We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bendigedig! Super!”
Review of Gwesty Cymru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwesty Cymru
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Gwesty gorau Aberystwyth heb os nac oni! Aberystwyth's best hotel!

Great location! Rooms are modern, spacious, tasteful and comfortable. Superb food at breakfast, lunch and dinner - and a very warm Welsh welcome! Great spot to sit and watch the world go by! Would return tomorrow if I had the chance!

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the seafront but I wasn't troubled by outside noise during my stay. Maybe r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cymroardaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very nice hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant is very good and the breakfast equally so. Free wi-fi could do with a stronger signal as it nearly dies when closing the door to the room.Apart from that, highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank olamuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for one night in August in the Green room. A small room, but well appointed but hotter than the Sahara! The window was closed shut on arrival but opening it didn't seem to make much difference. There were two fans in the room and we had one of them going all night but we were still BOILING! The only way to cool the room was to prop open the door with a chair so the air could circulate from below, but you can hardly leave it like this all night. Be warned, this room is also was positioned over the kitchen so there was an industrial fan going early morning for breakfast, lunchtime until around 3.30 and then again in the evening. It was switched off at 10 but when it was going, relaxing it was not. There were also builders on scaffolding directly opposite our window. They had a fantastic view as they could look right in! They worked until around 7 on friday and started early on saturday. These guys were keen! Whilst I appreciate this was not the fault of the hotel, our stay was far from relaxing...and this is NOT a cheap place to stay! On the upside, the staff were lovely and the food in the restaurant delicious.

Room Tip: The Green room is small with kitchen fan noise. Choose another room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelmuffin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, clean with great sea view from room one, superb walk in shower and friendly helpful staff! They even stored my wife's insulin in a fridge. Great base to explore west Wales from. Excellent breakfast. Will definitely return to this hotel for another break.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We only had one night in the Cymru, but really enjoyed it.
The room was cosy and very well appointed with a modern shower and bathroom. We had a room at the back, so no sea view, but we knew that when we booked. Also no dedicated parking, but that was OK too.. Friendly and efficient staff on reception and in the restaurant.
The weather was fabulous, and we sat outside at the front, and the food was so good, we had three courses! Lovely Welsh Summer beer to go with it. The chef knows how to cook fresh tasty and well presented dishes, and the same goes for the splendid Welsh breakfast (which included my favourite Laver bread)
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in room 4 overlooking the sea. You can watch the sun go down on two comfy chairs in the bay, wonderful. The staff are very friendly. The room was showing a few signs of wear compared to the web site but only minor. Our small gripe (but the room was £135 per night) was the house keeping, the blinds in the bathroom were dusty, the bins were not always emptied and tea/coffee/toilet rolls not always replaced. On a better note the restaurant is amazing both in the evening and at breakfast time.
The students had gone home for the summer and although our room overlooked the outside eating area we had no problem with noise or getting to sleep.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photoscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Modern guesthouse with very high spec rooms and an amazing breakfast right on the sea front with lovely sea views. Good service. I couldn't ask for any more of a B&B/guesthouse and its probably the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirminghamFoodie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
369 reviews
3.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Cymru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Cymru

Address: 19 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2AZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £79 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwesty Cymru 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Gwesty Cymru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Cymru Aberystwyth, Wales
Gwesty Cymru Hotel Aberystwyth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing