We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Y Garth Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Idwal Cottage(Bethesda)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Slate(Bangor)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Bangor Wales(Bangor)(Great Value!)
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
123
39
9
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
39
9
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice guesthouseles makesreal sensewalking holidaybreakfasts were greatwhilst visiting our sonfull english breakfastmaking me feelexcellent cooked breakfastclean and tidy roomsthank you very muchnice stayexcellent roomwarm welcomevisit bangortrain stationbangor pier
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Im a contracter stayed here for 2 weeks solid i must say i hated every moment of it ,les the owner is a horrible man only interested in ur money always swearing infront guests including children,trys to pressure u into things,and moves u.from ur room to another even th
o uve paid ur original room,rita is sound but just because of les and his attitude id avoid this place like the plague

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hulsedog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I would be rating this up one notch except for the filth on the shared bathroom extractor fan. This has not been cleaned for ages. Otherwise it is what I would expect for a a tradesman's hotel but not from a hotel with regular tourists as guests. Our welcome was quite a strong stare of potential disapproval. Yes, after that Les is welcoming, but the first impression was that he was suspicious.

Night time was noisy as can be with an endless tramp of those needing a pee to the shared bathroom. How many rooms have the en suite facilities advertised on the sign outside?

Breakfast was well cooked. The bacon was generous, but flavourless, and the catering sausages, while served as a pair, something that makes a pleasant change, were catering sausages. I'd prefer one good one to two poor ones any day. Butter please, not Flora, and tea in a pot, not a mug of liquid served with no offer of a refill

It needs to aim clearly for a market and cater for it well. At present I'm not sure it knows what type of a guest house it is. It's budget priced, certainly.

Room Tip: Ask for ensuite facilities!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gtbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This was a first visit to Wales (and to Bangor) for my wife and I, travelling to visit some of my family roots. Wanting to be right in town, I chose Y Garth. Indeed, the location is great- just a short walk from everything, including the beautiful Bangor Pier. But more that the great location, the room was spotlessly clean and bright, with a lovely view of the park on the Garth Road- and most of all, our hosts Les and Rita and perfectly wonderful. Lots of enjoyable conversation made the environment familial and jovial. The breakfasts are great and thoughtfully made. We loved every part of our week in Bangor.
As I said to Les, this is THE place to stay in Bangor!

Room Tip: Y Garth is approximately a leisurely 15 minute walk from the Bangor train station.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaineAbraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

my son is in his third year at Bangor uni.He stayed at the Y Garth when he first looked at the uni,Les and Rita made him very welcome and even picked him up from the station! Since then we have stayed 2 or 3 times each year and have always had a lovely stay .Rooms are always warm and clean and breakfast is fantastic.We are looking forward to staying in July for graduation.Town centre and pier are 5 mins away and lots of nice places to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaZ b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was our first stay in Bangor and at Y Garth and we hope to come back to both. Les arranged a ground floor room (easier for wheelchair) and picked us up from the station. The room was large as was the breakfast. Les and Rita were very helpful and recommended places to eat (two of which - the Spile and the end of pier cafe - we visited and were likewise impressed)
All in all a great short stay

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norehearsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews