We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful service and food only ok” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Other Place - CLOSED

The Other Place
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awful service and food only ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

It took 40 minutes to deliver 2 meals .. I panini and 1 goats cheese on toast, and this only after a polite enquiry if it was on its way. The restaurant was not busy and was well staffed it just appeared they were more interested in other tasks such as bringing out clean glasses from the kitchen.
When the meals did arrive which incidentally they did immediately after the enquiry, they appeared to have been hanging around somewhere, another tables meals appeared immediately too as if this sudden prompt had reminded the waitress to look.
The goats cheese with beet root on toast was "interesting" as I for some reason had expected fresh beetroot (never assume) it was pickled so the vinegar which had soaked into the bread was unexpected, not in a good way.

The panini though was good so from a food front it was a 50/50 , drinks fine. I have to say the previous reviews for this place were good so we must have just struck it unlucky. We are not picky diners as a rule.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    6
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Michael G”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Visited the Other Place for a business lunch last Friday and had fish & chips and a home made cake afterwards. Food was nice and well presented and service was quick yet friendly. I also felt relaxed here as the ambiance was warm and hospitable. The prices are also very reasnable. I do not come to Aberystwyth very often but when i do i would happily return to the Other Place, forgot to mention the coffee was also lovely. I rarely give an excellent rating, but really cannot find much wrong with this friendly cafe/restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Truly enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Went to the 'other place' on a busy saturday night. The atmosphere was relaxing. All the staff seemed switched on running a good operation. Despite the fact the restaurant was full the wait was responsible. The food was brilliant, well cooked, enjoyable and best of all well priced. We will definitely be returning for another evening soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capel Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place should really be more popular than what it is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Visited 'The other place' on a busy evening in Aberystwyth, when all other restaurants were full, we were the only ones in this place.
The waiter was very attentive, knew the menu inside out and even accommodated our special dietary needs with no hesitations.
The atmosphere was calm, relaxed with some great tunes, the food was great and it was reasonably priced.
I loved 'The other place' and think that more local people should visit it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SerDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Excellent food - wonderful homemade chips, and the trout extremely well cooked. Very pleasant staff and the experience was a lovely end to our holiday. We will be back next year! Thank you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Other Place also viewed

Ponterwyd, Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing