We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VALUE FOR MONEY”
Review of The Helmsman

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberystwyth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Helmsman
Ranked #15 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed for one night, and was pleased with my single room which was clean and had comfy bed, with new TV on wall, and small, but adequate en-suite shower room. Room overlooked the car park at rear and was on second floor (no lift in building). Breakfast was excellent, with fruit and yoghurt, plus cereals, fruit juice and full English which was very tasty.

Good position on prom although no sitting room available for guests to enjoy the view. Five minutes walk from the Cliff Railway which was well worth a visit up Constitution Hill which had wonderful views over the bay and surrounding countryside. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview room on lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    38
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
33
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights while my choir was competing in the Cor Cymru competition which we won. Our weekend was made even better by the warm welcome given to us at the Helmsman b & b in Aberystwyth . Fantastic spotlessly clean and tidy with a excellent breakfast served by friendly staff could not have been better.

Room Tip: Would be happy to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123Elle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Quaint little B&B right on the sea front. Sadly we booked too late to ahve sea view rooms but could hear the sea from the beack bedrooms which was lovely. Small, basic, clean rooms but just what we needed for our stay. Lovely breakfast and good service!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Had yet another good weekend, we have been coming here since 1995, have only missed two visits since then, as always we had a comfortable stay, the room was lovely, the staff were pleasant and very welcoming, Breakfast was beautiful. Thanks for a wonderful stay, will be back 25/10/2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoles65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Middleham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is probably one of the cheapest guest houses on the sea-front at Aber. We were lucky enough to get room 1 which is on the first floor and has a view straight out onto the prom. Overall the place seemed clean and tidy so no issues there. The lady who greeted us seemed polite enough but didn't show us where our room was or where the dining room was, although neither required much detective work.
The decor throughout was a bit of a mish-mash of some quite old and tired looking carpets and wallpaper but with evidence of recent improvements. The window in our room was single glazed and let quite a draught in which I imagine would be a nuisance in a winter storm, but we did notice that most other windows have been replaced. Consiquently our window steamed up heavily so on waking up I at first assumed there was a heavy sea-fog!
Also our ceiling had a dodgy looking stain over the door suggesting a leak, it would not have taken much to cover it up with some special paint. The bathroom was clean and had fresh towel but was a bit pokey and the shower was nowhere near hot enough, maybe due to competition for hot water before breafast.
The breakfast was really good, the indicator being a good quality sausage (not 'bready') with the cooked breakfast, and plenty of choice of cereal, toast, tinned fruit and yoghurt.
No major issues with this place and would probably use again. One point to note is that the parking is a nightmare, the car park is long and thin, probably would only accomodate 5 or 6 cars and involves blocking everyone in - my advice, park on the street out the back.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a sea view but only single glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ecomentalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Perfect location on the promonade. Quiet enough to get a great night's speep.Great room. Tony and Joan were great hosts. Good breakfast. An extremely good value in Aberystwyth. Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P598738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We are now starting 2nd year of our daughter being at Aberystwyth University and stayed once more at The Helmsman. It is a lovely, traditional B&B, bright, clean and comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts and very friendly, helpful service. Will see you again in December! Many thanks!

Room Tip: I think all doubles and family rooms have full on sea view which is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maes-Y-Mor
Maes-Y-Mor
#6 of 36 in Aberystwyth
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helmsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helmsman

Property: The Helmsman
Address: 43 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the centre of the main promenade, overlooking Cardigan Bay. We are close to all the shops, restaurants and bars. There is free WiFi and also a car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Helmsman Hotel Aberystwyth
The Helmsman Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing