We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst night I've ever had in a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst night I've ever had in a hotel”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed 2nights in total, the first night was lovely so we decided to stay a second night. What a mistake, the 2nd night a large group of father and sons arrived. They were friendly and the children were well behaved to start with but once the booze started flowing that all changed. The fathers got rather rowdy and the more drunk they got the more they lost control of their kids. we went to bed around 11pm and the kids were running up and down the hotel corridors, shouting banging on doors and generally making a lot of noise with the parents no where to be seen. the only member of staff was the young lad who worked on the bar, nice chap but he was way out of his depth when it came controlling the residents. eventually the kids started to behave after my wife gave them an ear full, we managed to finally get to sleep. Then at 2am one of the little darlings set of the fire alarm, we had to assemble in the lobby waiting to find out if the fire was real or not, the staff didn't know what was going on which didn't help and it wasn't nice being surrounded by the now very drunk fathers.
on check out the next morning the girl on the desk seemed indifferent to the awful stay we'd had, she didn't offer an apology or and money of the nights stay.
I love Aberystwyth but will NEVER be staying at this hotel again... avoid at all cost

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kosul454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    123
    94
    56
    66
See reviews for
103
132
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for one night in Aberystwyth and booked at Gwesty'r Marine after doing an internet search.

The greeting on arrival was friendly and our room was comfortable with a sea view which we requested and a jacuzzi bath which we did not request but did what it said on the box. Unfortunately, although we asked for a room with Wifi, our room did not have that service. We enjoyed our dinner and breakfast where the food was just what we would have expected with a good choice on the menu and Welsh brands where possible.

The hotel does not claim to be anything other than work in progress, and clearly there is some way to go. However, the downstairs - foyer, bar and reception area - is well laid out and extremely welcoming. However, in some areas there are some simple, cheap cosmetic changes that could be undertaken that would improve the guest experience.

We enjoyed our stay and would go back.

Room Tip: If you want Wifi, you should ensure you ask for it and get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

On a 14 day trip at the welsh coast (mostly Cardigan bay) Aberystwyth was in many ways the absolute contrast to all the other perfect impressions & experiences.
Gwesty'r Marine was with a good interspace the most expensive B&B we had. We did not get a room in the main building, we had one in another house in the same row. Breakfast was served in the main building. We were on the upper floor. A bit narrow the staircase. No elevator.
Let's name some good points: the staff is friendly, competent and helpful. All of them.
The Promenade is "the" place to be. Central and not too noisy.
The breakfast has a very rich bufet with everthing you can ask for. (Maybe a bit more fresh fruit.) It is served in a large, large ball room.
Negative: limited space for cars although there should be ample space as we were told. One of the lots was occupied by one of the staff. When he went I was lucky.
No WiFi in that house, I had to move to the main one, sit in the lounge. Not a bad place if there had not been a hughe wedding party.
Just hot water for the basin, no cold one. (The reception was surprised and promised that it would be fixed asap. I do believe they will do.) Anyway - the shower had both.
The room was very small for a twin.
The bathroom was designed for dwarfs. (We are just average.)
The window was fixed with lower amateur standard. Just a piece of wood to keep it in position.
When looking at my bed I could have gone seasick. (Luckily I am a sailor and can manage to sleep even on a small boat at beaufort 8.)
So it is a bit of a journey back in time. Late sixties I suggest.
After all: Aberystwyth is very popular. The rates are higher as in places like Cardigan or Criccieth. So it is up to you: looking for a crowded place with all the benefits like pier, promenade, shops, bars, pubs and so on - there might be worse places like the Marine.
If you tend to be more up-to-date or love individuality: choose another destiny.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeLoew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A tired example of Welsh seafront hotel but no doubt one of the best in the area. The range of rooms is tremendous and would probably be most suitable as a good cut-price holiday stop. Some of our group had decently sized rooms overlooking the seafront but ours was a garret with an en suite shower, toilet and washbasin the size of a normal WC. Crammed into a small bedroom was a double bed and a single bed pushed hard against the wall with a gap of less than 1 foot between them. We have no idea how the rooms were allocated but more than one of our travelling companions asked for a change. It could very well have been the pressure of a coach load of travellers descending all at once. We would never have booked a room of that size, although tea-making facilities were available and we slept well. To see the sea, it meant climbing into a dormer window alcove and perching yourself on a shelf.

Food was basic yet plentiful, but I have never had to queue up for my sweet to be served up by a member of staff in any hotel that I have visited.

Room Tip: Check the type of room that is on offer when you ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discovery47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I booked 2 twin rooms over the phone. When we arrived we were given a room with 2 single and a double bed. The en-suite we were told about was non-existent. The jacuzzi and facilities were unavailable due to it 'missing parts.' We asked to change rooms but were told we would have to pay more even though it was their mistake. They blamed in on a new receptionist. We were given a refund and told they would have no problem filling the room that night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

A welcoming first impression at the reception desk . Our room was smallish but had everything we needed including an ironing board ! My wife was really happy sitting in the bay window watching the world go by on the Prom and the sun setting over the sea - so was I !

Legendary buffet breakfast with great staff looking after every need .

Decent car parking and if you have left your phone charger at home the reception desk have a range available !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiethandcandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

me & my other half stay here for a 3 day break every year.we always have an enjoyable stay, nice rooms,nice friendly staff & brilliant food, cannot fault the place it's always a joy to go back.so if you want a really nice hotel then this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barleyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty'r Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty'r Marine Hotel

Property: Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Address: | Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty'r Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gwesty'r Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales
Marine Hotel Aberystwyth
Hotel Gwesty r Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing