We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful service overall. Avoid at all costs !”
Review of Spicy Vujon

Spicy Vujon
Ranked #91 of 156 Restaurants in Bangor
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful service overall. Avoid at all costs !”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went with the family to this restaurant. Very quiet, which should have set off alarm bells but decided to give it a try. Food was bland, service from the manager was non existent & to top it all off, over charged us ! Definitely won't be going back, even if it's the last Indian in Bangor ( which incidentally it is ! ) ash

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    30
    5
    8
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Left a lot to be desired”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Food was nice enough but the service slow, items missed off the order and how they get away with calling those few iceberg lettuce shreds, a pathetic slice of tomato and two cucumber trimmings a green salad I do not know... I was driving so was on coke - obviously out of a larger bottle which had probably been opened the previous night as it was far from fizzy... And then there were the plates... clean enough on top but filthy underneath with bits of dried-on food and the sauce pots were chipped... Conspicuous lack of food hygiene rating displayed which makes me think they didn't score all that well... The food itself was tasty enough if a little cold by the time the rice arrived... Décor was dated and the table next to use strewn with letters and packets from where someone had obviously been doing some office work earlier on... Waitress looked like she was new to the whole serving experience; nothing wrong with that because everyone has to be new sometimes but a simple apology/explanation would not have gone amiss... If she wasn't new then I think it's time to brush up your skills...

Also interesting to see some establishment reviewers working there this evening...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gareth_aethwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food ”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

A great little restaurant fantastic Indian cuisine at its best I've tasted in a long time great staff with good noligeof food

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“My favourite Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The food in the Spicy Vujon is a mixture of Bengali and Indian dishes. The Vujon offers the classics as well as their own specialties, and while I haven't tried all of them yet, the 10 different dishes I have tried here were all delectable, prepared with quality and care.

The service is attentive and prompt and the food does not take long to arrive either.
The choice of starters, mains, sides is vast and the dessert menu is wholesome too.
(I highly recommend their own recipe for the 'Lassi' a yogurt like milkshake that you can sip at the end after a hot curry!

The food is well priced, and is great value.

I honestly believe this is the Best Indian food you can get in Bangor, and possibly the nicest I have tried in my entire life

-Alek

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tasty and good value”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We've been here a couple of times while visiting Bangor and have always enjoyed it. The food is very tasty (and not hot, if you want to avoid it). There is a good choice on the menu and the staff are attentive and helpful. We're not regular "Indian-goers" but had a very enjoyable meal at a good price - we left the restaurant pleasantly stuffed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spicy Vujon also viewed

Bethesda, Bangor
 
Bangor, Gwynedd
Bethesda, Bangor
 

Been to Spicy Vujon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing