We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Feather Down Farms at Glanmor Isaf Talybont
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The farm location is stunning with the most amazing views to the mountains and Penrhyn Castle. The tents are great, everything you could need and v comfy. Owen the farmer was the most lovely host - he got the boys involved with milking the lambs and the highlight of their holiday (and ours!) was going on a wonderful farm tour on a trailer on the back of a quad bike. My 3 and 5 year old were fascinated seeing a sheep dog in action and hearing all about the farm. They loved the sandpit and the tyre swing. The bathrooms were v clean and the shop well stocked. I loved walking and running along the coast path which is only 1 field away from the tent. All in all I couldn't fault it. We've done feather down before and this was our favourite farm. I don't normally write reviews but this really is a superb holiday destination and we will most definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamsin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

A lovely weekend enjoyed by children and adults alike. Welcomed by Owen and Elin, the children (7 & 4) adored the farm and the freedom that the safety of the orchard provided. For adults, it was beautiful and peaceful and a real opportunity to relax. The tent was fabulous, novel but equally comfortable and practical. Spoilt for choice of things to do in the local area, we would recommend Galnmor Isaf to all!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just come back from a mid week stay at Glanmor Isaf. This is our second time Glamping with Feather Down Farm.

Feather Down Farm camping is a luxury with all home comforts that you could wish for. What made this stay special was Owen. He greeted us on arrival and each day he would come to visit in the morning & early evening to make sure we were ok & to give advice as to where to go on our days out.

The site of the farm is great for visiting all the nearby attractions like Aber Falls or Penryth Castle. Our daughter (4 yrs) loved playing in the sand pit on the farm. Pizza night was great fun and very enjoyable and it tasted fab, cooked in the outside wood burning oven by Owen.

We would highly recommend this feather down farm as it's location is great and the farmer Owen was very friendly & welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank keithandsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just returned from our first feather down experience and it was so good it's prompted me to write my first ever trip advisor review. My kids are 7,5 and 3 and the first thing to note is they were safe, outdoors and happy with no TV or electrical equipment in sight.
The tent was amazing, the brochures can't do justice to how amazing they were. And the wood burner and campfires forced us to slow down and really enjoy our surroundings.
The thing that made the holiday was the friendliness of Owen and the Pritchard family. Nothing was too much trouble and even though it a a farm first and he was very busy he always found time to involve the kids in his morning checks and advising on where to go for day trips. The location is amazing too with a beach one field away and Llandudno, Conway and Anglesey all within day trip distance. We are hooked and will definitely be back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJoK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We have just returned from our first Featherdown Farm experience, we had a wonderful time, so relaxing. Our one year old loved it especially the animals. The area is stunning, so much to do, you can spend as much or as little as you like. The family are so hospitable. The welcome meal was lovely, pizza night fab. Can't rate it enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My previous encounters with camping were limited to MotoGP at Donnington and V Festival. They had scarred me for life!
A friend recommended FeatherDown as she thought our 18 month old daughter would enjoy it. What an understatement that turned out to be!
We arrived a little early, so we drove down the the nature reserve at the end of the lane and we were greeted with a beautiful beach! Things were looking good.
Arriving on the farm, nerves took a hold. Was I mad, an OCD clean freak bringing a 'baby' to a farm to stay in a tent?!
David waved us in and Owen came to meet us at the car. I immediately felt at home.

We were shown the showers (in a separate barn, 2 wet rooms and a shower room), the honesty shop (very quaint and had everything we needed) and then through the orchard to our 'tent'.

As fabulous as the pictures are on the website, they just don't do the accommodation justice. I was blown away. Spotlessly clean, fanatically shabby chic and surprisingly comfortable. The tent was like a house with canvas. A house I could happily live in! The beds were comfy, well laid out and supplied with pristine white linens. The kitchen, well stocked with pots, pans and utensils. Including a coffee grinder and cafeteria. And the loo was much more civilised than I anticipated!
Being total townies, Owen showed us how to use the wood burning stove, paraffin lamps and the like. Explained where we could collect wood for the fire pit outside and gave us a run down of how the farm worked. He looked exhausted from a day on the farm but had all the time in the world for us!

We quickly settled in, said hi to our new neighbours and watched as our little person explored all there was to see.

Each day Owen took the time to ask what our plans were, gave great toddler friendly days out tips and checked we were happy.

We had a brilliant week, there's too much to say it all on here. But I'm a convert. It's nothing like the camping I've been subjected to in the past and we all enjoyed it so much more than we would have being in a hotel with a toddler.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsysmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

As a confirmed hater of camping, the Featherdown Farms experience was a compromise to let my husband take our 3 year old camping without me having to slum it! And slumming it was certainly not on the cards - the tents are huge, well laid out with everything you need, from a flushing loo to coffee grinder, proper beds and duvet covers. We had fun learning how to use the wood burning stove and got used to planning meals and hot drinks ahead, saving hot water in a flask for later use. It was chilly in the evenings and overnight but nothing some layers didn't sort out.

The highlight had to be the space and freedom for our daughter. The tents are set out in an orchard, which is enclosed and contains a sandpit, tyre swing and wooden playhouse. We could watch her from the tent or the picnic table outside. She made a friend and it was lovely watching them play hide and seek while we chatted with neighbours over pizza cooked by Owen in the brick pizza oven (easily the best I've tasted!). She also had a ball with the animals, collecting fresh eggs every morning for breakfast, chatting to the pigs and helping David feed the lambs.

Location is also ideal - lots to do in the area, especially with young children. Beaches close by, including a pebbly but stunning one just across a field from the farm.

All of this was made by the friendliness of all of the Pritchard family. Owen in particular checked every day to make sure we had everything we needed, to chat over our plans for the day and make suggestions, and to let us know what was happening on the farm. Taking us out to see lambing in action was a great opportunity for us townies and Owen patiently answered all questions. This was the busiest time of their year (lambing) but he always found time to spend with us. Ann also called us a few days before arrival to check whether we had any questions, which was a nice touch, and David always made sure he let us know when the lambs were being fed so we could take part.

Thanks to everyone at Glanmor Isaf for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLTGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.0 mi away
Pant Teg B & B
Pant Teg B & B
#1 of 2 in Tregarth
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Idwal Cottage
YHA Idwal Cottage
#2 of 4 in Bethesda
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snowdonia Mountain Lodge
Snowdonia Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in Bethesda
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bangor
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bangor
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashbrook, Bangor Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feather Down Farms at Glanmor Isaf Talybont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farms at Glanmor Isaf Talybont

Address: Bangor LL57 3YH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Bangor
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted best Feather Down Farm for hospitality in 2010, you're guaranteed a warm, Welsh-speaking welcome at Glanmor Isaf. We are just across from the island of Anglesey and behind us stretch the foothills of Snowdon, both of which we are an ideal base for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Feather Down Farms At Glanmor Isaf Talybont Bangor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing