We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked an "apartment" with Marine hotel. We ended up with a cupboard that was filthy, worn and damp!! Only one bed when it should of been a twin room. Second "bed" was a worn out sofa with no bedding!
No tv no towels
Avoid avoid avoid

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monkeyboy9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    127
    99
    57
    66
See reviews for
106
137
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked a deluxe room with a Seaview. The room was rather small,and were upset the jacuzzi bath didn't work.We thought it was expensive £135.00 for Bed and Breakfast.the breakfast was nice though .but the room should have been more classy for the money,as we have stayed in a lot of hotels and expected more for our money.room was very dated.

Room Tip: Deluxe not worth the money we will ask to see the room next time when we book in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you like loads of meat at the carver on a Sunday this is the place to go! You can have 3 courses - I had a starter which was a buffet well stocked with nice food including smoked salmon. Main was good for meat Lamb, Beef, Turkey, & Pork + all the trimmings. Vegetables poor not well presented and looked a little tired. Desserts looked good prices reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent a weekend in Aberystwyth recently and found it full of lovely and unexpected surprises. We needed to accommodate 3 employees whilst we undertook some work locally. The manager at the Marine Hotel very obligingly found them a good sized room, which they were really pleased with. The hotel was spotlessly clean, as was the room, very spacious with all facilities you need. The breakfasts were astounding. There is a huge restaurant with a fantastic hot and cold buffet with loads of choice. As we were checking out we saw the Sunday lunch buffet and it was incredible, every joint imaginable, and it smelled amazing!

The manager and staff at the hotel really were obliging and nothing was too much trouble, they recommended a few restaurants to us and places to visit which was very useful on a short trip such as ours. We found this was the case everywhere we went. The town itself has some really superb eateries and one or two really good shops. And it is so clean everywhere!!

We really wished we were staying longer in Aberystwyth, a delightful town of great character, and really friendly people.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Now I don't mind being woken up by a fire alarm in my hotel room, I suppose it is better than burning to a crisp but one morning while attending The Abertoir Horror Film Festival 2013 that was what happened. Nobody was at hand to deactivate the alarm someone had to ring up the owner/manager to get instructions to do do.

The wi fi was non existent in rooms either therefore if you wanted wi fi you had to come down to the lobby to access it.

Also most of the week there was no buffet at breakfast so had to tell the waiter not to include food I did not like, it was not bad but it was not particularly good either.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My partner and I booked this hotel as a last minute break on the bank holiday weekend. The only room available was a deluxe one with a jacuzzi bath. I did look forward to getting into the bath!!!
The view from our room was fantastic. We had a huge bay window overlooking the sea. This was the only thing that was of deluxe standard.
We were grossly overcharged for £120 for one night and breakfast. The bathtub, although lovely when in it, was about a cm away from the wall and hadn't seen sealed properly. The bed was coming to pieces, four poster would soon become a pile of bearings on the floor. It was not sturdy or kept in good condition. Half of the bars were unattached. The staff were quite helpful, the man in the breakfast room was unfaultable. His service and dedication to his job was unimaginable. He would bring items to our table and make sure we'd have enough, telling us the local area. His smile kept us smiling all day. Give this man a promotion please!!!


When booking, we were told the Hotel had a small car park. It was not until we got there that there definition of small actually meant 3 spaces. Had to park quite far away and move it first thing on Monday morning (parking restrictions apply Monday to Saturday). Would of been nice if the receptionist would of been more upfront about the car parking at the time of booking, we would of most likely still stayed but been more prepared.

Felt overcharged, considering for an extra £20 we could of been in the Raddisson, Cardiff (i understand that these places are from two completely different worlds). Would of not liked to of even seen the rooms that were not "duluxe"!! Would of been given a "good" if Hotel would keep up maintained (sealing the bath, new bed) and much better value for money needed here.

Room Tip: Only choose deluxe...beautiful views...we wouldnt of wanted to stay in anything worse than this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Yeah the view was brilliant - but that all this hotel has to offer. The staff were moderately friendly. I paid £110 for apparently a ''Deluxe room'' - which was meant to have a bathtub (special occasion as it was my partners 29th, and we've had a very rough year, this was meant to be a nice romantic get away). No bathtub, Shower wasn't exactly great because it was broken and you had to hold the shower head up. Bars of soap was not enough to clean yourself and wasn't kind to the skin. The room was so so small for a deluxe room. Yes the view was brilliant. but instead of a double or kingsize bed - which either would have been fine it was 2 single beds pushed together with a gap in between which made it uncomfy - hardly romantic!!! Was very very disappointed, for £50 Yes it would have been 4/5 stars - but for £110 i am gutted i paid this much. Also no guest book in the hotel room so missed breakfast as i thought it ended at 10am but it ended at 9.30 and i came down at 9.15. Not happy. Staff were not overly friendly either. Over priced. and not very good. DO NOT STAY HERE it is a rip off. For a deluxe room...yeah right! More like a box room. Not a happy customer. I've had nicer rooms at holiday inn express budgets!!! seriously. Crap crap crap!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jewelsju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
428 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
331 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
506 reviews
11.7 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty'r Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty'r Marine Hotel

Property: Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Address: | Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty'r Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gwesty'r Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales
Marine Hotel Aberystwyth
Hotel Gwesty r Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing