We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't consider anywhere else to stay in Aberystwyth”
Review of Gwesty Cymru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwesty Cymru
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have stayed here about 10 times over the past three years, to visit our daughter who was at the university. Therefore I feel qualified to recommend this perfect hotel. I can verify all the positive comments made by other reveiwers, the quality, facilities, atmosphere, staff and catering are second to none. On the odd occasion we have had to stay elsewhere due to the it being fully booked we have made sure we at least have dinner there. A really special place.

Room Tip: We have stayed in nearly all of them but room 6 is our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a lovely place, very modern, fresh, spotlessly clean, rooms are all on a coloured theme instead of numbers. Breakfast was wonderful, coffee fresh and more on request happily provided. We ran out of the usual coffee, milk, etc in our room - went down - couldn't have been more helpful giving me handfuls plus offered more biscuits. Our shout in the green room was walk-in, high and spacious. Room was a bit small and faced the rear rooftops but it was the lowest price room. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Staff friendly and helpful. Right on the sea front. 10/10. Would certainly stay again. Thanks :-) :-) Andy & Mark (Birmingham)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I've stayed in Gwesty Cymru several times now and love it. The seafront rooms are stylish with super comfortable beds and lovely, lovely bathrooms. Huw and the team always give a "Croeso cynnes". The food excellent too. Aber is a pretty, vibrant town with mid Wales best countryside on its doorstep. We will come here for a treat over and over again. This last weekend, it's stopped raining for all of an hour but we had a fantastic time ! Aber am byth.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a personal favourite - first floor, sea view to constantly enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandNJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

i came here with my boyfriend for food and from the second we walked through the door the service was great! Lovely friendly staff who were more than happy to speak to us in english (some welsh restaurants can be rude towards english speakers) the food was divine we had three courses it was worth every penny! Will be coming back for sure! Thanks everyone x

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank samwah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked at the Gwesty Cymru for two nights for our nieces wedding. What a lovely place, the rooms we had, were every bit as nice as they looked on the web site, wonderful sea views from room 4, comfortable beds, great bathroom. The staff were welcoming, happy and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We couldn't make a firm booking for dinner on our arrival, as we were unsure what plans had been had been made involving the wedding, and we were advised that at that point they had only a table for two, (we were 4) However when we realised we were free and able to dine in the restaurant, the staff managed to accomodate us outside on the terrace, it was a balmy evening, sitting outside enjoying a beautiful sunset. The food was excellent and surpassed our expectations ( and I'm difficult to impress!) Crab thermidor, and that breakfast scotch egg, well, can't wait to try that again. We couldn't manage a dessert, but if we had, I'm sure it would have been superb.This hotel is a jewel
(I would agree with the previous review though, bottle of water would have been welcome) That's a very small issue, we would, without doubt return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were in Aber for the night, seeing Jon Richardson in the Uni, and decided to stay over for the night. We thought we would spoil ourselves and book into the Gwesty Cymru for one night. We arrived at 12pm, and found out where to park. We got drawn a map of the area to show us where we needed to go and where we'd booked in for lunch. After lunch we headed back to the hotel to check in (we had been offered the chance to book in at 12pm, but decided to wait until after lunch). We booked the blue room, room 6, on the 2nd floor withe a sea view, and corner bath. The bed was so comfy, I had an afternoon nap. It was lovely to fall asleep to the sound of the sea. It was a very quiet hotel, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. All staff spoke Welsh to me, as that is what language I spoke to them, but the spoke English to my husband, as that is what he spoke to them. Breakfast was Fab. We had one full Welsh and one homemade scotch egg on a rosti, done beautifully. Fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and juices were also available. The toast was lovely too, served with real butter. We checked out at 11am and then came back ay 12pm for Sunday lunch. The only tiny comment I would make is that the cold water tap in the room, never got really cold to have a nice glass of water, so a jug/ bottle of water in the room, would have been a nice touch. We had a Fabulous 24 hours in Aberystwyth, and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Enjoyed a secod visit here for a birthday treat meal last weekend. Quite busy but well staffed and prompt service. Interesting menu with local produce and Welsh flavour. Excellent meal - we tried the Aberystwyth Crab Thermidor and were very pleased. Lovely ice cream too for dessert. Staff very pleasant and attentive. Prices seemed reasonable for good quality food. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank janet1654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
331 reviews
3.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Cymru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Cymru

Address: 19 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2AZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £84 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwesty Cymru 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gwesty Cymru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Cymru Aberystwyth, Wales
Gwesty Cymru Hotel Aberystwyth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing