We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super hotel by the sea”
Review of Gwesty Cymru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwesty Cymru
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A super hotel by the sea”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This really is a excellent hotel. This was my second visit. I spent three night in the attic room which is spacious, stylish and very comfortable. The sea view was a special treat. I had dinner each night in the restaurant and every course was wonderful and substantial. Even though Welsh is the first language used at this hotel English only speakers are made very welcome. All the staff are a credit to the hotel. The dinner bed and breakfast rate was very good value for money. My only complaint is that Gwesty Cymru is so popular that sometimes I have not been able gat a room and nowhere else seems as good. I suggest you book the hotel and restaurant well in advance.

Due to the nature of the building there is no lift meaning this hotel may not be suitable for everybody. I always managed to park with no problem on the road at the front of the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    92
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
59
297
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful hotel, right on Cardigan Bay with a terrific beach view. Very comfortable room with good bed, well appointed bathroom. Food in the restaurant (breakfast and dinner) was killer! Full Welsh breakfast very tasty, served piping hot. For dinner we had roasted beet salad with pine nuts (yummy!) to start, blue cheese crusted squash and walnut tart and lamb rump. Everything was just plain excellent. This place is a gem, but not inexpensive.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickJ835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Went to Aberystwyth immediately after the stormy weather had hit the town on Huw's assertion that everything was fine and It was "Business as usual" and by golly he was right the sun shone and the sea was very well behaved. It was our first visit and won't be our last. The attention to detail was superb in every way . The food and decor of the restaurant were of similar ilk, the staff were extremely attentive and friendly. I highly recommend this little gem and suggest that if you visit Gwesty Cymru you will find it hard not to agree .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a special birthday surprise for my partners birthday.
We stayed New Year's Eve, fantastic loft room with crisp linen and stunning furniture, we dined in the restaurant food was outstanding and locally produced, Beth and Huw were very attentive and professional ensuring there high standards are maintained. Can't wait to return :)))

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dawn292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

For reasons too complicated to describe here we ended up in Aberystwyth for a weekend during a period of the most appalling stormy weather most of us have ever seen. It is now mid February and the paved area of the promenade in Aberystwyth looks like some madman has dumped x thousand tons of shingle and stones along it's length. It looks terrible. Cue the 'Gwesty Cymru' hotel, (a literal translation from Welsh to English just means 'Welsh Hotel' in case you were wondering). The hotel is just at the start of the prom and had missed the worst of the beating and had completely missed the flooding that came with it. It is a small 'boutique-type' hotel with stairs and corridors leading everywhere. The rooms all seem really nicely done out, you have a choice of sea-facing rooms and rear-facing rooms. The standard of our room and bathroom was very high, they have been expensively done out with very good quality furnishings and fittings. The food is excellent, where they can it is Welsh and sourced locally. I won't list them here but there are some very well executed dished on the menu, stuff I have not seen elsewhere. It was one of those places you'd need to stay for at least 5 nights to do the menu proper justice. there is also a very good wine list, and the staff are knowledgeable about what they sell, So all in, very, very good and we will be back. And the staff - about the most helpful and attentive mob I have ever encountered,
Parking - out on the promenade so it may be a bit of a scramble at peak times but they do offer secure parking elsewhere at a price - I did not enquire where but I think it's at £8 a night.
.

Room Tip: Get a front sea-facing room for the full effect. And as I have seen before in Aberystwyth, some suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishonsaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The welcome from the staff could not have been warmer or friendlier. This was a last minute booking that turned into a wonderful surprise. The facilities in the rooms were superior, but the biggest surprise of all was the wonderful dining room - if you've never had a breakfast Scotch Egg, give this hotel a try. It really is the best hotel in Aberystwyth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnabelMoorsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had the attic room. Beautiful slate walls, exposed beams, the sound of the waves crashing outside. Beautiful bathroom with stunning details and nice toiletries. Clean crisp white linens, lots of attention to detail, and an awesome breakfast. Thank you, Gwesty Cymru, for making our trip so special.

Room Tip: We loved the attic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
427 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
315 reviews
3.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
331 reviews
11.8 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Cymru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Cymru

Property: Gwesty Cymru
Address: 19 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2AZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwesty Cymru 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Gwesty Cymru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Cymru Aberystwyth, Wales
Gwesty Cymru Hotel Aberystwyth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing