We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Staff, Surface Clean Only!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ty Belgrave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ty Belgrave House
Ranked #32 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Staff, Surface Clean Only!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked for one night in Aber to relive some childhood memories! Would we stay again at the Ty Belgrave?...only if the hotel management organise the biggest deep clean of the rooms/hotel in general.
We had our 2 month old babes with us, so when we arrived tired and not wanting to look elsewhere, we stayed and I have to say, only due to the lovely lady on reception. We stayed in room 10 on the ground floor which is described as a double with ensuite.....its a single with an ensuite you cannot swing a fly in!
On the face of it, the rooms for an old English seaside town are ok ish...but when you look closely, the place is really quite dirty. Specific examples in our room were: absolutely filthy dirty bed valance sheet, the bathroom grout is mingingly bad and the corners of the ensuite floor hasn't seen a hoover or mop in a long time.
It's a shame because with a bit of TLC, this place could be a half decent place to stop.
The lady at breakfast was great, lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was actually better than we expected considering the standard of the room.
You go to breakfast down in the basement and god only knows why you are greeted by a sheet/linen press (not the antique type), dirty carpet down the stairs and as dark as you like! It's not inviting at all but as we say, once down there, the breakfast and the lovely lady were fine.
Did we get value for money at £90 per night....not on your Nelly but we were tired and only due to lovely staff and our typical British attitude of not complaining we stayed! Poor and very tired dirty place to stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tradder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    27
    32
    34
    60
See reviews for
42
70
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Disappointing downgrade from the Four Seasons Hotel (a sister hotel, I understand).

I was supposed to be booked in at the Four Seasons, but with just one hour's notice downgraded to Ty Belgrave (a B&B).

Comfortable bed, average room, ensuite small and less delectable - would benefit from refurbishment. Sadly located in noisy student area, resulting in little sleep that night.

Still charged full price, by the Four Seasons Hotel!

Room Tip: Ensuite would benefit from refurbishment. Good view, but noisy area. You may end up here if you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notodden, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Starting to wonder if the standards of hotels on this continent is bad in general. It can't be, but the accommodation at Belgrave is just a minimum for a night at a Hotell. Very small room. Even smaller bathroom. The staff is sweet though.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Room 6 - big carpet stain on entry, orange grouting on bathroom tiles from lack of cleaning, peeling sealant. View from bedroom and bathroom windows was of scruffy back yards with the window sills deep in bird droppings. The main hotel boiler was located in the ensuite which was so noisy you could not sleep. Who puts a boiler in the bedroom for goodness sake. Breakfast was made from the cheapest produce and swam in grease. The smell of cooking fried eggs penetrated the rest of the hotel, yuck. Don't think the sausages actually contained meat. Needless to say my organisation will not be using this hotel again. Steer clear.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a sea view, don't use room 6 main hotel noisy boiler housed in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

What I booked was a double room in the Four Seasons. What I got was a single room in Ty Belgrave. Like others, evidently, I booked a room in the Four Seasons then got a call on the morning of my arrival to tell me that I'd been 'upgraded' to a single room at their sister hotel- not what I'd booked, not what I wanted, but with no opportunity to cancel as I needed somewhere to sleep. They kept the price the same too, what a bargain...

The room was dreadful. Barely big enough to swing a cat and with a view of a wheelie bin in a filthy yard outside. The bathroom wasn't clean and there was absolutely nowhere to hang the towel. The desk in the room was also broken. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable.

I should've known better as owner Emyr Davies has a reputation around Aberystwyth of being a complete crook. Don't make the same mistake that I did- avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PadraigJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We were supposed to stay for one night in this hotel but two hours before we were due to arrive recieved a call claiming there were problems with the plumbing and they were putting us in the Queensbridge ( their sister hotel). After looking at the reviews here this seems to be a common tactic and we rang them to cancel. They then claimed we would have to pay as we hadn't notified them within 48 hours - despite the fact that they had effectively cancelled the booking. They then claimed the plumbing had been fixed and they could put us in a twin room in the basement - again not what we had booked. We refused and called Booking.com, who we'd made the reservation with and they told us that they couldn't just bump us elswhere and no money was payable.
After further investigation we discover that as we suspected this was a scam on the hotel's part.
See this report for further details - and avoid all these hotels unless you want the problems we encountered. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-18892925

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mbmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I booked around a week in advance for a double room with sea view. We were touring Snowdonia for three nights beforehand and not much mobile reception. Just by chance I got a signal during a walk on the morning of the day we were due to arrive and found a message from the hotel manager saying they had had plumbing problems the day before and couldn't now provide us with any rooms so had relocated us to a sister hotel. When I got to a place with wi fi we checked the other hotel which appeared inferior in many respects and rooms were lower rate (though a reduction in price had never been mentioned). There were also a few reviews from others saying they had been bumped to inferior accommodation because the owner has a number of properties in town. We decided we didn't want to stay at the inferior hotel and rang back and were astounded to be told that the Belgrave intended to charge the full price of the room on our credit card because we hadn't given them 48 hours cancellation notice! This in spite of the fact THEY had cancelled on us. Suddenly they had a twin room available (in the cellar) but this didn't sound appealing and we were beginning to wonder, might this be a scam? Does the hotel overbook, then 'bump' the unsuspecting to another of their properties? I rang Booking.com and they said they had not received any notification of this problem with the rooms, which they were supposed to do if the hotel could not fulfil the original booking. The guy also confirmed there was no way we should be charged. I am disgusted if this is common practice and am certainly never going to stay at this hotel in the future or any others owned by the same people.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank FfilmCymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.3 mi away
Queensbridge Hotel
Queensbridge Hotel
#12 of 13 in Aberystwyth
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Belgrave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Belgrave House

Property: Ty Belgrave House
Address: Y Prom 24 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2AZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty Belgrave House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ty Belgrave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Belgrave House Hotel Aberystwyth
Ty Belgrave House Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing