We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place”
Review of Gwesty Cymru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwesty Cymru
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just had a lovely weekend at the Gwesty Cymru - as a family we had 4 out of the 8 rooms!! Really enjoyed it. It has a lovely crisp, modern style and the food is really excellent. A room with a sea view is a must - great to sit and watch people go by on the prom and look out to sea. We had a meal on the Sat night and I was very impressed as I am a vegetarian and fussy too, but the chef made me a lovely meal. Gwesty Cymru is really like a great restaurant with rooms. It doesn't have a large bar and there is no lounge but if you get one of the rooms overlooking the sea, that doesn't matter. We went in the winter but it must be even better in the summer as you can sit outside on the terrace and have a drink. If I was staying in Aberystwyth or anywhere else in this area, I wouldn't even consider going anywhere else as it would be a let down by comparison.
Ardderchog, diolch yn fawr iawn.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at the Gwesty recently and it really is a great place to stay.The room was very clean and modern.We did have a problem with a cold radiator but the staff had it working in no time.The breakfast was huge and I can recommend the toast !.Overall a very nice hotel to stay in and we`ll definitely return the next time we visit Aberystwyth.Having stayed in several B&B`s and hotels in Aberystwyth over the last 30 years the Gwesty is a class apart.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Very nice food, if your willing to pay for it.
staff could be a lot more helpful and could offer more service.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE STEAK AND CHIPS!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Ever since our daughter has been at Aberystwyth University, we have always wanted to come and stay at Gwesty Cymru.

Finally, we made it and we were not disappointed !

A very clean and tastefully finished hotel with a warm welcome and excellent service. The room we had was wonderful.We could have spent hours gazing at the sea and watching the world go by along the promenade

Looking forward to coming back soon

Diolch yn fawr iawn!

Room Tip: We had room 6 - great view from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is the second time we have stopped at Gwesty Cymru whilst visiting my partners's daughter who is at uni in Aber.
If you want a luxury break in a hotel you must stay here! Again I did not want to particularly leave the hotel room as it is so cosy and comfortable.
It stands apart from other hotels and guest houses just because of the effort that has gone into making everything so perfect. For example, the bedding and towels are top quality, the oak furniture and doors and the luxurious feel to the bathrooms. Even the toiletries and the tea and coffee things were top notch.
We haven't tried the meals here, apart from the delicious breakfast, but we had a drink in the bar and the meals looked superb!
We couldn't get in here last time we tried as it was booked up and we had to settle for another of the seafront establishments. needless to say it wasn't a patch on Gwesty Cymru. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We have now stayed in the green room and the brown room. Both very similar in size and with back fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItchyfeetShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We toured Wales by both mainline and tourist steam trains plus the occasional bus in a circular route leaving from Hertfordshire. The travel within Wales was on a special touring ticket and very reasonable. We stayed at the best guest houses and hotels but the ultimate experience for opulence was at Gwesty Cymru Hotel. Everything from the welcome was amazing! We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Every room is different but we had a room at the front on the first floor with perfect sea view, eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noelleherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This hotel was beautiful! Although my room was in the attic I'd say it is arguably the best room they had, the view was amazing, the towel layout was memorable and overall the hotel gave me a great night whilst visiting Aber.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swimfan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
331 reviews
3.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Cymru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Cymru

Address: 19 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2AZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £88 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwesty Cymru 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gwesty Cymru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Cymru Aberystwyth, Wales
Gwesty Cymru Hotel Aberystwyth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing