We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room great, breakfast not....”
Review of Queensbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queensbridge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Room great, breakfast not....”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Was not sure what to expect given the other reviews. When you enter the hotel the decor is dated but my room was a pleasant surprise. The room had been recently refurbished and was good value for money. Breakfast was not pleasant, served downstairs in the dark and dingy basement the food was poor quality, milk was off and some of the crockery dirty. A let down to an otherwise good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie2010999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    43
    37
    32
    38
See reviews for
37
62
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Oh dear, were do I begin. The only reason we stayed in this hotel was because my husband & daughter stayed there in Jan 2014 & recommended it as their room at that time overlooked the sea and was very spacious. on arrival the receptionist was very nice. Our room was on the 3rd floor. The lift was out of order (from previous reviews it seems to be a longstanding problem) so we had a long walk up quite steep stairs. on arrival at our room we had to enter one at a time, closing the door over each time before the next person could enter, as there wasn't enough room for us all to walk in. I booked a room for 3 ADULTS. In it was a double bed (blocking the door) and BUNK BEDS. REALLY, BUNK BEDS. The en suite bath room had more room in it, however the sink taps were free moving and had a mind of their own & despite the size of the bathroom, it had no towel rails. WEIRD. we paid £140 for this. Total rip off. We did ask to change rooms but they were fully booked due to graduation week at the Uni (the reason for our trip).Breakfast was in the basement down some very steep stairs. Average food, nothing to write home about. Very disappointing. My husband and daughter could not believe the difference in rooms from their last visit to this, and they only paid £55 in January. My advice- save your money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stella g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were originally booked into the Belgrave Hotel but were called the day before to say we had been located to the Queensbridge. We were not very happy because my husband had stayed prior to this and had an attic room in which there was stratching rats or pigeons keeping him awake. The life wasn't working, which entailed 5 flights of stairs which was exhausting. The rooms were clean and tea and coffee was generously supplied. The staff seemed relatively friendly. We were asked to pay for our rooms as soon as we arrived (before we saw where we were sleeping)!Thank goodness we were only staying 2 nights. The breakfast room was in a cellar was a basic breakfast. No glasses for juice we had to use the same cup we used for tea. I am happy to say we will never be going to Aberystwyth again, in a word a run down dump in my opinion, Sorry Wales! Cardigan Bay, of course, is very picturesque but avoid this town.

Room Tip: Choose a different place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First of all - we never expected to stay in The Queensbridge as we originally tried to book Ty Belgrave - their "sister" hotel further down the prom. I received a phone call the day before we arrived to tell me that they had a new receptionist who had mixed up the bookings so they were moving us to a different hotel. At the Queensbridge the next morning there were some workmen who were being moved to a local guesthouse - looking at the TripAdvisor reviews it looks like the "new receptionist" story was likely nonsense and the shifting around of guests has been fairly standard practice for some time. Guests need to be aware of this when booking.
Having said that the Queensbridge is actually a perfectly adequate hotel. It isn't luxurious, but if you just want somewhere to sleep and a good breakfast it's absolutely fine. The welcome on reception was very friendly and helpful with great local knowledge.
It's a tall building and our room (21) was right at the top - the stairs weren't a problem for us but i wouldn't recommend this for families or people with mobility problems. The room was small but very clean and the bed was comfortable. The wifi was also superfast, which is unusual for a small town hotel. Toiletries, decent quality teas and coffees and plenty of nice towels were provided.
The shower was noisy and there was no towel rail in the bathroom, which I found a bit odd. there was also quite limited storage space, so whilst fine for one night, I think we would've been uncomfortable staying longer.
Breakfast was buffet style but served in small trays which were regularly replensihed so it didn't suffer from that dodgy "been out on the hot plate too long" flavour you sometimes get with a buffet breakfast. - the food was very well cooked and the service was friendly, although some fresh fruit as well as the cereal and cooked items would've been nice. The room where breakfast is served is in a basement and very hot and stuffy.
Overall I would say that this hotel is fine if you need somewhere well located for one night and you just need somewhere to lay your head plus a hearty breakfast. compared to other hotels in the surrounding area it's very competitively proceed. However, if you're looking for a luxury weekend away or expecting to spend a lot of time in the hotel, you may want to pay a little more to stay somewhere a bit more reliable.

Room Tip: You most likely won't end up in the room, or even the hotel you expected, so if this is importan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyb828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were booked into the Four Seasons, Aberystwyth but after a long day of travel we arrived to be told they had another booking for our room so had booked us into their 'sister' hotel The Queensbridge just around the corner that they were sure we'd be pleased with as it had a lift and on-site parking etc. What we did find was a run down looking scaffold-clad hotel and on booking in were told we were on the 4th floor - 9 flights up and the lift was out of action!! We had quite a problem lugging a very heavy suitcase up the neverending stairs to find our room was in fact a tiny attic we could hardly move around in, half of which was too low to straighten up under. Add to that the following:
Constant tapping, scratching on the roof, presumably birds or rats,
Complicated obscure shower system and when finally worked it out the screeching sound that emitted was too much to bear so we did without!
Half a bottle of red cordial was left in the room and one of the bottled waters had been opened, presumably refilled?
The bed was best described as a king single and very uncomfortable with a dip in the middle.
Breakfast was very average, served in a gloomy dining room in the basement.
We were expected to pay 80 pounds for the night but eventually got it reduced to 70 pounds, still far too much.
All in all an hotel to be avoided unless desperate.

Room Tip: Do not get an attic room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Situated at the far end of North Beach (by Constitution Hill), I stayed at the Queensbridge Hotel for one night over the Bank Holiday weekend.

For £49, I stayed in a triple room with friends. We had to climb a lot of stairs, which wasn't a huge problem for me, but maybe for people with lots of luggage. The room had a lovely sea view, and was relatively clean (apart from the poo stains in the toilet - yuck!). It's quiet, which means that a decent night's sleep is almost guaranteed. The breakfast was plentiful and the staff were very friendly.

As a regular hostel user, I am used to some pretty dire conditions; Hotels are a bit of a luxury for me, so I can overlook most of the negatives :D. I'd be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view, every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZEESHANA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We arrived to be told lift was not working and then were offered room on 4th floor; on complaining I was offered a room on the 2nd floor, which was better. The second room offered (to 80 year old woman) was not in the body of the hotel, but was a converted garage accessed via the fire escape at the back. Although the room itself was clean, it felt odd to be disconnected from the rest of the hotel, and it also felt odd that to access the hotel from that room, you had to enter through the back fire door, which was left open all night. As a result both the garage room and the rest of the hotel were not properly secure overnight. During the night my aunt was disturbed by revellers who tried to get in the door of her room. When they couldn't get in, they spent most of the night on the roof of the garage; a very poor night's sleep as a result. We were offered a discount of £10 off the £70 cost of this room as a result, which to me said that it was not taken seriously.
The front door of the hotel was unlocked and reception unattended when we came back in at 10.30; there was an envelope left at reception with a name on the front, containing keys for someone who was arriving late - anyone could have come in and picked these up.
Breakfast was served in the basement, quite gloomy as a result, and was seriously disappointing. We did not want the cooked option, so just had cereal and toast. The milk was on the turn, and when the couple at the table next to ours sent the jug back, the milk that they brought to replace it was just the same. Toast was brought after a very long wait, and was just the cheapest white bread toasted - really, for £70 a night, how is this justifiable?

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chloe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
314 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensbridge Hotel

Property: Queensbridge Hotel
Address: Victoria Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Queensbridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional-style two-star-rated hotel boasting wonderful sea views throughout. The Queensbridge is nestled under the shadows of the impressive Constitution Hill on the promenade in Aberystwyth and has 15 en-suite rooms with lift access to all four floors. Each room is equipped with tea & coffee-making facilities, television and daily towels. The relaxing lounge and bar area allows you to wile away the hours with a good book or simply watch the waves come and go. The hotel has recently been refurbished and offers a good selection of single, double and family rooms all reasonably priced. Please note that even though we have a lift here, the hotel is not fully accessible to those with a disability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Queensbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensbridge Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing