We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and budget-friendly”
Review of The Helmsman

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberystwyth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Helmsman
Ranked #18 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Best value in town. Used the TA code to get a single ensuite for £35 a night.

Breakfast was as good as it gets — lovely lady serving, nothing too much trouble. Asked for wholemeal bread but they didn't have any, then the next day she informed me they'd got some for me, lovely! Yoghurt, cereals, full English veggie style, OJ and fruit tea = stuffed.

Room was fine with everything needed. Heating was hot and the water okay. A few little things like the cold tap was hard to turn off and the bed was very creaky, but it's a nice old house.

Easy to find, easy to check in, parking on road fine though they have a carpark too. Great hospitality.

Room Tip: While the sea view is what everyone wants I'm sure, the rooms at the back aren't on a road s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfergr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

We booked very last minute on the Sunday evening of the bank holiday weekend. We were welcomed by Joan who'd booked us into an en-suite double room, as requested. The hotel overlooks the promenade and is within a reasonable walking distance of the shops and amenities. It's clean and warm. Breakfast was lovely. The staff/owners are all very friendly and helpful.

There's parking at the rear of the hotel, however we parked on the road.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clloydie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

As I was staying in Aber for a week I needed somewhere reasonably priced with en-suite and breakfast. For £35 a night inc. breakfast, this was a great find! The only thing wrong was the tv in the room didn't work, would rather it wasn't in there. Other than that, food was great, customer service excellent, bed pretty comfy, parking easy to sort out if their limited spaces are taken. Safe area and great part of Aberystwyth to be in!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had two rooms a double (sea view) and a single, we stayed for 1 night in February as we were visiting the Universaity with our daughter. The building is on the sea front so lovely sounds through our window of the sea against the beach. The welcome we received was lovely and the ckeck in quick and efficient. The rooms are a little tired and dated but everything you need is there, clean linen, fluffy towels, tea & coffee making facilities, TV's and en suite bathrooms. The breakfast was fantastic and the coffee was excellent. Value for money excellent. It cost us £50 for the double and £35 for the single. If our daughter decides on Aber as her choice Universaity we know where to stay when we visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betsyclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed for one night, and was pleased with my single room which was clean and had comfy bed, with new TV on wall, and small, but adequate en-suite shower room. Room overlooked the car park at rear and was on second floor (no lift in building). Breakfast was excellent, with fruit and yoghurt, plus cereals, fruit juice and full English which was very tasty.

Good position on prom although no sitting room available for guests to enjoy the view. Five minutes walk from the Cliff Railway which was well worth a visit up Constitution Hill which had wonderful views over the bay and surrounding countryside. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview room on lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights while my choir was competing in the Cor Cymru competition which we won. Our weekend was made even better by the warm welcome given to us at the Helmsman b & b in Aberystwyth . Fantastic spotlessly clean and tidy with a excellent breakfast served by friendly staff could not have been better.

Room Tip: Would be happy to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Quaint little B&B right on the sea front. Sadly we booked too late to ahve sea view rooms but could hear the sea from the beack bedrooms which was lovely. Small, basic, clean rooms but just what we needed for our stay. Lovely breakfast and good service!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123Elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
4.1 mi away
Llety Ceiro Country Guest House
9.3 mi away
Brynarth Country Guest House
10.2 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helmsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helmsman

Address: 43 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £36 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Helmsman 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the centre of the main promenade, overlooking Cardigan Bay. We are close to all the shops, restaurants and bars. There is free WiFi and also a car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Helmsman Hotel Aberystwyth
The Helmsman Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing