We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal but could have done more with the sea bass”

Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 150 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice meal but could have done more with the sea bass”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The meal we ordered came with well prepared and presented melon, and the soup was delicious. My husband's beef was a well cooked and very tasty meal, which he enjoyed. I had ordered the sea bass, but found it slightly dry with no sauce of any kind to complement it-even a little butter would have helped. Having said that several people did like it like that, but I found it lacked flavour. There was a nice desert of a sort of meringue with cream and strawberries, with jelly in it. This was also very tasty.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    6
    4
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Went for Sunday carvery, can't fault the food or service. 5 meats, roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding at the carvery then veg and boiled potato served to table with gravy yum yum. I also defy anyone to refuse pudding when its on a table in the middle of the room! Would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneNunnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great for wedding”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a great place to hold a wedding reception, large bar area, and the food was fantastic, both the sit down meal and the large buffet for the evening. Drinks were reasonably priced and not over the top!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthamptonBeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
306 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“The best Sunday lunch in Aberystwyth”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Help yourself to a choice of starters or order soup. I had the broccoli and stilton soup which was a meal in itself. Very tasty.
Then the main course. There was a choice of five meats in the carvery -turkey, beef, pork, lamb or ham. Vegetables and gravy were freshly brought to the table. Excellent meal. Then the sweet table in the centre of the room. What a choice! I would have eaten several if I could. It all looked so appealing. I had the rice pudding - perfect, along with some fresh strawberries. All for £17.95 and half price for kids under 10.
The Marine is located on the promenade in Aberystwyth. Welsh speaking staff as well. Diolch yn fawr.
We will definitely call again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Craffwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday carvery is a must!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

For anyone living in or visiting Aberystwyth Sunday lunch in the Marine is a must try. There is a choice of 5-6 different meats on offer every Sunday (I had a slice of each!!) The veg is fresh and plentiful as are the yorkshire puddings and roast potatoes. The service is always excellent, friendly and efficient. There is also a good choice of starters and the sweet table is something else!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Geraint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing