We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star Sunday Carvery”

Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 148 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
135 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 786 helpful votes
“5 Star Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Whilst you select your cuts of Beef, Pork, Lamb, Turkey and Ham from the Carvery, your waitress delivers a selection of vegetables to your table.

The prices are slightly more than your average Sunday Lunch but the portions and quality are well worth it.

Afterwards, walk off your meal on the promenade and enjoy a trip on the Cliff Railway.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JCA1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    6
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What Sunday is for”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

If you don't like carvery's - then you haven't been here before. Being English we're only used to the pub chains that provide this type of service. The isn't anything more different. The starters (except for the soup) are all in a chiller approx 8' x 4' - 3 types of smoked fish, prawns, pate, pastas, eggs in mayo, loads of salad - you name it, it's here. Then for the main course - the normal ham, turkey, lamb, pork, beef - but then it's never normal here, you can have a slice of everything. Help yourself to the dressings, roasties and gravy, and crawl to your table to await the arrival of at least 3 vegetables and some new potatoes. If I was being piccy, the yorkshire's were not as crisp as usual, but hey, let's not be greedy!! Then you have a sweet table to be believed. It might be a tad more expensive than that which we get up north, but boy is it worth it. We've been here now for several years, it never disappoints!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinwheelsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice meal but could have done more with the sea bass”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The meal we ordered came with well prepared and presented melon, and the soup was delicious. My husband's beef was a well cooked and very tasty meal, which he enjoyed. I had ordered the sea bass, but found it slightly dry with no sauce of any kind to complement it-even a little butter would have helped. Having said that several people did like it like that, but I found it lacked flavour. There was a nice desert of a sort of meringue with cream and strawberries, with jelly in it. This was also very tasty.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Went for Sunday carvery, can't fault the food or service. 5 meats, roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding at the carvery then veg and boiled potato served to table with gravy yum yum. I also defy anyone to refuse pudding when its on a table in the middle of the room! Would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneNunnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great for wedding”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a great place to hold a wedding reception, large bar area, and the food was fantastic, both the sit down meal and the large buffet for the evening. Drinks were reasonably priced and not over the top!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthamptonBeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Gwesty'r Marine Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing