We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic”

Silver Mountain Experience
Ranked #8 of 33 things to do in Aberystwyth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A choice of Actor-led Experiences: The Black Chasm Orcs, Goblins, Wraiths & other Myths. Wales' scariest underground adventure. This experience is not for the faint hearted! Not recommended for under 10's. A Dragon's Tale Why risk the nightmare of Black Chasm when you can join the search for Grotty, Silver Mountain's mystical, secretive and shy dragon. Our new for 2014 actor-led adventure for families. Suitable for children from the age of 4yrs. A Miner's Life This guided tour immerses you in the original and rare setting of the mine, both above and below ground and helps you to discover the fascinating facts of mining life in by-gone times as it would have been seen through the eyes of a miner. Family-active 4 new hands-on features including Shroomy Challenge, Shroomy Circle, Giant's Button Puzzle, Giant's Pan Pipes. Woo Hoo Wood Younger members of the family will delight in the magic of Woo Hoo Wood where they can find their way through the Tangle-Foot Maze, search for the answers to the Woo Hoo Quest, glimpse the Kindlings' Tree Village or try a spot of Den-building - with some help from the grown-ups too! Gem / Gold Panning* Next to the Silver River Water Play area you can try your hand at panning for gems or for 'gold'. One of our most popular activities this is totally absorbing for young and old! * Modest charges apply Silver River Play Area Even more for the kids and the young at heart to enjoy with the chance to safely dam and divert the water in the wooden channels or paddle in the stream and carry on with the dam-building theme! (Crocs/footwear advised for paddling). Mining Exhibition This indoor museum holds one of the finest collections of hard rock mining machinery, tools and ephemera in Wales, reflecting the story of silver-lead ore extraction in the Cambrian Mountains over many centuries. Coffee Shop Our cosy coffee shop offers fresh from-the-bean coffees, teas, delicious hot chocolate, cold drinks and ices, hot soup, paninis, toasties, sandwiches, cold snacks and tempting cakes & muffins. Gift Shop Provides the chance to browse a fascinating and colourful display of gemstone & mineral gifts plus plenty of fun items for the kids to choose from too.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magic”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Fantastic staff amde this a magical visit for my 7 year old son. These guys understand the meaning of customer service! Friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    27
    17
    13
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Silver Mountain Poor Experience”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I visited this attraction several years ago, and recalled it as an interesting example of a 19th century silver mine. Sadly the historical and heritage aspect of this attraction has disappeared, to be replaced by some bizarre low-quality Lord of the Rings-type fantasy involving 'actors' giving the most dumbed-down guided tours imaginable. The only historical/heritage interpretation remaining is the tiny museum left from years ago (in much need of updating) and the pieces of machinery littered and rusting around the site, which has the air of a junk yard. This is an over-expensive 'attraction' that really fails to deliver: save your money (and time) and give it a miss. It is no credit to this beautiful part of Wales.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Cymro2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waste of money and time”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I visited the silver mountain experience on the first day of our holidays. The brochure had grabbed my attention promising panning for gold and jewels,as well as adventures in woo woo
wood. However, I found the place to be in urgent need of some tlc. The grounds are unkempt, fencing and gates are in a state of disrepair and woo woo wood, well that is a joke. We tried to stretch the visit out as long as we could after spending approx £20 to get in, we were hoping to derive some value for money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfair Caereinion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“tired and worn,, but wanting to be better”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

What a shame, its not the most interesting attraction, and even if you do the whole woodland trail, its all over far too quick, i want to say something positive, because places like this need the tourists, to keep going, and if it did close well lose a place to show the children what life was like, and with the kite feeding station so close, you think more people might venture just a mile down to road.
To sum it up as our school reports often said,,,COULD DO BETTER

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberystwyth
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be made better”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A long wait to enter and only one family in front, Den building is mentioned in Woo Hoo wood but there was not much there to build a new den with would be helpful if some one was there to give help to children,with supply of den building material. Black Chasm is not for young children over ten they suggest. Panning for gems is a extra £2 dont forget when paying. Thought for what was there it was expensive. Toilets were in need of checking more often.Dirty and no paper towels for drying hands

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 602rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Mountain Experience also viewed

 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Silver Mountain Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing