We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hosts”

Y Garth Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Y Garth Guest House
Ranked #2 of 24 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best hosts”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Les and Rita are two of the nicest hosts that i have had the pleasure of meeting. Nothing is too much trouble to them, and they are always at hand to help you with almost anything. Rita's hearty breakfasts are second to none. Over breakfast, you are treated to Les' sense of humour, jokes, and charisma.
Over a period of twelve months, i have stayed here on several occasions. I have stayed in all rooms and find them all spotless and clean. The en-suite showers are excellent. The overall service excellent too.
I would thoroughly recommend this Guest house for solo/ couples/ family.
P.S ... Thanks Les and Rita for always making us welcome.

Room Tip: En-suite room...lovely shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    35
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
28
37
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed at Y Garth for one night last Saturday as we were bringing our daughter back for her 2nd year at Bangor Uni. After reading the reviews on here and the fact that it was conveniently located very close to her new house, thought we'd give it a go (we do not usually stay B & B) . So glad we did. Les is a wonderful host and even though we literally dropped our bags then left to help our daughter move in and didn't return until late he made us feel very welcome.
Room was absolutely fine, clean and fresh with a nice ensuite - in fact for the price we paid it was excellent value.
Good hot full English the next morning and again friendly chat from Les.
In fact it was such a nice stay we are going back next Saturday as there is some more work to do on daughter's house and we thought rather than drive back the same day we'd treat ourselves to another stay in this lovely B & B.
Thanks Les and Rita from 'Emperor Roscoe' - you know who we are Les!

Room Tip: Not all rooms are ensuite apparently so do check - the hosts did ask our preference on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KooRuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham City
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Have just returned from our 4th visit in two years. As always there is a friendly welcome, rooms clean and comfortable, with all you could need (tea and coffee, tv, towels) plus a delicious and substantial freshly cooked full English breakfast. Great base for visiting son at the university and exploring beautiful part of the country. A ten minute walk to the pier in one direction and the same in the other direction to shops, cafes and restaurants in town centre. Main university accommodation is really a short car journey away at the other end of town. Host helpful with ideas of places to visit plus stories and anecdotes if you wish to sit and chat over breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin-DurhamCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

water takes ages to warm up plus rooms to clamey stayed here because i had seen the 100% thumbs up i come to bangor a few times over the year will not stay here again manager miserable but the manageress very friendly

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank armydags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Gloomy guesthouse with some comfortable rooms at the back - our rooms was poorly lit and institutional with uncomfortable bed. Landlord was very awkward about us arriving later than originally notified. Much-vaunted breakfast was bog-standard cash and carry fry-up.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DjangoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The hosts are very friendly and helpful. Les suggested me where to visit in north Wales and I had a good time. My room on the ground floor is spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast is good and delicious. The only thing I had trouble is that it's not a good idea to carry a luggage walking to the house for about half an hour. It's better to take a bus or a taxi in front of the railway station.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsianghsiangw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Les made us very welcome from the start and Margaret's breakfast was the best I have had for quite some time.
The rooms had everything I needed to make my stay very comfortable, very spacious with a lovely big bay window together with a very comfortable bed.
We all enjoyed our stay and especially the stories Les had to tell us. He advised us on the best pubs and places to eat.
Well done Les! hope to see you again.
From The WaterAid Swansea Mountaineers!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey_corney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.3 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bangor
276 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
0.9 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
358 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
661 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ashbrook, Bangor Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Garth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Garth Guest House

Property: Y Garth Guest House
Address: Y-Garth Garth Road, Bangor LL57 2RT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
y Garth Guest House Hotel Bangor
Y Garth Guest House Bangor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing