We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL”
Review of Queensbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queensbridge Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Wallington, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AWFUL”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This place was dreadful the room we stayed in was worse than shabby. The bathroom was gross with mouldy mismatched tiles and the bedroom had peeling wallpaper and flaky paint with one window that was smashed and another that was jammed open. The bar area was unusable on arrival due to being full with mattresses and the "Receptionist" could only be described as Basil Fawlty. When asked if we could have a television in the room he gave me a key to a top floor room and told me to get it myself......needless to say I will not be paying a return visit

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KEITH048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    42
    33
    30
    38
See reviews for
35
60
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedale
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Window open and unable to lock. On ground floor so not safe. Handy man screwed it closed so now can't open. Sweltering hot! Lots of niggly issues so avoid this room. The worst thing was the large bright security light outside the window. Day time in the night. Difficult to sleep. Staff lovely, and breakfast delicious. Too expensive for the quality of the room. Also the owner not very helpful. Said noone else had ever complained about this room. Did he read these reviews? Perhaps not.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wondermumBedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

south wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Bit apprehensive on arrival after reading previous reviews.
Booked a double room for 1 nt, we were given a family rm overlooking the sea - lush. The rm was clean, spacious & comfortable with a generous size bathroom.
Plenty of clean towels & complimentary toileteries & beverages (i.e. tea/coffe/drinking choc) were provided in the rm.
The staff were polite & helpful on arrival (however not around from about 9pm onwards, allthough there was a number to contact in case of emergencies!!)
Breakfast was a buffet style full english/juices/cereals - as much as you wanted, & very tasty!!!
The hotel is situated on the seafront @ the far end of the prom by Constitution Hill - giving you the chance to walk the full length of the prom into the town (a very nice stroll along the seafront)

The hotel was having a bit of a revamp - new carpets & furniture, so the bar & lounge facilities were unavailable.
Yes :- the lift was small (but it worked!)
some of the decor was outdated but still functional & clean

Overall, allthough basic we had a lovely stay here - gd location,comfortable,a gd nts sleep (only noise was the sound of the crashing waves) & a tasty generous breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

I must admit it was a while ago when I stayed here. Only stayed for a couple of nights due to visiting the University.

I'll start with the bad points: quite old fashioned.. creeky floorboards (hear everyone walking past your room). the bathroom deco was hideous. out dated furniture and i cant really fault it for anything else.

We got a good sized bedroom and the bathroom was not small either. The views were perfect looking out onto the sea, you coundnt get much closer. Whilst i stayed there the sea was rough and the sound of the waves and wind made me realise what a great spot this hotel has. I had a brilliant nights sleep, the hotel throughout was lovely and warm. Breakfast was good including the service.

i would most definately go back again for a night or two, you cant get any better with the location. If anything it just needs an update. A very quaint individual little Hotel, just a bit pricey.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TizHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sham el sheik
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

clean room friendly staff( good breakfast as much as you like) nice area on the frount.

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WalesShamElSheik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We stayed at the Queensbridge,Hotel in Aberystwyth in Wales for one night. Service was good as we arrived late around 8.30pm. The owner came and gave a price different to his repectionist (phoned earlier). The manager was aggressive and rude towards us, but negoitated a good rate for the place. However the manager did not inform us that one of the bedrooms were not cleaned. The pillow case was stained with blood, a razor was left in the bathroom and used bath towels in the bath tub.
I made a complaint the following and all staff responded that the manager knew about the uncleaned room and did not provide anything to compensate this poor service.
I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE, UNCLEAN AND THE STAFF WERE RUDE.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna987london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Shocking

When we got to the hotel our first room was not just shabby but half of the roof had fallen in in the bathroom, yet apparently had been cleaned that day (how they missed half of the ceiling on the floor is beyond me!)

We then got moved to another room, the room was tiny and the sea view was none existent. Having already moved rooms we decided to get on with our break as we were only there for one night.

The bed in the room was not actually a double, it was a 3/4 bed because the room was so small. I could hardly move in the bathroom which had no bath and was the smallest bathroom I have ever come across in a hotel. The matress was not only small but was well past its use by date and I ended up sleeping on the floor due to the fact my back was in agony.

We tried to get a drink at 9.30pm but it felt like we were putting them out "No, it's only for residents" I got with a snarl, eventually we got a small glass of wine for £3.60. The whole hotel had leaks and really reminded me of a hostel! In fact I have stayed in better hostels than this!!!

When we went to pay we were told it would cost us £75 (Despite the doubles being from £55 to £85). I complained as this was obviously barely a £55 room, more of a single room. I just got the opinion they didn't care and the woman smirked and threatened to charge the credit card even if I didn't pay the full £75.

DO NOT STAY HERE, IMPOLITE, DUMP, VERY DATED.

BETTER OPTIONS DOWN THE ROAD AT £55!!

This place seriously needs a wake up call.

  • Liked — The front door when we left
  • Disliked — Everything!!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gnosalltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.4 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
429 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensbridge Hotel

Property: Queensbridge Hotel
Address: Victoria Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Queensbridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional-style two-star-rated hotel boasting wonderful sea views throughout. The Queensbridge is nestled under the shadows of the impressive Constitution Hill on the promenade in Aberystwyth and has 15 en-suite rooms with lift access to all four floors. Each room is equipped with tea & coffee-making facilities, television and daily towels. The relaxing lounge and bar area allows you to wile away the hours with a good book or simply watch the waves come and go. The hotel has recently been refurbished and offers a good selection of single, double and family rooms all reasonably priced. Please note that even though we have a lift here, the hotel is not fully accessible to those with a disability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Queensbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensbridge Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing