We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant find...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stumbled upon this little hotel on the outskirts of Aberystwyth on a return trip with some American friends.

I have to say and give my vote, for the best little receptionist you're ever likely to find... I give you Miss Sara (pronouced Zara). She was just lovely, checked us in with good grace and efficiency and when I enquired about having to book a restaurant, she was right on the phone and had it done without me even asking. So refreshing!!

Sure the hotel is a little dated, but the room was clean and had nice enough towels. The shower was the BEST by a country mile of our whole trip. If you get nothing else, you'll get a very satisfy dousing..

Breakfast was fresh and plenty of it.

I really enjoyed my stay and thank them very much.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thelionspet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very disappointed by my stay here. Room was priced at £125 a night but the hotel is now very dated. The room I had was in need of TLC, especially the shower. Paper thin, small towels. The service in the restaurant was poor (including serving the wrong items) and slow. The restaurant furniture is what you would expect of a truckers cafe/ greasy spoon. Breakfast was no better, poor quality food and dirty crockery - some of the glasses were dirty, one had mouldy food left on it. When issues raised with reception very poor response (basically just said tough!). Sorry but when you charge £125 a night customers have the right to question a bad stay. Will not be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Lizzie2010999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here last Sunday for sons graduation, were a bit worried with bad comments but had no need to be. Very clean apart from restaurant where I had to clean crumbs of chair otherwise very good. Did not see any thread bare carpets and the staff were mostly English. Food very good and breakfast excellent. Only draw back was bar was shut at night but walked into Aber and sat on pier. It is a bit out off the way but it is excellent for business travellers (no problems parking). Would recommend staying here for short stay. Bit noisy in morning with traffic recommend room away from roundabout

Room Tip: Away from roundabout and road
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allenk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel was clean and tidy, food was really good and all staff very welcoming. The reviewer who said it was a good hotel for business was right - nothing wrong with it but nothing outstanding either. The main problem for tourists is the distance from promenade - its 1.5 miles to walk from the hotel. With dad in a wheelchair it was just a bit too far. Would recommend it for younger couples..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I can't comment on the rooms as we didn't stay the night but wouldn't advise going to the restaurant. The floor and tables were dirty, generally not well maintained. Most of the staff that were there are foreign and don't speak very good English. We ordered our drinks before ordering food, they arrived about 15 mins later, AFTER food had arrived. There was a reason, but like I said, couldn't understand the waitress. The food was bland and tasteless. Felt very much like a care home cafeteria. Should have gone to macdonalds.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElinH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

On outskirts of town so is a good 15 minute walk to the beach. Locally are various retail estates so not much to look at. Average facilities and staff who didn't seem bothered so felt overpriced. Would be OK for a business trip but would not use it if staying with my wife.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 391colinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just came back from an overnight stay at the Aber Lodge and after reading the reviews had mixed feelings about staying there. Upon arrival, staff were friendly, clean reception area and very prompt check in. Do agree the stairs were a bit threadbare but the bedroom was very nice. It was clean and decently decorated with a large TV, very clean bathroom and seemed like the towels were brand new ones. Only stayed BB and the breakfast was plentiful, altho would of rather had a help yourself cooked breakfast as too much was piled on my plate (most men would love this) . Overall would recommend this hotel and would definately go back again.

Room Tip: My room was facing the car park and was fine.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.2 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
328 reviews
2.8 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
335 reviews
9.3 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
156 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel

Address: Parc y Llyn Retail Park, Aberystwyth SY23 3TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £52 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel. We have 36 Luxury Bedrooms, Lounge & Conference Room, fully Licensed Cafe Bar & Restaurant and 100 parking spaces. Whether it's for business or a place to relax and unwind, you'll find our facilities and dedicated staff second to none. Our philosophy is simple: commitment to provide the very best traditional cuisine and facilities where guests enjoy a dedicated professional service for the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberystwyth Park Hotel Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing