We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Excellent although difficult Car Park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gwesty'r Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Food Excellent although difficult Car Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Although we booked late the staff was very helpful although there were two double beds the evening meal which we booked was exceptional and breakfast very good. These were the positives an it was on the seafront but there was no sea view

The negatives were the car park and the bill was wrong as they had charged for mushrooms and the room could have been better

Room Tip: Make sure you get there early to park the car
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    121
    90
    53
    66
See reviews for
102
124
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
powys, wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

we stayed here 25th may 2014
rooms comfy and great view of the sea
atmosphere great and staff cannot do enough for you
the breakfast is great buffet style and plenty to choose from
the evening meal choice is great and the portions are large

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westkirby
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful dog friendly hotel.
Nice large room with a choice of a double bed,a single bed or bunks! Large bathroom area,all nice and clean.
We just fancied a break somewhere different, with the dog and we were all made very welcome thanks.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mandymf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel and was greeted by a lovely lady at reception. We arrived to our room to find a dirty toilet and many of the facilities not working, which I was quite disappointed with after paying a decent amount to stay there! Next morning we went down to have breakfast greeted by a rude woman in reception and sat down to a cold hard and un warmly breakfast!!! Will not be recommending this place in a hurry! Over rated a big let down.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ej82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Really pleased with his hotel. Good sea facing room with view over bay, and excellent dinner on the two nights we stayed. Small car park at back which was tight to exit. Value for money. Really friendly waiting on staff.

Room Tip: Sea facing is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed recently (before the storms) at the Hotel whilst visiting the University.

Reception was warm but it had a very out of season feeling.

The room was tired with a very poor view of the car park (perhaps thats what you get with Boohing.com)

The bar empty and Beer poor.

But an excellent breakfast served by the friendliest of staff.

But allin all very average

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chim881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Well. We were visiting aberystwyth for a wedding. On arriving at the hotel, there was no warm welcome and initially appeared some confusion with our booking. When we were given our keys we were not pointed in which direction to go for stairs or lift or told which floor we were on. The hotel appeared clean and reception area was modern. Once in our room it was clean and styled well and we had a sea view - bonus. It was small but that was not too much of an issue. Had on suite shower room with toilet - was clean. Issue with toilet as it was very close to wall so made going to the loo alittle tricky. Bed was v comfy and slept well. Breakfast room was nice and the breakfast it self was lush. Waiter guy was also v pleasent and cheerful. Bar staff were lovely. And prices werent too high. Bar area was a bit dated but again clean. Some parking which was v useful and situated v close to shops. I would stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
11.7 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty'r Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty'r Marine Hotel

Property: Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Address: | Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty'r Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gwesty'r Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales
Marine Hotel Aberystwyth
Hotel Gwesty r Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing