We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcome find after a hectic and long day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Management Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a tremendous place - and it deserved better than us! We were shattered after a busy day and this hotel was booked on line at the very last minute - meaning that we arrived late and just had time for a drink before the bar shut. Thankfully the room and our bed were so comfortable that we got a good nights sleep.
In the morning we were found spectacular views from the breakfast room over the Menai Straits and public rooms of great beauty.
The bill didn't break the bank and the included breakfasts were good.
Especially noteworthy were the night reception guy - who was really welcoming

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Around the World in 80 Ways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for The Management Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Reception staff very efficient and friendly. Must admit that thought directions to room seemed complicated, but no, easy to follow and room was very good.

Good comfortable bed and pillows, shower and towels good.

WIFI good, as was coffee/tea making facilities.

Breakfast, this is the downfall, service good, food, well keeping food under heat lights, you'll always have dried bacon, hard baked beans, shrivelled up mushrooms and eggs of any description you wouldn't touch.
Also, not child friendly, but why should it be?

I really liked my stay there and will return, just sort the breakfast out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireSweep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here for a night, slept perfectly, nice bed, if you're interested in it a large section of tv channels, free wifi, and a coffee costa one floor up. Breakfast service very kind and efficient, but not special. View out of management center building is very pretty, on the sound. Room has good shower, good desk to work at. Style a bit old fashioned, but hey, this is a college. It's very quiet.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank EuropeanVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have held numerous courses here over the past 18 months. Pros: comfortable rooms with excellent facilities; superb lunch buffets; helpful staff, when prompted; pleasant ambience.
Cons: no dedicated member of staff for each conference/course; awful tea and coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshman_on_2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed for two nights here in an Executive room and was very impressed with the quality of accommodation and food. Our clean and spacious room offered a truly king-size bed and well equipped bathroom. Very good power shower but no bath - note that if you want a bath this request has to be made on booking as rooms with baths are limited. We had breakfast and dinner on site in the "1884" bar/brasserie and the quality and presentation of the dishes offered were excellent. Our room (no 2) had a lovely view over to the Menai Straits. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Downside? None really, unless you count the layout which a bit up and down in terms of levels and stairs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perjam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a few days in North Wales. Stayed here and found it to be of a good standard. Double room which I would say was very slightly on the small side but as we generally just slept there it wasn't just great problem. Clean and plenty of good of hot water and the towels were superb. Good location but could do with a map to find your room and also of the town and cut throughs of the other university buildings. Breakfast very good and all the staff very pleasant with the exception of the girl in the Costa Coffee Shop to say she hid her charm is a massive under statement (on duty 5.30 pm Friday 14th). Bar is great shame it is so under used.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our third stay here in the last few years. Consistently good. It is a lovely 120 year old building that has been completely updated internally. It is: bright, comfortable and spotless as well as having good bedrooms and bathrooms. Facilities are suitable for both leisure and business. It is conveniently located for the university, train station and town with lovely views across the Menai. It is also well positioned for Caernarfon and Anglesey. Our breakfasts were very good and the staff extremely friendly, polite and helpful. It is reasonably priced despite having little competition nearby. Because it is primarily an academic centre, the facilities and atmosphere in the public areas are not the same as in normal tourist hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.5 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bangor
281 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
0.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bangor
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,022 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
459 reviews
8.6 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Management Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Management Centre

Address: College Road, Bangor LL57 2DG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Bangor
Price Range: £84 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Management Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Management Centre is graded as Visit Wales 4 star Guest Accommodation and offers 57 en-suite guest bedrooms that have achieved the Visit Wales Business Class Gold Standard. Many of the rooms have stunning views of the Menai Strait and Anglesey. Facilities are fully accessible for wheelchair users, please note that due to The Management Centre being a listed building, there is no lift access to the third floor bedrooms.Our range of guest bedrooms include single, twin, double and king executive and all come equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi and a dedicated workspace for all your business or study needs. All guest bedrooms are en-suite with complimentary tea and coffee making facilities and digital flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Management Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Management Centre Hotel Bangor
The Management Centre Bangor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing