We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern fresh and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gwesty Cymru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwesty Cymru
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Llandyssil UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Modern fresh and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Room 4 was stunning. Beautiful views out of the bay window, with comfortable chairs. The bathroom was amazing ! and the cleanliness was great.
The best hotel in Aber !
Didn't eat there - but the bar was fine for a quick drink before retiring.
The breakfast was good value.
Just one word of warning about the car park -- approx 500 yards away, in a tight spot with lots of mud and puddles ! But - it was secure, although if we stay again, we won't book the space but find one on the street, preferably the on the prom.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    82
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
287
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Myself and my daughter visited this lovely hotel and were very impressed. Lovely clean and comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. Restaurant very nice and excellent breakfast. My daughter has now chosen Aber as her Uni for next year so look forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: One with a sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turnernicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012 via mobile

Stayed in " blue room" (they're all in colours) on the 3rd floor. Amazing sea view. Beautiful room attention to detail. Very friendly and helpful staff. Had dinner 1st night was so good we booked for our second night and was even better! A little welsh gem

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Herefordbling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

By far the best place to stay in Aber. Comfortable rooms with modern decor. Not only are the usual things supplied, but the towels are beautifully thick, and there are dressing gowns, slippers and cotton wool balls. The food int he restaurant is not cheap but is very well cooked and presented. You do not get the choice of fruits / pastries / cereals that you might get in a larger hotel but what they do provide is lovely and the cooked breakfasts are delicious. We have booked our next stay already!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovegeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Beautiful rooms, very comfortable beds, the bathroom was beautiful and the extra's in the bathroom were a lovely homely touch - cotton wool, cotton buds, dressing gown & slippers.... Just a wonderful home from home. Very modern compared to most places I have stayed in in Aberystwyth! The breakfast was wonderful and the staff were very friendly. 10 out of 10, I won't be looking to book anywhere but here again for the future!

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be just as good as ours, my family stayed in the same hotel so I saw a selec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherD1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just had a lovely weekend at the Gwesty Cymru - as a family we had 4 out of the 8 rooms!! Really enjoyed it. It has a lovely crisp, modern style and the food is really excellent. A room with a sea view is a must - great to sit and watch people go by on the prom and look out to sea. We had a meal on the Sat night and I was very impressed as I am a vegetarian and fussy too, but the chef made me a lovely meal. Gwesty Cymru is really like a great restaurant with rooms. It doesn't have a large bar and there is no lounge but if you get one of the rooms overlooking the sea, that doesn't matter. We went in the winter but it must be even better in the summer as you can sit outside on the terrace and have a drink. If I was staying in Aberystwyth or anywhere else in this area, I wouldn't even consider going anywhere else as it would be a let down by comparison.
Ardderchog, diolch yn fawr iawn.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at the Gwesty recently and it really is a great place to stay.The room was very clean and modern.We did have a problem with a cold radiator but the staff had it working in no time.The breakfast was huge and I can recommend the toast !.Overall a very nice hotel to stay in and we`ll definitely return the next time we visit Aberystwyth.Having stayed in several B&B`s and hotels in Aberystwyth over the last 30 years the Gwesty is a class apart.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
3.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Cymru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Cymru

Property: Gwesty Cymru
Address: 19 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2AZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwesty Cymru 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gwesty Cymru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Cymru Aberystwyth, Wales
Gwesty Cymru Hotel Aberystwyth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing