We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of The Olive Branch

The Olive Branch
Ranked #29 of 148 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

WE LOVED THIS PLACE.

With sea views and plenty of seating it is a fantastic place to eat.

The staff were attentive but not over bearing, ready to answer any request.
The food was very quick to arrive and every bit as tasty as it looked.
I had the Stefado which was excellent, but the salmon was better I was told by the person opposite who was devouring it.
The Souvlaki was equally as well received as the other meals.

I was nicely surprised to find that they sell genuine Keo beer fron Cyprus also.

Upstairs it looked as if there were quite a few tables for two set out,so it looks a nice place for couples to enjoy.

Overall a great place to eat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank r00uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    121
    48
    22
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“traditional greek”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My husband and i popped in here for our lunch and were very pleased, a good menu selection, nice ambience and polite staff...we had a greek salad and were impressed ,even though its simplistic it was good.My husband having lived in Cyprus and Greece was impressed and it takes alot to impress him lol If we were in Aberystwyth again we would go and visit this restaurant !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cornishsprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not go to this restaurant”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We had the misfortune to find ourselves in the olive branch restaurant over the weekend. Do not go to this restaurant it is rubbish, the food was tasteless and not presented well, the staff were not very good and we found the overall experience not a pleasant one.
It was also very overpriced and not worth the money paid.
I do not recommend this place and I certainly will not be going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious and lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Had a beautifully prepared meal here with my daughter. We both said we will come back here. The atmosphere was brillliant really freindly family atmosphere, wide range of customers. Would definitely recommend and will certainly be going back.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annie2171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fairly good”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere.
My starter was lovely-filo pastry and feta cheese, but my main course-salmon- was dissapointing. I ordered a traditional dessert that was far too sweet and it was served with ''squirty cream'' which made it even seewter. I asked for some yoghurt to go with it instead but the waiter refused. Overall a fairly average meal. was dissapointed not to get the yoghurt! :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xjustxchillx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Branch also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing