We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for a flying visit”
Review of The Starling Cloud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Starling Cloud
Ranked #13 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Starling Cloud is exactly what Aberystwyth has needed for several years! Something a little different to the (dare I say) slightly old fashioned vibe of the established hotels.
It's cheap, comfortable, clean and quiet. Basically it's a Premier Inn standard room for a really good price. If you need a bolt hole for the night while visiting a student (as we were!) then it is perfect.
The only thing to note is that the reception desk is in the bar in a separate building across the car park - the building with the hotel rooms can only be accessed with a swipe card once you've checked in.
I can't comment on breakfast as we overslept and didn't make it! I think that speaks for the comfort of the bed though!
We are actually returning this week (two separate trips across Wales in one week, must be mad), and this time we're planning to try the breakfast!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back so traffic noise was slim to none (just the odd car leaving the car park).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

The perfect Hotel to spend a weekend in Aberystwyth . If you are looking for a place close to town this is perfect only ten minutes walk to the High Street.The rooms are very clean plenty of towels and hot water. fresh bottled water and good biscuits a nice touch. We had a meal in the reasturant good menu choice and nice young people waiting on a very pleasant atmosphere. our breakfast was good fresh mushrooms and tomatoes hash browns. All served with a smile. Would book again if in the area. we stopped on the second floor slept like a log no banging doors or loud music.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is actually a lodge attached to a Marston's pub. The reception is in the pub itself, but the lodge is across the car park. Rooms are comfortable, but not overly large. The on suite is snug. Breakfasts are taken in the adjacent pub and are first class. The menu is limited to a cooked breakfast, of the type usually found in these places, with some cereals and croissants. Service is very good and the food is well cooked.

Room Tip: Only about 300 yards from the Vale of Rheidol railway and close to the town centre. All rooms are re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malc-H-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked 3 double rooms for a friday to sunday stay, as going to a family wedding in the town. We arrived at lunch time and checked in swiftly and given our room keys, the rooms were very clean and bright, bottled water and tea/coffee and biscuit facilities were a nice touch. The bathroom was clean with nice white fluffy towels. We ate in the restaurant on the friday night, and the food was ok, what you would expect for pub grub. Breakfast was served in the pub, but unfortunately we were not told where to get cereals etc from which we could not see from where we were seated, more info would have been good from the staff. We ordered cooked breakfast it seemed very under cooked and anemic, could have done with some browning to the sausage etc, second morning we asked for sos etc to be cooked longer and the staff obliged. All in all I would recommend this hotel for a couple of nights stop over, if your in the area, it very much reminded us of a premier inn the way the rooms were set out etc. Over all a pleasant stay, with comfortable beds and very clean rooms, and at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just come back from staying here for two nights, We found it a pleasure to stay here, the hotel was clean, roomy, always had plenty of clean towels ,toiletries etc.
On our first night we ate in the pub with the hotel, as it was very busy we thought we would struggle to get a table as there were 6 of us, but can I say the staff were absolutely tremendous, nothing was too much trouble for any of them, we had a wonderful meal, with great service the staff kept coming back to check if all was ok and if we needed anything else, (Drinks etc).
After the first nights meal, we all decided to eat there again the second night, and can I say it was the same service as the first night, fabulous, we found all the staff to be courteous, friendly and very welcoming.
We all commented that we could not believe that all the time the staff spent there, their attitudes did not change at all.
We would also like to say to Gemma, well done for all your hard work.
Marstons should be very proud of this establishment, very hard working staff keeping the reputation of your company alive.
Well done all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickP107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here as a family of five ( thus booked 2 rooms) after climbing Snowdon that day and used this location as a stopover on way to South Wales. We were called at 22:50 and asked in a curt manner, where were we? I explained we would be there shortly and supposed they were worried about a lost booking etc. on arriving at 23:00 the reception was inside the adjoining pub. The senior staff member seemed more intent on getting a group of guests to drink up and leave as they needed to close. I suspect our phone call was for the same reason....
The rooms were very well decorated and very clean. The bottled water etc was very well received but I don't understand why if you book a room for three, there are only two if everything!
The tv didn't work-not a real prob, but the generator outside the room nearest the pub kept us all awake. Breakfast was a poor show-we were directed to a buffet bar which was bereft of pastries, fruit and juices. We thus ordered a cooked breakfast which was wrong and finally we were served stone cold, stewed tea in one pot! This may just be a bad day at the office for a normally good place, but I would never stay here again. I mentioned these probs to the manageress who appeared to take our concerns on board.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night here to break up a (long!) journey to mid wales with our two small children.
The accommodation was separate to the pub in an adjacent block and was really clean and comfortable and had nice extras like bottles of water and biscuits.
Breakfast is served in the pub restaurant and was nice. All the hot food is cooked to order and was tasty (though I only had bacon, hash brown and tomatoes so can't vouch for anything else).
Staff were pleasant throughout.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank JennyM9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
327 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
496 reviews
1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Starling Cloud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Starling Cloud

Address: Parc y Llyn Retail Park | Boulevard St Brieuc, Aberystwyth SY23 3TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £49 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of marston's newly built pubs. The Starling Cloud in Aberystwyth is on the main road into the historic town. It's close to the train station which is only a ten minute walk away, and a short stroll from the main promenade and land mark pier. Enjoy our fantastic rotisserie cooked chicken and our other tasty options - children can also enjoy our great kids menu. We offer our famous hand pull bitters alongside a wide range of draught ales and drinks. We have an indoor children's play area so parents can dine and watch their children having fun.With a secure outside child's play area, ample outdoor seating and Large car park we welcome customers to enjoy what we have to offer. Alongside of this, we have a 27 room lodge, from family rooms, doubles and ground floor accessible rooms. Whether you are on your holidays, visiting family, at the university or on business, the Starling Cloud is for you! Free wifi is always available so why not come along and visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Starling Cloud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Starling Cloud Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing