We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful Hotel with Great Music”
Review of Nanteos Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nanteos Mansion
Ranked #7 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beatiful Hotel with Great Music”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at the Nanteos for one night and were bowled over by the surroundings and attention to detail. For such a grand and large place it felt very comfortable and welcoming. The staff were very attentive. Entertainment was provided by Dangerous Dave who is amazing. We ate from the Gourmet Tasting Menu which was excellent as was breakfast.
We really can't fault this place and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    49
    32
    17
    10
See reviews for
56
195
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stopped by for coffee and cake one afternoon - it was a useful recce, as we'd often considered booking a room here as a treat. We were expecting something quite special from Nanteos, but there were several things that failed to impress - the clutter outside the 'lodge' at the approach to the hotel was unsightly; there were several staff sitting around chatting in reception and not doing very much when we arrived; the furniture in the morning room was tatty and mismatched, with threadbare upholstery, dusty fireplace, lurid pink cushion covers in thin, creased fabric (slightly bizarre décor, in fact). We ordered coffee and cake for 2 - the cafetiere didn't even hold 2 cups of coffee per person, and it hadn't been plunged well (there were coffee grinds in the coffee when we poured it). The cakes featured on the Afternoon Tea menu seemed to be unavailable - the waiter said he'd go and see what was in the kitchen. He returned with a tiny piece of Bara Brith, a Welsh cake and a biscuit for each of us. The cake tasted dry and stale - we were hardly visiting 'out of season' so we were surprised that there was no fresh cake. The bill came to about £12, which we wouldn't have minded paying had it been worth it. We probably should have said something when paying, but as we drove away I was just glad we hadn't booked a room there and had saved ourselves some money in the long run! Only saw part of the hotel, so can't comment on the bedrooms - and although the morning room was disappointing, the toilets and the bar area were of a much better standard. This hotel could be so lovely, but attention to detail is lacking and it doesn't live up to its promise of luxury or the prices charged - sorry! A few tweaks, some consistency and a bit more effort, and they could probably get there .........

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyTravellerToday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We went to Nanteos for our wedding anniversary, the drive up to the house is fantastic and surroundings are also stunning! Was most disappointed to see dog poo on the drive and surrounding area. When sitting down for dinner in the evening the dog roamed into the dining room and was constantly ushered out! Staff felt alittle embarrassed and the Manager (who's dog we presumed it was) wasn't bothered! I don't feel its a good thing, as not everyones a dog lover!!!
The room was very lovely and bed very comfy!
Would suggest on hotter days, fitting the rooms with air con units of somekind as our room was extremely hot and neither slept very well all night! Which was ashame.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natalie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albrighton
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this wonderful hotel. It is approached via a long winding drive and the first view you get of it is quite breathtaking. It is a stunning house set in beautiful surroundings with fantastic views. If you want peace and quiet then this is the place to stay, literally the only sounds you hear are birds singing, sheep bleating and the occasional moo from a cow! As soon as we pulled up outside the hotel a member of staff came out to greet us and offered us a welcoming drink, in fact every member of staff we met was polite, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the Élan Suite which was accessed across a small courtyard from the main hotel and with parking right outside. The bedroom was light and spacious and the bathroom was huge with a wet room area for the shower. The food was fantastic and would highly recommend the Coastal Lamb Plate, Trotter Platter, Crab Linguini and all the desserts!!! The interior of the hotel is very comfortable and beautifully decorated. It really is like staying in a stately home rather than a hotel. We loved it and would definitely stay there again if we revisit that area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipandlolspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Nanteos Mansion is situated in a truly stunning location just outside Aberystwyth. The views of the valley from the front of the hotel are magnificent, and the secluded location should guarantee a quiet and restful break away from everything. The Mansion itself is a Grade I listed Georgian building, expertly restored and retaining many of the original features and furnishings. The welcome from the hotel staff was warm and friendly, and we quickly settled into our short break. We stayed in the Formosa suite, which is situated at the back of the hotel. This suite doesn't have windows, it has a door to an elevated walkway, and a skylight window. So there are no wonderful views here. The suite is tastefully furnished, and very comfortable, with a superking size bed, but it doesn't have a separate lounge area, which you'd normally expect from a 'suite' - just a slightly larger bedroom and bathroom than normal. The skylight is situated right over the super king size bed. This is great if you like to be woken in the early morning by bright light blazing down onto your face, but if you don't like early morning brightness you may wish to consider another room, as there is no blind on the skylight to prevent this. Also, both the Formosa suite and the Japan suite next door are located near and over the kitchens - inevitably, a truly huge extractor fan is located outside these suites. I did ask for the fans to be switched off later in the evening, as you could hear it in the suite, and opening the rear door to the walkway wasn't an option. The breakfast was excellent, the service very welcoming and attentive. Overall, there are many aspects to Nanteos which warrant 5 stars - the location, the Georgian building, the friendly and helpful staff, the breakfast. All I would say is choose carefully in which room or suite you stay. On balance, despite the tasteful furnishings of the Formosa suite, I can't recommend it for the reasons given. Also, the hotel doesn't appear to be a 'family orientated' hotel, it's really geared for singles, couples, and wedding receptions. In summary, without doubt the best scenic location in Aberystwyth to stay, with many five star aspects to match the five star price, but choose carefully in which room or suite you stay.

Room Tip: For families needing a sofa bed for children: avoid the Formosa and Japan suites to the rear and clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfingmad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A secret birthday party and nights stay to celebrate. Everyone joined in and made our stay unforgettable.Superb surroundings a wonderful opulent Bathroom,immaculate Nightingale Suite
Well served dinner of good quality,friendly attentive staff and very switched on reception. A great stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alucur69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We decided to search out this lovely mansion after seeing it featured on TV with Griff Rhys-Jones in his search for 'the Holy Grail'. Situated in a quiet valley just a few miles from Aberystwyth, this splendid Palladian style Georgian mansion could well be on another planet. Open vistas across verdant pastures, woodland walks and a lovely lake compliment the recently restored mansion. We arrived late morning and booked in for lunch. A quick read of the morning paper over a welcoming cup of coffee then it was time for a stroll around the grounds to whet our an appetites. Seated in the exquisite Nightingale Restaurant after a brief visit to the Library Bar, we were treated to a glorious luncheon from an interesting and varied menu. Service was as impressive as the food and the splendour of the decor and furnishings made this brief visit one to remember. Legend has it that Cistertian monks brought the Holy Grail to this location for safe keeping during the dissolution of the monasteries - maybe so, but simply finding yourself at this very special place is a magical experience in itself. Looking forward to a much longer visit next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halfviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberystwyth
2.9 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
504 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
472 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
318 reviews
3.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
339 reviews
3.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanteos Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanteos Mansion

Property: Nanteos Mansion
Address: Rhydyfelin | Rhydyfelin, Aberystwyth SY23 4LU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nanteos Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nanteos Mansion is a grade 1 listed Georgian Property built in 1739 by the Powell Family, and lived in by the same family until 1951. Now restored to its former glory, offering a range of deluxe bedrooms, combined with sumptuous public spaces and providing fine dining using the finest of local Welsh produce.The ethos of the house is 'A country House that happens to be a hotel rather than a Country House Hotel' professional, yet friendly unobtrusive service, where our guests can feel pampered yet relaxed. Nanteos is proud to reestablish the tradition of welcoming guests to this fine Country House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nanteos Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanteos Mansion Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing