We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal , a must for meat lovers!!!!”
Review of Backyard BBQ

Backyard BBQ
Ranked #12 of 148 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing meal , a must for meat lovers!!!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were staying in Aber for one night on Sat, and I had asked a few people where was good to eat, one person said, without even taking a breath, Backyard BBQ, but make sure you book. I called a few days before, and booked a table for lunch (although there were people walking in off the street for lunch, the evening definitely needs to be booked in advance as it gets really busy). The food was out of this world, I had pulled brisket, coleslaw, salad and seasoned fries, my husband had pork rib and chicken combo. I have never seen such large ribs in my life. There were 4 on the plate and half a chicken!! They tasted Amazing. Very relaxed venue, the guys were so friendly and chatted with all the customers. They asked what type of music we'd like on too. Really good value also. It was an A Star experience!! Just hope that they consider opening another one in Carmarthen soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    34
    6
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Consistently amazing!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had a take away from here Saturday night. The place was packed but the service was still brilliant- fast, efficient and very friendly. Food was just as fab as last time- the portions are very generous, the flavours great, and the choice vast.
Can't rate this highly enough.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourton on the Water
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“As good as any USA barbecue food we've tasted”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've eaten at plenty of BBQ places all over the southern states of the USA and this compares very favourably, I would even go as far as to say better then many. The meat was delicious, tender, tasty and plenty of it. We had the platter for two with brisket, pulled pork, ribs and chicken. All perfectly cooked and mouthwateringly good. Nice touch serving beans and coleslaw in tin cans. I have seen a few reviews on here complaining about service but we had no issues at all, it was reasonably quick and friendly. Certainly no complaints about the food, so take the risk, as it's a new business give them the benefit of doubt and put mistakes down to teething problems. I think it's well worth a visit and good value. We had a doggy bag and dined again on the food we couldn't eat the next day for lunch!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better than best”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The staff are really friendly, the portions are massive and the food is the best I've had in Aber for a long while. We've been back several times and the place never disappoints. The sauce is to die for! The restaurant has a really nice atmosphere, very cosy. Price wise, for the quantity and quality of food, it's a bargain. A very pleasant surprise; I highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eirwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“grrrrr !”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

legendary food - you can take your date, go to toilet, and still there will be plenty left - that's how much food they give you ! But it is not just quantity - quality is there too - that's why they make so much of it!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nezilgoriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backyard BBQ also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Backyard BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing