We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”
Review of The Starling Cloud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Starling Cloud
Ranked #15 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Have stayed in a few hotels around Aberystwyth, none of which have been that great except for Gwesty Cymru, so wasnt sure what to expect. A newish hotel, the rooms are good, nice and quiet and plenty of parking. Restaurant is close by with a decent enough menu but staff might need a bit more training as they missed a meal from our table which meant it arrived as everyone else was finishing their meal... Not good! Also dont like the fact that to book into the 'hotel' you have to go to reception which is in the restaurant by the bar, not good when it is busy and you are pulling suitcases etc with you

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suitcasecarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have just returned from a three days and two nights mini break to Aberystwyth and used the Starling Cloud as our base, it was clean comfortable and good value for money.We had a wonderful few days walking and relaxing in the local countryside and returned each night to a lovely evening meal and woke each morning to a suberb breakfast,the staff were friendly and eager to help even tho they were extremely busy. Please pass on our thanks to all your staff we had a lovely time being looked after by you

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I've never given a really negative rating before but an excellent experience in the hotel was negated the next morning. Check in was not a great experience but the room was superb. Wish all hotel rooms were as good as this.

The next day was an experience from hell. Three people 'serving' us but we waited 25 minutes for our cooked meal with 3 other tables arriving after us served before us. The toast I ordered straight away never arrived, the food was cool, overlooked and greasy. I ordered bacon sausage, tomato and mushrooms but no tomato came. I had to ask for more coffee and we never got a single smile the whole visit. I did complain to the manageress after 15 minutes but she failed to make sure we were properly helped. How often this type of hotel is let down but sub-standard catering and poorly trained staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gw1pcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed at The Starling Cloud with my daughter at the weekend. Double Room was modern, spacious and very clean. Accomodation is short walk across car park from the pub so no noise from the bar.
The restaurant was very busy at around 8pm but were seated and served quickly. Food similar to your Brewers Fayre type pubs.
Would highly recommend if stopping over in Aber!! No complaints!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evsmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel was great for an overnight business trip.

We arrived late and they do stop checking in after 10pm so we did have to call to say we would be late and they did confirm this would be ok.

The room was clean, comfortable and had a tv with all the freeview channels on.

The room was also in a quiet location and had a great night sleep. There is also free wifi in all the rooms which was a massive plus!

The breakfast in the morning was lovely you can order a cooked breakfast with whatever you like. They do also have cereal. The staff however were the only thing letting this hotel down.

Overall a lovely hotel and would recommend to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11S1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Similar to Premier Inn but with better breakfast. Rooms were as expected, adequate but no frills and were in a separate block across the car park. This has both advantages and disadvantages dependent on the weather etc. Not been to Aberystwyth for well over 40 years so did not know what to expect hotel wise especially with the damage that the storms had done over the winter so chose the Starling Cloud as it was out of the direct line of fire. The evening meal was very ordinary pub type food and without anything to write home about it wasn't expensive however, but probably would go elsewhere to eat for the evening meal. Breakfast was better and service was ok while we were there but it wasn't that busy. There were table that had been vacated and remained uncleaned the whole time we were having our breakfast. Selection of cerieals etc was limited but the main cooked part of the breakfast was good with as much drinks and toast as you wish. You have to pay up front for the room and pay for all drinks, meals etc as you go. This can be a bit tiresome but it dose mean that there is no checkout required, just deposit your key in the box as you leave. We went back to our room after breakfast to clean teeth and collect our last few bits and pieces only to find the cleaners had entered to room, put the tv on, stripped the beds and left the door open. It would appear that there is no system to check that a guest has left before the rooms are cleaned etc. The real fire in the dining room is a nice touch in the winter. Reasonable value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel provided what I expected in the form of a clean, comfortable and modern hotel room. This is something that seems to be lacking in Aberystwyth. The hotel is only a short walk from the town and railway station and another reasonable walk from a Mcdonalds and Morrisions supermarket. The morning breakfast was reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjl599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
323 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
364 reviews
2.7 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
516 reviews
1.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Starling Cloud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Starling Cloud

Address: Parc y Llyn Retail Park | Boulevard St Brieuc, Aberystwyth SY23 3TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £55 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of marston's newly built pubs. The Starling Cloud in Aberystwyth is on the main road into the historic town. It's close to the train station which is only a ten minute walk away, and a short stroll from the main promenade and land mark pier. Enjoy our fantastic rotisserie cooked chicken and our other tasty options - children can also enjoy our great kids menu. We offer our famous hand pull bitters alongside a wide range of draught ales and drinks. We have an indoor children's play area so parents can dine and watch their children having fun.With a secure outside child's play area, ample outdoor seating and Large car park we welcome customers to enjoy what we have to offer. Alongside of this, we have a 27 room lodge, from family rooms, doubles and ground floor accessible rooms. Whether you are on your holidays, visiting family, at the university or on business, the Starling Cloud is for you! Free wifi is always available so why not come along and visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Starling Cloud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Starling Cloud Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing