We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best in the area (Bangor/Caernarfon)”

The Garden Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 157 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$23
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Garden Hotel & Cantonese Restaurant has been welcoming discerning diners to Bangor for 32 years and remains a heavenly haven of culinary excellence.Proprietor Andrew Lui established the Garden Hotel & Cantonese Restaurant in 1981 following a chemical engineering degree and career, and is now a leading authority on Cantonese cooking. Working together with wife and Head Chef, Alice Lui who trained in Hong Kong and China.The restaurant is open seven days a week with a comprehensive a la carte menu from 2.00pm to 09.30pm. “There are three basic principles that I believe are essential for success,” Andrew adds.“The first is good cuisine; the second is good service and thirdly, a good environment.All our dishes are freshly prepared and cooked with the finest ingredients. The Garden Cantonese Restaurant goes a little step further by offering dishes to suit vegans, lacto vegetarians, ovo-lacto vegetarians and customers with nut, dairy or gluten allergies. We also understand the importance of healthy eating and use only the healthiest of oils and lean produce in our cuisine.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Still the best in the area (Bangor/Caernarfon)”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Been eating there for years now and it's still the same quality although sometime some dishes are not hot enough, but apart from that, still good and good waiting staff some restaurant could learn from them.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Wales63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    40
    11
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gluten free friendly”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having been a coeliac for 30 years this is only the 2nd Chinese meal I have had in that time and by far the best. Alex was well informed as to what was gluten free and what wasn't. My 1st choice main course wasn't but it was easy to choose a 2nd which was.

Don't be put off by the exterior, the interior is fine and the staff friendly and welcoming.

We will definitely visit again when in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank barbs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have been coming here for many years as a Family , and have never been disappointed :) Food always fresh and presented good and very tasty . Staff very friendly and polite :) When we have been for a special occasion they make the night special and memorable . Very recommended!! Best Cantonese Restaurant ever :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 11Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have been frequenting the Garden restaurant for nearly thirty years, so I guess it is time to post a review!

In short, we have never had a bad meal here- it is always consistently good, without exception. The service is second to none, friendly, but unobtrusive. A great family run business. We have eaten at Chinese restaurants all over the world, but none ever come close to the quality here! There are no other Chinese restaurants in the area that I could recommend. We travel 30 miles to this one!

As you may have gathered.....I would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank nmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Cantonese In The Area”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I haven't been here for quite a while, it always used to be excellent! I was out with the kids for the day and thought we'd call in for a meal.
It was excellent in every way, food and service 1st class!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank chrisbrynmawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

 
Bangor, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Garden Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing