We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Reviewed 6 August 2014

First, we would have liked to rate this "Good" as it falls between 'Very Good' and 'Average' which are the only Trip Advisor choice buttons. We were an early evening walk in and were offered a seafront room for £80 by a welcoming receptionist - excellent value for the view and the wide choice at breakfast. The room was OK in terms of size, spotlessly clean, and although the décor was straight out of the 1970s, it was thoughtfully done, with two comfy chairs in the bay window. Our only slight quibble was the curtains were not blackout and the all-night glow from the streetlight right outside was somewhat intrusive.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room - the sunsets are amazing.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girassol2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a lodge for one night for 6 of us that cost £150. When we got there the place hadnt been cleaned at all. The bins were overflowing with rubbish. Loads of old beer cans outside. The sink was blocked with food and the worktops were a state. None of the bed sheets had been changed from the previous people that stayed there. There were still dirty towels on the floor. There was no hot water or central heating either. Also one of the single beds were broken. If your thinking about booking here then dont.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aj1soad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I went to stay at the marine hotel as it was a colleagues wedding in a nearby hotel it was a lovely hotel right on the sea front nice facilities fantastic buffet breakfast would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying there. One thing to be careful though do not pay for a sea view until you see the room as we asked for one and they gave us a room without one but our room was great anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Willis1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I've paid £125 per one night towards the end of July which seemed a bit too expensive.

The bed was spacious and comfortable. Also, we had a view towards the sea which was nice but I found the window to be so tiny that it made the view seem somehow less impressive. The room was rather on the small side as well which made the £125 spent not very worthy.

However, overall the stay was pleasant. There was a very nice blonde girl, from Slovakia, who was a member of the staff and she was very friendly and welcoming.

I've also ordered a Sea bass priced around £15 but it was actually very good value for money; it came with three types of potatoes (I don't really know why, but they brought wedges, boiled potatoes and roasted potatoes with it) along with a lot of vegetables and a salad.

I would recommend this hotel compared to others in town due to its location and good food but you won't be that impressed if you are used to travelling and have a lot of other hotels to compare to.

Room Tip: Obviously, try to get a room with sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleinad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel with my family during graduation week. Overall it was a pleasant stay: The rooms were clean and spacious, if a bit old fashioned, with the most amazing sea views. The hotel is very close to town, but far enough from the busy pubs for a peaceful nights sleep. Breakfast was also very good, however they ran out of mushrooms by 9am - seemed to be plenty of everything else though! Only thing I would note is that the bathrooms were very small; in the family room it was tiny and cramped with only room for one person at the sink. Rooms could also be modernized.
As far as British sea side hotels go it is a good one, and reasonably priced, therefore I would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Anything with a sea view!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sofia191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I would like to provide feed back on our stay at this hotel!

overall experience: unpleasant!
Room:
Smelt of smoking - unable to open window to more than 20cm opening to create airing and get air in to remediate!

Tiny double room - no space to move. overcrowded with desk, wardrobe and chairs
- please move some of it - not necessary - space is more important in a minimal room like that.

Bathroom: shower OK but doors damaged so water everywhere - MOULD! cracked tiles!

When other rooms used hot water there was lots of loud pipe noises!

Reception staff, unhelpful and uninterested. No supply of essential toiletries available even at a price for guests who have forgotten essentials.

Breakfast: substantial amount, however quality poor . cleanliness doubtful. would not eat there again.

Over priced and certainly does not deserve the 8+ score which made us book. Will never stay there again !!!

Room Tip: I would like to provide feed back on our stay at this hotel! overall experience: unpleasant! Roo...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pashnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our visit was very enjoyable let down only by lack of attention to detail. The location on the sea front is excellent and we watched two glorious sunsets from our room. The room and the bed were comfortable and there was a good size bathroom which contrasted very well with the "wardrobes" that pass for bathrooms in some hotels.
When we saw the breakfast was buffet style we feared the worst, but were pleasantly supplied as the quality, variety and freshness of the cooked food was very good.
We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and it was a comedy of errors only the friendliness of the waitresses prevented it from being a disaster. There was a fairly long delay in getting our food yet we were served before some guests who were already there when we went into the restaurant. My wife asked for some tartare sauce - apparently that was only available in the bar! We ate in the bar on the second day - here the food seemed much better and again the staff were friendly and helpful.
Car parking can be a problem especially in high season. The hotel has very limited parking available so you have to take your chance with street parking.
With the exception of the reception staff everyone was warm and friendly and tried hard to be helpful. The reception staff can only be described as clinically efficient without giving you a warm welcome. On checking out we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay and had everything been OK. Training needed here me thinks.
Attention to some of these minor details would make this a much better experience. Would we go back - yes because the advantages outweigh the problems.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty'r Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty'r Marine Hotel

Address: | Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £89 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty'r Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gwesty'r Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales
Marine Hotel Aberystwyth
Hotel Gwesty r Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing