We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Victorian gem”
Review of Bangor Garth

Bangor Garth
Ranked #4 of 37 things to do in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true Victorian gem”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Love the little businesses trading in the glazed huts on the pier itself. Stunning views to the mountains too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank danrkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    160
    47
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful views. Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stumbled upon the pier when we were driving around Bangor. There was a nominal charge (about £1.40 for four of us) to get onto the pier which wasn't a problem. It was very windy so the pier was almost empty. This was an advantage for us as my sons could race up and down and not cause a problem. There were some tiny little souvenir shops and cafés with a larger tea room at the end. We had a lovely cream tea and cake and warmed up for the return stroll. The pier is a little gem with amazing views. I could have quite happily stayed longer but the wind was a bit wild. There's also a lovely little park just near the entrance to the pier which my sons played in for a while.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pier with a spectacular view.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The position of Bangor Pier in the Menai Straits affords spectacular views of Anglesey and the Welsh mainland. It is not the usual commercialised pier but elegant and peaceful. There a just a few small discreet cafe's and tiny shops and when you leave the pier there is a small children's playground nearby with a novel lighthouse helter-skelter. A lovely day out on a clear day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent scons!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Me and the wife took a stroll along this pier while up in north wales. The scon was too die for! Also took extra 2 back to the hotel with me, that's how nice they were :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and tranquil but friendly”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A lovely visit, the best place for some reflection as you watch the Menai Straights flow by.. Once you have found your inner self, pop over to the little kiosk on the left that sells the best tasting mocha and so reasonably priced. Then once you have had your caffeine fix for the friendly gent who owns the kiosk, make your way to the edge and do a spot of crabbing whilst you while away the hours. My sons love crabbing. And work up an appetite for a delicious ice cream from the afore mentioned kiosk. And time for parents to refuel on caffeine and a homemade rock cake....very yummy and again the prices won't break your budget or bank.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangor Garth also viewed

 

Been to Bangor Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing