We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, comfortable, clean & friendly.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Antaron Hotel

Plas Antaron Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plas Antaron Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Warm, comfortable, clean & friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

I stayed for just one night when collecting my daughter from uni. Even though it was May it was cold outside and I was delighted to find that, when I turned on the radiator in my room, it soon warmed up. Lots of hotels would have turned the heating off long before May! The room was clean and comfortable with a view over the car park and road to the distant hills. The double glazing kept the noise out and I slept well. There are plenty of spaces in the car park and although a little way from the town centre I shall be staying again. The owners and staff were all very friendly and there was a tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 911euf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    42
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
46
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

A clean and comfortable room and I got an excellent nights sleep. The room was a good size with en-suite shower room, which was not huge but plenty big enough. I had a veru good full breakfast in thge morning.
Overall a very good experience and would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailoruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I spent one night at this hotel and was most impressed. The hotel was clean and comfortable and my room was a good size. Bathroom with shower only (just what I needed) was small but not at all poky. The breakfast was very good indeed. No evening meal was available but the hotel's owner recommended a number of restaurants in Aberystwyth and the recommendation was spot on. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evie2537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed here for one night when I visited on business.

Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

Owners were very helpful and a small bar will serve limited drinks during the evening but NO evening meal available which was disappointing although I knew when I booked that this was the case.

Plenty of car parking spaces and WiFi is free and very good.

Within easy access of Aberystwyth town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for WiFi code which you need to enable you to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunTan_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

The welcome was good and the room was very nice and if you looked carefully because the sun was glinting on it you could see the sea The bathroom was a good size and as has been said before it is all spotless. The breakfast was excellent and served with a cheery smile and efficiency - not the usual I don;t want to be here attitude The parking was perfect and it just can't be faulted.
You do really need to drive in to town as it is a steep hill bit that really was the only downside
Thank you

Room Tip: Room 10 is a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirecat32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Looking at some of the more negative reviews we were expecting a pokey little room. In fact the room was large with nice views. The bathroom (with bath) was more than adequate. Extra pillows available in a built in cupboard. TV and internet (free) worked fine. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast. The staff were helpful and efficient. Free parking another plus. In all.... nothing to moan about except perhaps the rather early check out time. (10 am).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_HBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Had a one night stay on Saturday 16th February. Hotel foyer is lovely, nice staircase up to the rooms. The room was quite nice, a bit small maybe for a double room, but spotlessly clean. It would have been a bit too small I think if we had been staying longer. The en suite was spotless, although there was a hole in the ceiling that was covered up with tissue paper!
Breakfast, was between 8 and 9am, and as someone else said, you have to sit at the table which matches your room number. When we were shown to the table, I hesitated before sitting down, as I thought the place mats were covered in crumbs, however it was just scratches on them!. Waitress then said, "Full English, yea?", didn't tell us we could chop and change or we could have an alternative if we had wanted.
All in all, not too bad, but personally think that £70 is very expensive for what we got. And the fact that it's 5 minutes outside of Aberystwyth.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine209tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.4 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Antaron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Antaron Hotel

Property: Plas Antaron Hotel
Address: Antaron Avenue, Aberystwyth SY23 1SF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Antaron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in mid Wales the Plas Antaron Hotel is an ideal base for exploring North, South, East and West Wales. Take full advantage of what the immediate area has to offer, whether its the delights of a Victorian holiday resort, sailing, wind-surfing, pony-trekking, coarse and sea fishing, golf, bird watching, walking or general sight-seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plas Antaron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Antaron Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing