We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing, strongly advise against this hotel.”
Review of Queensbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queensbridge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We arrived to be told lift was not working and then were offered room on 4th floor; on complaining I was offered a room on the 2nd floor, which was better. The second room offered (to 80 year old woman) was not in the body of the hotel, but was a converted garage accessed via the fire escape at the back. Although the room itself was clean, it felt odd to be disconnected from the rest of the hotel, and it also felt odd that to access the hotel from that room, you had to enter through the back fire door, which was left open all night. As a result both the garage room and the rest of the hotel were not properly secure overnight. During the night my aunt was disturbed by revellers who tried to get in the door of her room. When they couldn't get in, they spent most of the night on the roof of the garage; a very poor night's sleep as a result. We were offered a discount of £10 off the £70 cost of this room as a result, which to me said that it was not taken seriously.
The front door of the hotel was unlocked and reception unattended when we came back in at 10.30; there was an envelope left at reception with a name on the front, containing keys for someone who was arriving late - anyone could have come in and picked these up.
Breakfast was served in the basement, quite gloomy as a result, and was seriously disappointing. We did not want the cooked option, so just had cereal and toast. The milk was on the turn, and when the couple at the table next to ours sent the jug back, the milk that they brought to replace it was just the same. Toast was brought after a very long wait, and was just the cheapest white bread toasted - really, for £70 a night, how is this justifiable?

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chloe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

our stay at Aberystwyth was a may day bank holiday over night stay , Sunday til Monday myself or my partner have never been to this seaside place it was a very laid back place there was a small yet suitable pier / arcade area for the nippers .. night life was enjoyable we felt safe and welcome in the local public houses , many places to eat at varied prices to suit all pockets , Greek . Italian , quality steak houses , burger bars . fried chicken , even traditional old fish and chip shops .. great ice cream parlours .... etc , etc the hotel queens bridge was situated on the promenade / sea front we only needed to come out of the hotel cross the very quiet road and the sea / beach was situated cracking venue for couples and families highly recommended the pier and arcade / all shops , 24 hour spar serving hot and cold food and drinks literally 7 minute walk from the hotel ... the room we stayed in was absolutely great value for the money we paid we had a sea / beach front view room , very clean , en- suit room very quiet fantastic nights sleep .with a very good quality breakfast self serve ... we will without any doubt frequent this sea side place more than once / same hotel many times in the future ... highly recommended ..

Mr & Mrs price

Room Tip: ask for a sea view for any size room you book , you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My friend and i stayed for a long weekend over easter,short notice from booking.com.We had lovely views over the sea, plenty of room,clean and tidy and considering the amount of guests staying very quiet.The owner was friendly and helpful, and breakfast was plentiful.Hope to stay again soon.

Room Tip: request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My family and I decided to have a last Easter break after original plans had changed. We decided to choose The Queensbridge purely because they could accommodate all five of us (two adults and three children)

I read reviews written by other visitors AFTER booking and saw news articles on the internet. But you know what? We had the best time in Aberystwyth and the owner(s) and staff at The Queens bridge Hotel could not have been more polite, friendly and herlpful.

Don't get me wrong, The Queensbridge is no palace and it doesn't pretend to be. You get what you pay for. Our room was clean, warm, plenty of towels, even toiletries-something I did not expect and it had a lovely modern ensuite bathroom.

The only gripe I have is that breakfast is not long enough. Breakfast is served between 0800hrs and 0915hrs including the weekend where I would expect breakfast period to be extended. I can only assume that other bed and breakfasts in the area are similar to avoid stragglers. I don't know.

Would we go back? Yes. Its on the promenade, next to Constitution Hill and a short walk to the town. Lots of rock pools around for the kids to find crabs, anemones, shrimp etc. A good time had by all

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The welcome was luke warm, and we were told that the balance owing had already been taken off the card.This was irritating, as we were splitting costs. We were directed to the stairs, and were told the lift was out of order- it seems this was had been the case for a while as previous reviewers had mentioned it. Two rather mature women battled with the stairs, fire door and luggage. The breakfast was good and extensive, but we did notice that the same sausages were dished up on the second day! The front page of the local newspaper was disconcerting as the hotel proprieter had just paid a large fine for various misdemeanors relating to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 222Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were in the area and chose this hotel as the first one we saw with vacancies. Received a warm reception from the owner who invited us to inspect the room before deciding to stay. Room was very spacious with bay window overlooking the sea.
Yes the place could do with a bit of touching up but was very clean, comfortable and the breakfast was a plentiful buffet. All in all a very nice hotel.
We intent to return later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, checked in after a really long day, was working locally. Room was OK, dated but hey it's in an old Victorian house, had a pint down the road on the recommendation of the owner? Barman? Not quite sure who he was, anyway returned, comfy bed, was fast asleep and then about 4am the fire alarm went off, perfect. So went outside and some other people were there, apparently it had gone off the night before as well, alarm was turned off after about an hour, by that time it was time for me to get up anyway. It was a false alarm by the way. Not a great impression tbh.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensbridge Hotel

Address: Victoria Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £53 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional-style two-star-rated hotel boasting wonderful sea views throughout. The Queensbridge is nestled under the shadows of the impressive Constitution Hill on the promenade in Aberystwyth and has 15 en-suite rooms with lift access to all four floors. Each room is equipped with tea & coffee-making facilities, television and daily towels. The relaxing lounge and bar area allows you to wile away the hours with a good book or simply watch the waves come and go. The hotel has recently been refurbished and offers a good selection of single, double and family rooms all reasonably priced. Please note that even though we have a lift here, the hotel is not fully accessible to those with a disability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Queensbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensbridge Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing