We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD, GREAT ATMOSPHERE,AMAZIN CHIPS”
Review of Backyard BBQ

Backyard BBQ
Ranked #9 of 150 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“GREAT FOOD, GREAT ATMOSPHERE,AMAZIN CHIPS”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Went here last week with my uni Daughter - who was showing her Mum the sights of Aber.
Immediately upon entry noted a wonderful aroma of BBQ food, loved the restaurant from the welcoming atmosphere, friendly staff and quirky large wooden tables and benches
Food was excellent and we will return if only to seek from the owner the true nature of the wonderful seasoning on the chips!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO ALL WHO VISIT ABERYSTWYTH.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PO2XXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    35
    6
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BBQ food for the win!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We are staying for a few nights in Aberystwyth on a trip through Wales and were looking for a really good feed for our final night. Having read about this place on TripAdvisor we thought we would check it out and were so glad we did!

We started with some home made nachos that were crisp and served with pulled pork in their own BBQ sauce. It was my first time eating properly prepared nachos (no chain restaurant rip offs for me anymore...) and they were delicious. Chatting with the really friendly staff spurred me on to try the full Platter (a bit of everything from the menu) and my partner had the Hickory Smoked Salmon, with salad and rosemary roast potatoes.

Both meals were superb and the portions were very generous.

We chatted with the owner Matt and it was clear that he and his staff love what they do and the atmosphere between them and the customers was very enjoyable.

If you want the best prepared meat in Aberystwyth, we could give no better recommendation!

Helpful?
Thank Loomed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best BBQ food I've ever had”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Went there tonight with my girlfriend, and had the Nachos and mixed platter. The nachos were gorgeous and hand made, an the platter was gorgeous with everything being seasoned and cooked just right.it was also very fairly priced. Will definitely be going again.

Helpful?
Thank Cusano117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Me and my friends went there last week after hearing lots about the place, all postitive things we had heard, and to be fair we are now gonna be joining in with talking the positive about this place.
The food there was excellent I had the platter the chicken and ribs was amazing, the pulled pork was excellent, the sauces they put on the meat was great. I also had a bite on my friends burger and to be fair it has to be the best burger for miles!!!
The atmosphere of the place is so relaxed great tunes in background with a certain buzz about the place coming off of the other diners and staff alike, the waitress that was on was lovely and the owner himself, both very funny and accommodating.
The night I was there someone tried the behemoth burger, all I can say about that is that it is a burger that would keep a giant full for a week, certainly too big for me! But a great challenge to witness anyone attempt.
I hope to go there again soon, and sample all this place has to offer again from food to atmosphere.
A big thank you, to all who is envolved there!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“BBQ Heaven. If you like meat, go here”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a place for meat lovers. Sure there's a veggie burger, there's salmon and I'm sure other things, but if you appreciate meat, treat yourself and make a visit.

I'm not suggesting you try this, but after a chat, we asked the owner to "bring us some food". He brought us a little of everything (which added up to a lot). From memory, Ribs, brisket, pulled pork, chicken, burger, chips, coleslaw, corn on the cob, onion rings. My belly is full just thinking about it again, so we pretty much tried most things apart from veggie and fish.

It's good. It's really really good. There are flavours in amongst the overall BBQyness that you can taste and can't quite put your finger on. These are "secret" ingredients of course, but he did share one or two with us.

Don't expect fine dining though. It's not that kind of experience. It's a lively and fun kind of place with great food..

It's reasonably priced, both the food and the beer/wine. There's a small but carefully thought our choice of both, plus cocktails if you fancy those.

It was clear from the full restaurant (book ahead, tables are difficult to get a hold of on Friday and Saturday at the very least) that we were not the only ones enjoying the food. And it was also clear that many diners were returning having been there before (always a good sign).

So if you live in or find yourself in Aberystwyth and fancy a bite to eat, give it a go. You won't be disappointed from my experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Groover14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backyard BBQ also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Backyard BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing