We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, beautiful views”
Review of Eryl Mor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eryl Mor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for one night (Fri 15 August) because we were walking up Snowdon the following day. We were shown straight up to our room which us was clean, tidy and well presented with beautiful views over the Bay. Because we had the dog, they served breakfast for us in the Bar so we didn't have to leave her in the room which was very good of them. Breakfast itself was served hot and fresh and was very nice.

Room Tip: Room 8 overlooks the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andrew_wyrobek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Not suitable for the less agile steps and staires everywhere. Our room on the top floor had a lovely view, and overall was'nt that bad.But the bedding was not fresh and the pillows and covers
needed replacing.The breakfast was very greasy only had the one during our stay, it was something on toast after that.We had two evening meals there the first average to poor, the second meal mixed. My meal was good [ sweet chily ] my wifes meal was probably the worst she
has ever been offered, and it took an hour to come. My advice would be is to eat out.On the plus side we found the staff very pleasant. We wont be going back!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view its the only plus for this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Good: great view over Menai Strait and bedroom was quite nice.
Cooked breakfast was quite nice.

Bad: Common areas of the building that contained our bedroom were terrible! Old, faded, dirty carpet on stairs and hallway. Paint falling off the walls. There were dead leaves on the stairs in the same spot for our 2 day visit.
The string for our bathroom light in was filthy.
Wifi signal in our room was almost non-eixistent.
No TV remote control in our room.
Breakfast waiting staff were grumpy and not welcoming. They got quite angry with some non-English speaking guests that were trying to order breakfast.

I would not return - no reason to anyway because Bangor is DEAD! nothing of interest in that city.

Room Tip: Ask for one with wifi signal that works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AGMxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is dire. We were booked in for 2 nights at £85 per night and left after one. It's so old and dated it's like going back to the 70's. Bedding was marked and smelled unclean and customer service at breakfast was sadly lacking. Only thing going for it was the view of the pier. Wanted to check out as soon as we'd arrived, it's truly horrible.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for two nights.The staff are very welcoming and helpful.The room was clean and tidy and well serviced. The breakfast was of a good quality and served quickly and with a smile. The decor is looking a little tired and needs brightening up.Felt that the price we paid for the room was a little too much for the style of hotel.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank jono2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Location 'adjacent' to Bangor pier and 10 minutes walking distance to the town made this quite attractive.

Staff were friendly but the accommodation and breakfast / dining facilities very tired.

Shower unreliable, lots of steps - all in all you will likely find better value elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel was the location for a funeral tea we were attending so we decided to book B&B to split our journey. I read trip advisor after booking and was a bit unsure after reading some poor reviews. We need not have worried as this hotel is fine. The views are superb being on an elevated position but that also means steps up to the hotel and the rooms. I mentioned this on booking so were put in room 2 in the main hotel one floor up, which was fine and quite a decent sized room which was clean and comfortable. For the price we thought the hotel was good value, the customer service was efficient. We had dinner and breakfast, all of which was well presented, of good quality and quantity. It's not a fancy hotel, but for us the experience was good and location was superb. There are few places in the UK where you can walk out of your hotel and stroll down a beautiful Victorian pier, stroll into a city centre, or pop into the traditional pub just over the road. If steps and stairs will be real problem for you then go elsewhere but otherwise this we thought was fine.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wuzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
1.0 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bangor
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
369 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eryl Mor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eryl Mor Hotel

Address: 2 Upper Garth Road, Bangor LL57 2SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: £69 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eryl Mor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location. With stunning views over the Menai Straits, Bangor Pier and out to Snowdonia the location could not be better. In a elevated position you can enjoy the view from the conservatory restaurant, bar or front facing room. There are 20 double / twin / family rooms, all with private bathroom, free Wi Fi, free car parking (11 spaces). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eryl Mor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eryl Mor Bangor
Eryl Mor Hotel Bangor, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing