We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 or 3 star?”
Review of Eryl Mor

Eryl Mor
Ranked #38 of 160 Restaurants in Bangor
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“2 or 3 star?”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Can't remember if this was 2 or 3 star to be honest. Room was quite small and pokey. Where I saw other rooms which were much nicer. Luck of the draw I suppose. Good grub and nice staff however overlooking The Menai Straits, Anglesey and the Pier!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank no1pinkpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice intention - less nice reality”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

the view is beautiful... when u see it from outside the building leaves a really good impression ... when u go in .. things change a lil bit. First there are 10 15 steps to arrive to the reception ... if u have a heavy luggage it's really unconfortable.. then u go in the room. the room is ok, good beds.. but the shower kept losing a piece everytime i used it, the tv had no remote.. apparently people stole them, the tv was flat and hanging high on the wall.. if u wanted to watch it laying in bed u couldn't see nothing. Then the service ... the waitress come everymorning to clean the room but everything she does is to set the bed and leave some cookies.. all the dirt on the floor stays there... then breakfast is served on plastic table cloths and the two waitresses are sort of rude with the guests... one morning i asked to give me a full "cup" of milk ... cause milk and sugar stay open on the table everymorning and the sugar all day long ... which i find not really higienic .. so when i came to breakfast my cup was half empty cause the client before me maybe drank it .. and the lady not nicely argued with me cause i wanted a new one ... then one morning there were 4 arabic men not speaking a very good english and ordering breakfast not all together but one thing at the time ... the waitress first didn't help them at all explaining how breakfast worked but then started yelling at them that they couldn't order things separatly ... if the hotel were mine i would have fired her right the way.
concluding it's ok to stay there for a couple nights but there's no clue on the meaning of hospitality and the price for a single room should be 30 pounds.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zazzolina12986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stay in the conservatory”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Great views over the Menai Straight (perfect when it is a bit cool to sit outside)

The 4 of us had each chosen a different meal. All 4 meals turned up within 20 minutes, hot, plentiful and delicious, even the cheap ones.

The beer pump had a problem but the staff was very apologetic.

The inside is in need of refurbishment, so if necessary, just walk fast to the loo and come back to the magnificent view!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst meal we've ever had”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The place was filthy, the chairs were covered in food debris & dust from years gone by, and there was a generally shoddy appearance. Whilst waiting for the food to come, we ordered drinks, when they came there were bits of something white floating in them. The side salad was brown & limp, mushrooms looked like they had been recyled from breakfast, but to top it all off there were dogs walking around the food area and we were appalled to witness the waitress on her knees cuddling the dogs, resulting in her clothing being contaminated with dog hair bearing in mind she'd used her sleaves to carry our food to the table. When we complained about this we were told they had a dog friendly policy ! hence why they were feeding the dogs in the restaurant. Never will I set foot in the place again

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eryl Mor also viewed

 

Been to Eryl Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing