be allowed to run until attitudes, cleanliness and catering are completely overhauled.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Crozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2007

We stayed in a first floor sea view double room which was large, clean and very comfortable. Bay window overlooking the beach had 2 reclining chairs which was great for relaxing with a bottle of wine watching the lovely views.

Buffet breakfast was excellent and the restaurant staff were friendly and attentive. The reception staff were also welcoming and obliging.

The rooms were cleaned every day and clean towels were provided daily.

The hotel is more expensive then other hotels in Aber however the views are amazing.

This is the 4th time i have stayed at the Marine and would stay again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ComeonyouBulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2007

Stayed 2 nights 9 & 10 June 2007. Should have left after 1st night.
Was Charged £70 for a sea view room with breakfast for 2 people.
Room was in the attic, measured 11ft x 11ft with a corner cut out for a shower room.(which is another story)
Room contained a double bed (which was falling to pieces), a single bed, a dressing table and small wardrobe. (not easy (nay, impossible) to move around in the minute space avaible).There was a 18 inch 'skylight' window.
weather was really hot and room had no air so it was REALLY STUFFY.
The stool to the dressing table was missing a foot and was positively DANGEROUS, the remote for the TV was missing. We informed reception of the missing remote and the dangerous stool but nothing happened.
Cleanliness of whole hotel left a lot to be desired.
NEVER any senior staff available. Staff that were available were just not interested in their guests.
Only positive side to our stay here was the breakfast, which was really good.
Would not recommend this hotel, in fact we would suggest you give this place a very wide berth.

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — the room and service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mayday_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty'r Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty'r Marine Hotel

Property: Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Address: | Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty'r Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Gwesty'r Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales
Marine Hotel Aberystwyth
Hotel Gwesty r Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing