We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Richmond Hotel(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Four Seasons Hotel(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queensbridge Hotel(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gwesty Cymru(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Harry's Hotel(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plas Antaron Hotel(Aberystwyth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
96
138
109
61
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
138
109
61
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbuffet styleseafront locationsunday lunchwould stay againlovely roombreakfast was excellentbit datedsingle roomcooked breakfastcarveryironpromrear
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2013

There's a fine line between "shabby chic" and just plain "shabby" - the Marine has one foot either side of the line.

The rooms in the older part of the hotel are fairly well equipped and pretty comfortable (nice beds), but very small. If your plans involve cat-swinging, you'll be very disappointed. Rooms on the front of the hotel have a sea view in their favour - otherwise you're overlooking the car park and other properties' garages. Rooms in the newer annex at the back are a bit larger (but not much), but lack the character and warmth of the rooms in the older part of the building.


I suggest getting down early for breakfast - all the hot food is out on a buffet, with the usual attendant issues (rubber eggs, beans with a skin on top, nothing as hot as it should be).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed at the Marine for one night in a twin room - the room was clean and relatively modern, lovely large TV and a sea view- who could ask for more? The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly, and the buffet style breakfast was plentiful and tasty- just what I needed after a night out. Considering the price, this B&B is excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian_Davies88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel on the 26th and 27th April for our wedding anniversary. My husband was at the university a lot of years ago and wanted to go back to 'kick the bar' and visit some of his student haunts, most of which were still there. We stayed in room 111 which was lovely with a lovely bay window and view across the prom. The bonus was the window opened so we could sit in the warm listening to the sea. The bathroom was ok, lots of mirrors, smashing shower and a noisy spa bath if you wanted to use it. The hair dryer was a bit far away from the mirror, but any faults were minor niggles made up for by the very comfortable four poster bed, it was bliss. We missed breakfast on Saturday because we were so comfortable we slept through the 9.30 finish, a bit early for the weekend we thought. So far so good, and I would return, just making sure there wasn't a wedding party in the function room below. There was on the 27th and the bass was so loud the floor in our room was rocking, the bedside tables moved and there was no way we could get to sleep before it finally ended at 0015. Over an hour, I tried to ring reception 4 times but there was no reply. When we complained in the morning that we had not been told about the wedding and that the noise was unacceptable, the manager asked why we hadn't rung reception. When we told him we had on several occasions his response was that he had been there all the time and we should have rung the bar. He was fully aware that the disco had been very loud and that anyone in room 111 would have been disturbed, but that no one else had complained. At this point another guest just checking out said that he had been disturbed by the loud bass which had moved furniture in his room. We secured a small reduction in the price of our stay but this was done very begrudgingly. It's a shame the manager didn't seem very effective mumbling that he couldn't do anything else without speaking to his boss and made us feel that the whole thing was our fault.
As I say it was a shame, we'd enjoyed the comfort of our room ,the breakfast we had on Sunday was plentiful and tasty served in a lovely light ballroom with very attentive staff, the location on the front is second to none with plenty of free parking, just check about any functions that might affect your stay.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

stayed at the"Marine"for a couple of nights-bit of a dinosaur,needs a refurb..had a room with bay window looking over the prom/sea so very pleasant outlook and room wasnt actually too bat atall..breakfast was actually pretty decent,waitress service from a very pretty Polish lady,so a bonus!..overall despite having definately seen better days not too bad.

Room Tip: take a sea-view with a bay window,seem to be the better rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Needs an overhaul. Room was large but very dated and the 'en-suite' was so narrow if you turned round there was a real danger of grazing your elbows as you spun round. The two bedside lamps had no plugs nearby so I had to borrow an extension lead from work to power them up. The kettle didn't work either and I had to 'borrow' one from the vacant but open room next door. And the walls must be made of rice paper - some miscreants stayed for a weekend and were so noisy and vile I would have gladly disemboweled them. The guests only kitchen area in the basement was a god idea if you're working late and want to cook your own food BUT it was hardly used as it was fairly disgusting - un-emptied rubbish bag, flying bugs and some rotting milk in the fridge which must have been left by plague victims. No, it just won't do.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews